We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class service”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Together with 5 members of my family we dined on Thursday evening at this hotel. The meal was exceptional and one of the best meals I have had for many years in either hotels or retaurants. In addition to the quality of the food, the staff were also first class in every way, being friendly and efficient. I was impressed that a table of 16 who had pre ordered their meal were served before us with a variety of dishes, but this had no delaying effect on our service or the high quality of the food. This is a 3 star hotel, but as far as the dining experience is concerned it should be 4 or 5 star.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Martin950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 587 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We chose this hotel to get married in, from the ceremony to the reception it was all organised within 2 weeks! Due to unfortunate family circumstances the wedding was bought forward a year, leaving little time but this was not a problem for the experienced staff. Debbie, the manager, planned the whole wedding with us, giving fantastic ideas and actually made it pleasurable rather than stressful! Family stayed the night before and night of the wedding, including us, making the whole experience more relaxing due to beautiful rooms and gorgeous food. We cannot recommend this establishment enough, whether a holiday, function or just a place to get away, The Falcon Hotel truly is the place to be!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have eaten at the Falcon many times and have never been disappointed.
In the restaurant for special occasions,in the bar any time. A lovely venue for friends wedding.
Good for any age group children and Grandparents.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PurchaseOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Falcon Hotel : Bude

We stayed here in August 2013 as part of a weekend celebrating a nieces wedding nearby. The hotel got good overall TripAdvisor reviews and a couple a dire ones which on re-reading we couldn't match to our experience.

The stay was excellent though the daily juggle parking spaces was a worry but in practice it never caught is out. There are about 15 spaces bit local parking is pretty plentiful.

This hotel does the important things well, too many hotels faff around with cosmetic stuff then charge for stuff like WiFi etc. Not the Falcon free WiFi easily accessible.

The bar is very popular during Fridays and Saturdays and all the food we had was great - breakfast was good (avoid the scrambled eggs though made from a mix) everything else about waiter service breakfast is excellent lunch burgers & chips gourmet and evening meals sensible portions and tasty.

The whole place has a relaxed feel, the staff always friendly and nothing seems too much trouble. We even had to call in late and the night porter was very helpful.

This hotel has a great private garden off the residents lounge on the first floor which is great to spend a relaxed afternoon in. There is even a quick set of steps down to the cars.

There is a nice TV lounge off the bar and reception with a large TV which is great for catching up on sports results !

Bude town is a short walk - cut through to the little walk bridge rather than walking around the roads as it leads straight to the beach car park area and up passageways in to the shops and town itself. Great location and a short walk.

This hotel is a gem - very old and quaint but all the right things work. Rooms are clean and some are very stylish Room 24 a very clever design in particular. If you fancy a change there is also a pub literally next door ...

The big question would we go back if in that part of the world - yes we would. Would we go back for a long weekend again ... Absolutely this is a cracking find of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent the night here after getting Married in Bude. It was a big spacious room, Very very clean with an amazing bathroom! Good value for money, great location and lovely food. It is a very comfortable, spacious Hotel within a great location and easy access to all the local amenities. We had eaten here on a different occasion and had lovely food and great service.

Room Tip: The 4 poster rooms have a big bathroom with Jacuzzi bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very lovely stay. We had requested a garden view rather than a canal view, but had the bonus of both with a beautiful corner room. We could just see the sea if we stood on tip toe as well!
The staff were excellent with just the right balance of friendliness without it turning into intrusion. The full Cornish breakfast was enormous and beautifully cooked with nice crispy bacon. We had no difficulty parking - there were a limited number of spaces outside the hotel and a further car park shared with the pub next door opposite. We ate in the restaurant for dinner one night together with some friends who live locally. We had a birthday as did two other tables and the waiters came with a sparkler in the dessert for the special person and sang Happy Birthday. There was a good selection of food which was also served in the bar which was more lively than the restaurant. We would return at the drop of a hat, it's a shame it is so far from where we live as Bude was a great place for a holiday.

Room Tip: The garden rooms will be slightly quieter, but we were there at the weekend and didn't find the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Decided to have dinner here with my family whilst on holiday in the area. Both of us had the lamb shank and my daughter had fish n chips. Food was excellent and staff were great. Bar was nice and beer tasted great. Thankyou :)))

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,016,356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.6 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
3.2 mi away
Widemouth Manor
Widemouth Manor
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Address: Breakwater Road, Bude EX23 8SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range: $157 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Bude Canal, with lovely walled gardens and just a short walk to the beaches and shops, the Falcon Hotel has a most attractive location. Established in 1798, it still retains that old world charm and atmosphere. The bedrooms are very well appointed, and have flat screen televisions with freeview and Sky. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for the quality of food, both in the Coachman’s Bar and Tennyson’s Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing