We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect, but nothing more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Ranked #23 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bude
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Visited this park for a long weekend and found it to be exactly what we expected. The Caravan was not the newest, but was very clean and tidy, with the cooking utensils presentable, although we could have done with bigger drinking glasses. All the fixtures & fittings were in good working order, with the shower in particular far more effective than we had dared to hope.
The weather was freezing but the caravan was warm and cosy with the heating and fire on, but the beds were as uncomfortable as they always seem to be in this type of accommodation. We didn't visit the bar at all, so can't comment on the food or entertainment, but the shop had very little stock and less than convenient opening hours.

The site did offer an indoor swimming pool, but again we can't comment having not visited, and a very limited outdoor play area that our daughter enjoyed despite the weather.

All in all, you get what you pay for, and we didn't pay very much so have to say this represented terrific value for money as a base from which to explore North Cornwall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewS478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am delighted to hear that you had value for money at your recent stay and that our housekeeping department have maintained their usual high standards.

I was amused to read that you would have preferred bigger drinking glasses - wouldn't we all. I'm not sure what size should be in the caravan but I know that reception would have looked after you if you had enquired.

Perhaps you would consider coming back to see us again when the weather is a little warmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 606 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from a Friday to Monday getaway with the boys. As always with most John fowler parks very clean an tidy. The caravan we stayed in had seen better days this was not helped by the cold weather but for what we paid more than worth every penny, and as ever bar staff an all welcoming polite and helpful good work John fowler widemouth bay till next year love the five lads from Oxford. Boom!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. Everyone at the park will appreciate all you have to say, especially the bar staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here in October and brought my 14 year old sister with us. We all had a great time. The caravan was very clean and although not the most modern it was spacious, everything worked, it was comfortable and very nice. We had a lovely couple of evenings in the entertainment area which catered for all ages and we found the food and drinks very reasonably priced. We found all the staff we came across very helpful and friendly. The park is in a great location for exploring Bude and its wonderful beaches and has all the necessary facilities to ensure a comfortable stay. We hope to visit again soon. Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This caravan site is a wonderful place and very friendly aswell. We stay here twice a year, in the easter hols and the october half term. Cannot fault it. Everytime we go the staff are friendly and always helpful when we need them. The shop always contains any essentials we may need that we have left behind back at home in norfolk. Very good family resort and other caravanists are very friendly aswell. The scenery around the caravan site is amazing! Would love to live down there. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my family have stayed at John fowler widemouth bay ,st Ives ,Brixham and ilfracombe and never once had a bad holiday . Ok the chalets at st Ives might need doing up but you get what you pay for . I think the people leaving bad reviews either work for a rival company or are expecting 5* treatment on a budget family holiday . The sites are great so is the entertainment and the food and drink prices are more than reasonable . I recommend John fowler to anyone and can't wait to book up next year

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Ok so I was very acceptable after reading some naff reviews but i was soon reassured!!! On entering the reception the staff were lovely and funny having a joke with me and my partner. There pointed out our caravan, gave us keys and off we went. We had number 37 and when I walked in it was perfect. Clean, fully functioning and with no issues at all. It was a poppy bronze so the low end of the scale and yes it had seen better days but it did what it was supposed to and gave us a lovely home for a week. The facilities were great and I would like to say well done to the entertainment team for keeping the kids happy they did a fab job. If I had to criticise anything it would be the shop..... Please can you get free range eggs!! That's pretty much it! We will be booking with JF again most definitely. Thankyou for a fab stay to all your staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skeffingtonchebblies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. It is such a shame that an international company, such as Tripadvisor, publish these reviews without first checking their validity. I think the writers and the publishers should realise that this helps no one.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

hya just came back from you and we had a bronze caravan it was ok the fridge was rusty the caravan was full of flys but nothing fly spray wont do except we had to go to morristons every other day as the shop had nothing in it my son had an accident were he slipped on the dance floor and cut his eye open which was on our first night so my partner had to take him to a&e which in all fairness the security guard took him stayed with him and brought him back which we are very grateful for not that the laddie who i think was managing that evening wasn't to happy with him taking them to the hospital then the next day i had to go and fill in an accident form only to be told that they havent got one and the man there who wouldnt give me his name was very aggresive towards me which made me feel very scared and uncomftable all in all most of the staff there were horrible same children wining every night (i think they are regulars) and they way one of there staff spoke to my children was disgusting not 1 of the staff came and asked me how my boy was utterley disgusted by the way they spoke and they way the treated my family there i would never go back there and would never recomend to anybody if i was john fowler i would never recomend this place to people and i will not be leaving it there as my friends left 2 days early as they felt very uncomftable being there and we were ready to pack up and go by the secon night dreadful really spoilt our holiday

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vicky010182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. It was obvious from your comments that the Holiday Park was not to your taste.

However, I am pleased to hear that our staff took good care of you all when your son suffered an unfortunate accident

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.2 mi away
Widemouth Manor
Widemouth Manor
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
318 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bude Holiday Resort
Bude Holiday Resort
#10 of 35 in Bude
767 reviews
1 mi away
Widemouth Fields
Widemouth Fields
#2 of 4 in Widemouth Bay
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
16.8 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
3.7 mi away
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Poughill
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widemouth Bay Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widemouth Bay Caravan Park

Address: Marine Drive | Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bude
Price Range: $16 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Widemouth Bay Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your Widemouth Bay Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park Hotel Bude
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing