We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue & Daves annual visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairway House Guest House
Ranked #8 of 48 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sue & Daves annual visit”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just stayed as guests with Karen & Mike & Harvey for are annual visit to see our friends in Stratton, this is our 9th year of staying at this wonderfull B&B. karen & Mike have been busy in their winter shutdown refurbishing some of the rooms including the room we allways have that we call our room. new shower, new curtains, little shelves either side of the bed to put our books on and our wine glasses which are supplied along with bottled water, tea, coffee, drinking chocolate, bars of Kitkat etc. Breakfast was up to their high standard with locally sourced bacon sausage & eggs, choice of cereals and fruit juices tea or coffee and toast plus fish so something for everyone. We would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    8
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
185
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent another four nights at fairview house and have to say karen and mike havent changed they are still the same excellent couple very warm and inviting nothings too much trouble as people who have stayed there will tell you everything is spot on cannot fault anything so again thanks karen and mike and not forgetting harvey definatly recommend this place (thanks for the cutting)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam18457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Trip Advisor reviews are so helpful! my wife and I needed a room for one night for a business meeting in Bude and decided on The Fairway after reading trip advisor reviews - we were not dissapointed!!
Apart from being one of the cheapest available it was by far one of the best Guest houses we have stayed in.
Welcome excellent, room outstanding down to the finest detail, fresh ground coffee, kitkat, mineral water and every little luxury you could imagine in the room for us. A huge comfortable bed, a lovely ensuite shower room.
We didn't bother to venture out in the evening, just relaxed in comfort.
The breakfast was of top quality restaurant standard with locally sourced and outstanding quality sausages, bacon and free range eggs.
It turned a business trip into a mini holiday for us!
Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenfly, Owner at Fairway House Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for these positive comments and for taking the time to submit your review, we really do appreciate your very kind feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and will pass your comments onto our butcher about the breakfast ... I know she will be thrilled that you enjoyed the sausages. A pleasure to meet you both and sincere thanks once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I were made very welcome by Karen when we stayed night of 19th March 2013. Beautifully appointed guest house with fabulous views over the golf course and a short walk from the sea front. Spacious and comfortable bedroom with en-suite. Superb full English breakfast! Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Front rooms with view over the golf course recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevesou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenfly, Owner at Fairway House Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review, our first in 2013 and we really do appreciate it. It was lovely to meet you both earlier this week and I do hope that the proceedings on Wednesday went well. We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return. Many thanks once again and best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough UK
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I never usually bother with these but in this case felt I should. I stayed here for 5 nights in October (21-25) after turning up late on a Sunday evening (work) and checking out 3 times in total (work has a habit of causing this). The rooms ( i had 2 different ones) were of a very good standard-easily comparable with more "up-market" places. Both Karen and Mike made me feel very much at room and welcome. I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B&B.
More importantly I feel I should comment on an earlier review posted by Hairynoo.
I was the complainer who felt that the discussions he was having with his partner were loud enough to disturb other residents (and i'm someone who slept right through the hurricane of '86 whilst living in the South East). I politely asked him to keep it down - a request he eventually acquiesed too. And for his information- not 13 dBm (the correct term) but rather 60-80dBm (normal conversation @3 feet!) And at 1am in the morning - thats loud!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidds39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenfly, Owner at Fairway House Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review following your stay(s) here last Autumn and apologies for the delay in responding on here. We were so pleased that you chose to return on more than one occasion as your work schedule altered throughout that week. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you will come and stay again if you find yourself working again in the Bude area. Many thanks once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in October for a few days before embarking on another section of the SW coastal footpath. This was our third visit. Once again, we received a very warm welcome from Karen and Mike ( for me it feels like I am visiting old friends rather than staying in a guest house!). Our room was perfect - spotless and well-equipped with views over the golf course. The breakfasts are fantastic and everything is fresh and cooked to order. Karen and Mike make sure you have everything you need and are most approachable, even to the point of washing our muddy walking trousers so they would be clean for our "proper" hiking trip! This is an ideal place to stay in terms of location and hospitality. My aim is to get enough time to actually luxuriate in a whole week there! Do try it for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyann66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenfly, Owner at Fairway House Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
It was lovely to see you again last October, thank you so much for making yet another visit and for taking the trouble to review your stay afterwards. Sincere apologies for the lateness of our reply but we are a little behind with our "thankyou's" on here.
We're so pleased that you enjoy your time with us so much. It's wonderful that you feel so at home here and we always really look forward to seeing you both. Here's to that "full week" when you can manage it but in the meantime we can't wait to see you both again in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Fairway while visitng Cornwall to trace the footsteps of my ancestors. What a wonderful place to stay!!!
Upon our arrival we were greeted by our host, Karen, and were immediately made to feel like members of her family.
The rooms are exceptional! Our room had a view of the golf course across the street, was large, spotless, and very comfortable.
Karen does everything right - She has a book in each room explaining how every thing works, where to go, and where to eat. At breakfast she even provides a menu of choices (but you can customize the choices to your liking).
There are two pubs on the beach within about a 2 minute walk from the B&B.
We can't say enough good things about our stay at the Fairway. Probably one of the best experiences in a B&B we've ever had.
Five days after leaving Bude, we were traveling home while Hurricane Sandy was about to hit the east coast of the US. Upon our arrival we had an e-mail from Karen inquiring about our safety. Later in another e-mail Karen forwarded some pictures of the area that she thought might interest me in my ancestory search. Examples of what a fine person and host she is.
We hope to return to Bude some day and we know where we will stay!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmars43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenfly, Owner at Fairway House Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We loved reading your review following your stay with us last year. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you all in October while re-tracing your ancestoral footsteps. Many many apologies for the delay in replying to you on here ... I'm afraid we are a little behind with our management responses which we are rectifying now. We were thrilled to read that you considered us probably one of the best B&B experiences you had ever had and to know that you had such a pleasant stay whilst in the area.
We were mightily relieved that you returned home safely in light Hurricane Sandy and so pleased that you received the local photo's that we eMailed across to you.
Our very best wishes to all three of you ... thanks once again for visiting us .... we hope that we may meet again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.3 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surf Haven Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Budehaven Guesthouse
1.7 mi away
Bosvean House
Bosvean House
#14 of 48 in Bude
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway House Guest House

Property: Fairway House Guest House
Address: 8 Downs View, Bude EX23 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway House is a 4 Gold Star B&B in Bude on the stunning North Cornwall coast. Established now for over 12 years and providing an exceptional level of hospitality, guests can relax in superbly appointed ensuite accommodation. Rooms are tastefully decorated and individually furnished showing great attention to detail.Great rooms, comfy beds, large fluffy towels, fresh flowers and a delicious breakfast!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairway House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway House Guest House Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing