We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Ranked #22 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bude
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very good site regarding touring, nice lovely pitch. Small but very interesting public area with amusements at one end,eating room in middle and entertainment area at the end of all one room. Kids can been seen and yet not heard!!!
Pool was the let down. Came down from our pitch and took one look at pool and no way was my family going in that, it looked very dirty. Changing room was a small beach hut sized area. Entertainment was a giggle and the staff tried really hard. Although positive don't think my family will be returning. John fowler sites have been a let down totally.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durhamcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a honest review. Perhaps just staying one night is not sufficient to appreciate the park's full potential.

Come back and see us again - for a little longer next time and then you will see why we get so many good reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 606 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Returned to this site after coming 10 years ago when the kids were younger. Returned with my grown up daughter and boyfriend. Well caravan was great enough room central heating and large cooker. Shower was great as well. Wasnt keen on the plastic mattress but can understand why they have done it. The club house is still as it was 10 years ago.....could do with an update and may be extended. The staff seem stressed and rushed serving the food.The swimming pool hadnt changed either and again i think if u got more than 20people in there it would be overcrowded. Overall its a good base to travel around , went to padstow,newquay,bideford,barnstaple,and clovelly. The pub at the top of the road is great and food lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from May bank holiday at John Fowler site, Widemouth Bay. We took our touring caravan. Slow check in after hours in the car. The site is clean, well cut grass, clean toilet block. The couple who run the touring are very friendly and offered to help my parents with positioning their caravan when they arrived. Impressive. But, the key for the toilet block was very annoying, we were given a 2nd key when we asked but why don't they have a number entry lock like other sites we have visited. The block was always clean but we did make the mistake of visiting another toilet block just to be nosey, it was very old fashioned and had pre-war tiles, glad we weren't near it! We had a electric hook up pitch so had to position our awning on the hard standing, this was sharp gravel which pierced the ground sheet, we noticed other campers were on the grass and not the hardstanding as we had been instructed. We went to the "bistro" for a meal on Sunday night, we had asked our camping neighbours if they recommended it and they didn't but the kids were starving so we thought it couldn't be that bad. There was no-one else eating when we arrived on a busy bank holiday Saturday night which was a bad sign, the food was delivered in horrible plastic bowls with plastic cutlery. What a shame, as all the food was hot and edible, just a bit of salad and some china plates and proper cutlery would have transformed the meal and we would definitely returned. All the bar staff and waitresses were very friendly and helpful. Not a bad site, would probably return, but will make sure we have enough food to last the weekend as we even have china in our touring caravan!!

Room Tip: Bring your own food and rock pegs for the hardstanding!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, and the few suggestions for improvement that you have made, will be taken seriously by our park management.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a Primula Gold caravan which was spotless,the area around was very tidy and the staff were very helpful regarding days out and things to do.The bar and entertainment was quite good also.We have stayed at just about every J.F site and this has got to be the best one of them all-thanks for a nice stay

Room Tip: choose primula gold or better if the weather is dirty they have central heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

I am really pleased to read that you have tried all our parks, and the managers, Phil and Mary, will be delighted to hear that you rate The Widemouth Bay Caravan Park as the best.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have been coming to the Widemouth area for as many years as i can remember. we like the location due to the fact there is easy access via the A39 (atlantic Highway) to spectacular places in both devon and cornwall.
we stayed in the same caravan twice (No 32) and we cannot fault it at all. there was an issue with one of the lights in the caravan, and Pete (Park manager) got someone out and fixed it within 5 minutes!!
all of the staff are amazing, all very warm and very welcoming, and the stripeys are also very friendly too.
this is the only John Fowler park we have ever been to, and it sets a remarkably high standard for others to beat.

also there are disabled statics on site and many very usefull features on site such as:
-laundrette
-shop
-bar/entertainment/restaurant
-indoor swimming pool
-mini golf
-sea views
and many more!!

would deffinitively reccomend!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

What an amazing and comprehensive review. Thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your 5 star praise will mean so much to the managers, Phil and Mary, to Pete, the house keeper and their team at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Thank you for offering to recommend us to your friends and do hurry back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a lovely staff at the widemouth bay caravan park. Caravan was clean and spacious, the staff were very helpful and pleasant, couldn't do enough for you. I would definitely recommend and return. And Bude is lovely too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely 5 star review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the caravan.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff were charming and the caravan, no. 30 was modern and clean. Will certainly stay here again. It was a nice surprise to find central heating and a full size cooker. The caravan was well equipped.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

The managers, Phil and Mary, and all their hard working teams will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

All our caravans have full size cookers and in recent years we have been buying vans with central heating, especially since the so-called "global warming" has turned into longer winters. This means our guests can enjoy an out of season stay without the fear of being cold.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
3.9 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
7.1 mi away
Penstowe Holiday Park
Penstowe Holiday Park
#5 of 7 in Kilkhampton
471 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bude Holiday Resort
Bude Holiday Resort
#10 of 35 in Bude
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
6 mi away
Sandymouth Holiday Resort
3.9 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widemouth Bay Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widemouth Bay Caravan Park

Address: Marine Drive | Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bude
Price Range: $14 - $1,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Widemouth Bay Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, PitchUp, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Widemouth Bay Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park Hotel Bude
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing