We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, fantastic loaction, freindly staff, awesome food and a variety of activites - what more could you ask for?”
Review of Elements Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elements Hotel
Ranked #11 of 49 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2009

After spending vast amounts of time and effort searching for a modern and contemporary hotel in the area, we were presented with an abundance of dated hotels and shabby guesthouses and were beginning to rethink our stay in Cornwall, until we came across Elements.

Having conducted some research into Elements and reading some glowing reviews we were delighted until we came across the last review which prompted some doubts about booking our break here, but as there was no where else in the area that seemed to be of any where near a similar standard to elements, we decided to go for it and make up our own minds.

We couldn’t have been more surprised when me and my wife were greeted by the owner who was very pleasant and helpful, advising myself and my wife about the walking paths in the area and arranging for us to go paddle boarding the next day with a local company, which he sorted everything out for us.

That evening we had pre booked a table in the bistro (as advised to do so on the confirmation), which had a great ambient and relaxed atmosphere. We were both delighted with the variety of the menu and my wife in particular was thrilled with the number of creative vegetarian options available. The roast vegetable and goats cheese tart was delicious and made a welcome change from the usual pasta based options normally offered in restaurants. I was also lucky to enjoy the best piece of monkfish I had ever tasted! The staff were friendly and attentive and despite being very busy, carried a smile on their faces throughout service. Far from the speedy meal that was reported in a previous review, we enjoyed a fantastic relaxing evening overlooking the Cornish coast, and as a result didn’t even have to think twice about whether to book in again for the following evening.

As we had booked at the last minute and the hotel was fully booked, we were unable to get a room with a sea view but were not in the least bit disappointed with the fabulous view of the Cornish countryside. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated with everything feeling new and clean and the bed was by far the comfiest bed we had ever slept on!

While staying at elements we had surf lessons as we had booked the 3 day surf package and were both a bit unsure as we were new to surfing, however after spending a couple of hours with Mike and his team at the surf school, we were hooked. Richard, the owner even leant us his own surf boards for us to practice which meant we could further improve our new found skills – or at least practice getting to our feet!

As regard to the previous review, it just shows that you can’t please everyone! Elements is a fantastic place, in a great location with helpful friendly staff who go out of there way to accommodate you – thoroughly recommended it to all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotelwatch48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Elements Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 344 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2009

During our stay in Bude, we received a strong recommendation to visit Elements Restaurant. The recommendation was based on our preference for good quality, freshly prepared food.

We saved Elements for our last night as the location looked superb (and it was) and the food sounded like a treat (and it probably would have been, if we’d been given an opportunity to digest it).

Our experience:

We wanted a table for 8.30, but couldn’t get one until 9pm. Not a problem as we were day tripping and this saved a rush back.

We arrived at 8.55pm. We were taken straight to our seats and offered pre-dinner drinks. We ordered a glass of wine and a beer.

Immediately after the drinks arrived our food order was taken by a rather hasty waiter (later turned out to be the owner). We didn’t ask for much – a bottle of wine to accompany the meal, some pre-meal nibbles, a starter each and our main course – and while the “waiter” was glancing over his shoulder in a dash to the kitchen, he reluctantly accepted our additional request for a jug of iced water. We should have known then what was to come…

The pre dinner drinks arrived. Two minutes later the nibbles were there. Fantastic!

As soon as our cocktail stick was in the first olive (the moment we received our nibbles of olives and bread), the starter was on the table. Not good.

We finished our starters, the plates were cleared and immediately the main course was upon us. We hadn’t even finished our pre-dinner drinks and still had a bottle of wine to get through.

Not happy, I commented to the waitress that the service was faster than McDonalds. She giggled. I explained that I wasn’t joking and the meal experience wasn’t a good one. I then suggested that with the food was arriving so quickly, it seemed the chef just wanted us out of there. She agreed that he’d had a long day! We were paying good money for a “meal experience”. We weren’t getting one.

As a solution, she offered to take our main course away and keep it warm until we were ready for it. We decided to take it before it was dried out under a hotplate.

I couldn’t enjoy my main course. Don’t get me wrong, the food was lovely but due to the haste of it all – I just couldn’t get it down.

At the end of the meal – the original waiter came to clear our plates. It was at this stage we discovered he was the owner.

We asked if, when he goes out for a meal, he expects to finish his nibbles before his starter arrives. He said he would. We explained that we hadn’t had that benefit. No response.

We explained that we had come out from Bude to eat with them based on recommendations and that we were very disappointed with the (speedy) pace of service. He could only apologise about that. (Why could he only apologise – he’s the owner – he could acknowledge it and take it on board?)

We didn’t want a discount – we just wanted recognition that our point was valid. We didn’t get it.

As we felt so unwelcome, we decided to go outside to call (and wait for) a taxi. We spoke to the owner again on our way out to explain our reasoning for sitting outside. Well, this is when we determined his understanding of hospitality.

He got right on the front foot and told us that he has to turn his tables around (he’s a very busy man you know). He did 110 covers that night. The simple fact is that his chefs were ready for home. They didn’t need our table, There were going to be no more covers and it seems that our arrival at 9pm was a bit of an inconvenience. I’d hate to have been there earlier if there was a rush on and they needed the tables…

A return taxi fare to Bude and almost £80 on a meal which lasted for 50 minutes was an inconvenience to us. Even the taxi driver couldn’t believe he was picking us up so soon.

A long story – although the food was good we experienced the most inhospitable person we have ever met in hospitality.

If you want a bistro fast service meal at a cost - then come here, the food is great, and the indigestion even better. If you want a nice dining experience and a smile in Bude, try The Castle or Life's a Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank laineygogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Overall good, lovely location with great views, slightly inpersonal service.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Stayed for short break. Fresh modern hotel, staff are very welcoming and accommodating. Good location just outside Bude with good views and close to south West coastal path. Superb breakfast and we chose to stay in for the evening restaurant which was excellent. The gym and sauna are great. would recommend this place

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abrahamwinkleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for a long weekend. Nearly everything about this hotel was excellent. Beutifull views, very stylish, clean and with good food. The rooms were well presented and very clean etc.

The only problem was with the size of our bedroom and especially the bathroom. Most of the rooms are the same price and taking a look at some of the others I think it is a case of us being unlucky. I would recommend anyone to avoid room 9. I wouldn't have had a problem with the price for any of the rooms I saw except ours. The bathroom really is unfeasibly small. I'm 5ft 11 and could only just fit in the shower.

In summary I was happy with the hotel, just make sure you get a good sized room!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolihullSwordsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Great accomodation just outside Bude. Clean, comfortable and extremly welcoming and family friendly - plus a wonderful Cornish breakfast and great views from cliff top location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cullencapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed here for the bank holiday. It's a nice place in a good spot; a bit back from the road but with a view from the terrace and dining room over the bay. The bar is modern and spotless, with an equally modern restaurant, well presented with a little surf additions. We were expecting a much more laid back atmosphere, and it's really aimed at the higher end of the market and priced accordingly. Our room was clean but small with a tiny, tiny bathroom. My boyfriend could hardly fit in the shower. The bed was lovely and we did sleep well. Breakfast was lovely. Richard leant us boards which was great, and we had a lovely time at Widemouth surfing and then further South. I think that this hotel is falling between two markets - the discerning diner wanting a modern base, and the surf market. We felt self conscious coming back and having to walk past smart diners in the bar when we'd come straight from the beach. I agree with other reviews in that this is a niche market but it's not relaxed enough to hit the surfing population and certainly not at that price, but not really at the end that it wants to be.
I hated the blue neon lights outside, but liked the tables and terrace. We may go back but we'd have to take something smarter to wear - and it's definitely not a curl up in the bar and have a couple of bottles of wine place, which we like when we get time away!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
1.7 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
1.7 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
214 reviews
2.0 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elements Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elements Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Bude EX23 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range: $96 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elements Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elements is high on the cliffs, set in 3 acres overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We have 11 rooms, a fitness suite including sauna. The cafe bar is now open all day and the Italian restaurant is open every lunch and evening, 7 days per week. We are open to non residents and advise booking as the restaurant is always very busy. There is a beautiful new deck and terrace also overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elements Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elements Hotel Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing