We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Widemouth Bay Caravan Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Ranked #23 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bude
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to john fowlers for 15 years at widemouth bay its a clean excellent family holiday park with very friendly staff. Lots to see an do around surrounding areas and a lovely beach a short walk away my kids always loved the foxy club when they was young.even now they grown up still love coming there so much we brought a van on the site a year ago. We look forward to spending many more years of holidays at widemouthbay it really is a lovely place with friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you have always enjoyed your stays with us and how helpful and friendly the staff are. We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves - loyal enough to actually buy a van on the park and become one of the "family"

We know just how highly thought of, the park and its staff are, by the number of people who have bought vans in order to regularly holiday there, but it is not often that any of those publish their thoughts and we really appreciate you doing so. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    136
    85
    61
    64
See reviews for
346
66
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed at this park mid-October with my other half and my dog. We stayed in one of the Bronze static caravans and I can honestly say this was the best holiday I've ever had. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had left our docking station in the caravan and the staff were very helpful in getting it back to us. I do think that the curtains could do with being replaced as you could see the development of damp/mould, particularly on the ones in the living room. This didn't put us off though as everything else was perfect with some amazing views. There were great places to walk our dog. We even had an outdoor fenced in seating area which was perfect as my dog loved lazing out there. I honestly didn't want to leave. I suspect we will return sometime in the future however we want to experience other areas of Cornwall and Devon first. Our trip has certainly stuck in our mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arobynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

If you are considering coming back to Devon or Cornwall, don't forget we have 12 other parks in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Over Kellet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

A nicely set out park with good facilities on-site, my visit in early October was disappointing in that although quite a few people were on site no more than a dozen people used the bar at night, leaving the entertainers with a small audience. The on-site entertainment staff did their best with the usual bingo etc but small numbers made it difficult.
The park is situated away from Widemouth a Bay meaning a 20 minute trek to the beach or a car drive into Bude.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such an honest review. Your comments have been passed to all departments and everyone will be especially delighted to read your comments about the park.

With regard to the numbers of people in the clubhouse, this situation can occur during school term time simply because there are so few children on the park. In the school holidays, the clubhouse is quite often deem to be too small.

We really hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Well the holiday got off to a good start when i entered the reception and had a nice welcome from a very bubbly Tracey who i found to be very helpful indeed, then i was told that there would be other guests in the caravan staying with us, bloody great big ( FLIES ) and i noticed others are complaining of the same thing, so could someone please explain why we have unwanted dirty flies?
Other than that i could not complain of the silver caravan we had, it had a great decking area and we had a wonderful view over the countryside hills and the sea + we found it to be very private and the park itself is not too big which makes it more enjoyable for those that prefer it to rowdy parks

I took the Grand kids swimming and was not very happy with the changing room, one bench in a small area for all and one toilet which i found to be very unhygienic next to each other, so we would put our swimming gear on in the caravan and then walk back with our wet trunks on and towel wrapped round us to keep warm, i have to say the lifeguard was doing his best to keep things clean and was very professional with his role of caring for others.

The club was small and outdated and the chairs was a back killer, but the staff was very good indeed with their time and patience with the children and done the best they could.

The pathway down to the beach can be very dangerous indeed for those with walking problems, it was full of mud on a sloping path so beware, the only other way is to drive to the main car park area adjacent to the beach which is a couple of minutes in the car and too far to walk and there is no pedestrian pathway alongside a busy road until your almost there.

I would consider going back there despite my few gripes of things, but please get rid of those flies as they scared the kids

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manofwexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your four stars. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park and would consider coming back.

I was amused by your question, "could someone please explain why we have unwanted dirty flies?" We have it on good authority from no less a company than Rentokil that they are impossible to rid permanently, although when they appear they are dealt with immediately. It is comforting to know that these are "Cluster Flies" and they do not present a health hazard because they do not lay eggs in human food.

However despite the nuisance of the flies, I am delighted to hear that you had a good holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

After a 5 hour trip we were very excited about arriving on our first family holiday. Reception staff were welcoming and gave the basic information needed.
Getting into the caravan it was very spacious we went for a poppy gold which we would recommend only fault which was a BIG FAULT was once of the bathrooms (single toilet and sink) had 10-15 fly's buzzing around the ceiling.
Since this was our first holiday fault on my part didn't realise we needed to bring our own washing up liquid and sponges luckily their was a shop on site... HOWEVER this shop had nearly no basic shopping I understand it was near end of season but we shouldn't just be left with reduced to clear out of date chocolate bars that and cigarettes so if you lived on them then great if not you are pretty stuck.
The club house was pretty good for the kids unfortunately for us we only realised on the last of 4 days that they did a Foxy club for them in the morning as well as afternoon which was a shame. Another annoyance with this was the lack of info on pumpkin carving as the kids were so excited it hadn't been mentioned in the info email that pumpkins weren't provided since the caravan park being VERY secluded getting hold of a pumpkin running up the Halloween was impossible gutted that our kids missed out. Cant fault the entertainment we only stayed up until 9 to get the kids back to bed but the bingo prizes where very good better then expected the family quiz was challenging but still worth a shot.
The Swimming pool the pool was basic but was fine for an afternoon splash around. The lack of changing rooms was a big issue for us though their was 1 very small ( enough for two people at a push) changing room serious lack of cleanliness in their so much so we were reduced to running in the cold back to our caravan.
The Food we did cook our own food for the majority of the holiday but on the last night treated ourselves to the chefs corner very disappointed we ordered 2 children meals and 2 adults 1 adult meal came out completely wrong I don't know how you can muddle up a cheeseburger and quarter of a chicken but apparently you can as it was busy we didn't mention it and my partner ate it I had a chicken burger couldn't fault it until... 3 hours later and I was violently sick.
I know I have pointed out a few negatives although we wouldn't go back again we did have a good first holiday and the kids didn't notice any of these faults they loved it I just found it too expensive for a VERY basic holiday park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samanthasophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Widemouth Bay over the half term and were impressed with the park and the facilities on offer. Having stayed at similar sites in the past I have to say this was the best kids entertainment so far - party games, disco for the early part of every evening. Loads to keep the little ones amused - and they made a special fuss of my daughter who celebrated her birthday during our stay!
Widemouth Bay is an ideal base to explore the north Cornwall area - we took trips out to Boscastle, Tintagel, Clovelly, Crackington Haven and Newquay - all within easy driving distance.
The accommodation was basic but then we chose not to upgrade, however the beds were super comfortable! One suggestion - the gas oven/grill is awful for toasting bread (it takes ages), so surely it would be more energy efficient to provide toasters in all the units? Other than that, we really can't fault our stay. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S0phie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradworthy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

12 of us went to stay in two caravans for a weekend in October. The online booking process was easy and the lady on the phone was very helpful when I rang to ask if the caravans could be next to each other. As this was a weekend during the school term time, we didn't expect it to be busy. There was still entertainment which the kids loved. The caravans were clean and well equipped (though I wouldn't want to be a large person in the toilet!). Swimming pool was lovely and warm although the changing area was small (would hate to think what it was like in the high season) and there were no showers. We didn't travel far to the caravan park so knew the area well and chose to eat away from the site. (Bay View Inn at Widemouth Bay is highly recommended!). Overall, a low cost holiday which was thoroughly enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahhux207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.4 mi away
Beach House B&B
Beach House B&B
#2 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
6.8 mi away
Penstowe Holiday Park
Penstowe Holiday Park
#5 of 7 in Kilkhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
2.9 mi away
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Poughill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#9 of 51 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widemouth Bay Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widemouth Bay Caravan Park

Property: Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Address: Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Widemouth Bay Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and PitchUp so you can book your Widemouth Bay Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park Hotel Bude
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing