We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect view”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were upgraded to a premier room which had a stunning bay window overlooking Bude bay. The room had been modernised in some areas and was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast/restaurant room also modern and breakfast was nice. Staff were very helpful recommending restaurants - a short drive took us to Elements which set on a cliff top overlooking the sea and sunset was perfect. Bude itself is quiet but for a relaxed weekend away the Atlantic House Hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    16
    12
    5
See reviews for
13
68
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Make sure you have the sea view rooms - which make for a great stay.
Staff are friendly, rooms are good rather than spectacular - but its a hotel you stay in for the sea side atmosphere/location and views.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_SimonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at this marvellous hotel for 10 days. Service is great and this hotel is run by a lovely couple. The place is clean and well kept and is "a home away from home". We had a lovely room with a bay window offering us splendid views of Bude Castle, Bude Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Just chilling and appreciating the view was simply relaxing and very soothing. The hotel also boasts of a very good fine dining restaurant Sea Fever where one can sample very good Cornish fare. The only comment on the negative side is that breakfast could be varied slightly from one day to the next. However we will definitely be back to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: A lovely experience where one can truly relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise_copperstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Great location but not worth the rate we paid - smallest bedroom we have ever stayed in and equally small bathroom. Tea making facilities in the room but no tea or coffee! Had to wait until 8:30am for breakfast which was then only just about adequate for the price. All in all a charmless hotel with no atmosphere and poor facilities

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbec1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bude hotels

cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

All I wanted after a long day travelling was a decent hotel and efficient service. This place is a bit of a dump. It could be improved by hiring a cleaner and some new staff (especially the manageress). A simple request like 'would you mind changing the bedsheets as there appears to be someone's hair in my bed' was met with a simple 'No, not now'. I suggested to her that she would not be getting paid if it wasn't done and she said 'We have already debitted your card'. I stay in a lot of cheaper end hotels and this place is well below the average. This is in fact the first review I have ever left on a hotel and I hope it warns others of this excuse for accomodation. There are plenty of other hotels in Bude so please choose one of these.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James234Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We booked 2 nights at this hotel as it was in a convenient location and the rooms on the website looked lovely. Despite booking a Premier room, we were given a standard room that had enough space for a double bed, desk, chair and just enough room to walk around the bed.
The bathroom was equally tiny and we could not put anything down on the shelf or basin as everything sloped and so things fell off.
The worst point came when we found a toe nail next to the bed.
The bed was comfy enough, there was a lovely view and breakfast was fine, although a shame you only had an hour between 8:30 and 9:30 to eat it.
Given the choice we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We went for a room on the front and got a great view of the sea, beach and town. The room was spacious, well-appointed and very clean. And most importantly, it had a comfortable bed, Breakfasts were nicely cooked to order and the staff attentive and sociable. Nice bar with sitting area. If you don't have a sea view room, you can still take in the view from the front conservatory. Parking outside was a bit tight on a busy evening but no more so than for any town hotel of this type, with other parking options not far. The wi-fi worked well. Recommended. Oh, and Bude's a nice place to visit, with family friendly beaches and other things to see and do. There's no shortage of fresh air!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MynamesPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
3.5 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House Hotel

Property: Atlantic House Hotel
Address: 17-18 Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Atlantic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Bude
Atlantic House Hotel Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing