We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveler rating
440
187
46
19
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
440
187
46
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel golf course secret escapes deal lovely hotel ribs stayed for one night on arrival town centre the ground floor tommy jacks huge bed high standard enjoyable stay superior room great shower few minutes walk an evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 700 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Just returned from a week spent at Hebasca for the Bude jazz festival. Reading the other reviews we were obviously lucky and had a quiet room. No noise issues whatsoever. The room was clean, comfortable bed with duck down light duvet, excellent shower. The several small issues we had during our stay were quickly and efficiently dealt with. Hebasca is well situated being a 10 minute walk from town, a car park - no issues leaving our there nearly all week while we attended festival. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel with hourly buses down into Bude. A fairly large Sainsburys 5 minutes away.
However, I would struggle to call this a 4* hotel. It is more of a B&B now. The grill is closed. I was sent an email back in January to this effect. There are lots of places in Bude to eat though. There is a large bar area and lounge. We did not use either. The hotel would appear to be manned by various reception staff who have to do nearly everything. The hotel lacks any personal touch unfortunately although all the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was adequate but selection was poor. By day 3 the sliced bread for toast was dry. Little in the way of a continental choice. Bananas, oranges and apples were provided but no freshly prepared fruit.
The decorations are very quirky. The addition of a handrail on the half landing on the 2nd floor would be most helpful.
I might stay here again because of its location and parking but it does seem rather overpriced for what is now being offered.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starfish1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Small clean room. Great location. Terrible issue at the neighbouring house. Verbal heated argument upon arrival was in full flow. We stayed for three nights - music played till 4 am. Clearly an ongoing longstanding issue. Not sure it's right to be selling rooms knowing such a fundamental issue exists. On from that no night porter or staff on site during the night to resolve. Staff v helpful particularly Michelle. It's expensive to experience such environmental noise issues

Room Tip: Ask for a room the opposite side to the neighbour issue
Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

A lovely stay at this hotel.Nothing was too much trouble and the receptionists were friendly.We had a bottle of bubbly left in our room on arrival.Beautiful breakfast.Cant fault it.Prime position for town too.Spotlessly clean hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 420maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

Booked a Superior Double and there was absolutely nothing Superior about it. The room was small, minimal hanging space (we have more on our narrowboat), no drawer space and nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom.
Dirty water in the sink on arrival and matted hair on the bathroom floor.
Bed was comfortable but nothing special and the room had a smell of wet plaster.
Vastly overpriced at £140 a night. Had much better experience and larger room with more space, in a B&B down the road at £60 a night cheaper. Sadly that place closed which is why we stayed at Hebasca, never again,

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Slates110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

I found the day time staff at the hotel to be very friendly and did there best to help us out.

The first room i was offered had a mould problem and was quickly switched to a different room - rooms are very small but clean.

There was no restaurant open in the evenings which we didnt know about but the breakfast was good and quickly served.

Biggest problem was the hotel is opposite a house full of drug users who where often playing loud music with speakers out the windows and having fights until the small hours of the morning. In the summer months its pretty difficult with the heat to try and sleep in the small stuffy rooms with the windows closed so listening to this repeatedly was unavoidable.

The hotel also did not have any night staff present to deal with the repeated situation. If you look back through reviews you can see that has been a long standing on going problem and one i wish i'd avoided.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
2  Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews