We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hebasca
Nearby Hotels
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An Mor(Bude)
$118
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Widemouth Manor(Widemouth Bay)(Great Value!)
$154
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveler rating
437
185
39
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
437
185
39
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillsister hotelgolf courselovely hotelribssecret escapes dealdouble showerstayed for one nightstandard roomnight stayon arrivaltown centreplay roomtommy jacksthe ground flooreggs benedictcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 686 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

From start to finish our visit was amazing. The service there was something we had never received before, everything we asked for was bought to our room within minutes, a staff member helped us fix our car, they even allowed us to eat in the restaurant last minute although they were full as it was a Saturday night as we went into town for dinner but had a bad experience there! The cocktail bar was very good and the staff knew every cocktail even if they weren't on the list. We had friendly chats with most of the staff members and they all made us feel so welcome. It wasn't as close to the beach as I thought but it is still only a 5 minute walk there and also into town takes less than 5 minutes. Would definitely recommend as a long weekend away as a couple.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisamarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Luisamarchant

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hebasca. We are delighted that you found the service that we provided so special – we do pride ourselves on going the extra mile for our guests (even fixing cars when we can!). We hope to welcome you back to Hebasca in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is our 2nd stay at the hebesca and it was as good as the first....we stayed with friends in rooms 301 & 302.......both very nice spacious rooms...301 has a nice balcony area with a nice view......the rooms are very clean and tidy with i pod dock and flat screen TV...the staff are superb..very helpful and friendly.......
Food in the restaurant was excellent...there was a jazz singer in the bar, which was quite nice...
Overall a great experience.... Highly recommend.....

Room Tip: 301...302......not tried the playroom!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtommo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear mrtommo101,

Thank you for your recent review of Hebasca. We were delighted to welcome you back on your second visit to us. I will be sure to pass on your comments about the food to our chefs. We are pleased that you enjoyed the entertainment we had on that evening. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed 2 nights (room 201 I think), and were very impressed. While the view is not 'coastal', the hotel is pretty funky and the rooms are nicely appointed. Quality of everything was good, with a nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed.
Staff were excellent and breakfast was prompt and generous. Amazingly for a hotel, they actually have a toaster which toasts!
We didn't eat in the grill but it was busy on Friday night, as was the cocktail bar.
Location is good, with the hotel having ample parking and being only a short walk to the beach and town centre. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redseasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear redseasteve,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the hotel ‘funky’ and our staff ‘excellent’. We definitely do have a good location - being a few minutes walk from both the town centre and beach. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently for the 2nd time with friends! The hotel is still lovely and did not disappoint! The lower bar area is still lacking in pictures and very bare which the couple who joined us also commented on! I had the ribs for starters in the restaurant followed by the steak which was beautiful!! A couple of points which I would like to mention are that on the menu it did not mention that steak comes with onion rings and we ordered two portions as side dishes to then find that the steaks came with them!! The most disappointing part if the meal was he desserts!! Two if us ordered pavlova but when it came we just had two circles of meringue with defrosted frozen fruit on top ( mine tasted of fish and I was unable to eat! ) NO cream!!!! Really not pavlova :(. However that would not stop me giving this place 5 stars and we will definitely be returning very soon!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Yvette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Yvette7,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hebasca. We were delighted to welcome you back! We are pleased that you enjoyed your main meals with us. We apologise that it was unclear on the menu that the steaks come with a few onion rings as a garnish, as this would have saved you from ordering them as a side dish. We also apologise that you did not enjoy the pavlova – I have passed on your feedback to the chefs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Three of us met up here for pre dinner drinks after a long week at work. We had been here before and done cocktails and dinner, but because of the lack of atmosphere we decided not to eat here again. However we decided to give the cocktail bar another try as they had now been open a while so any previous problems should have been sorted.
No they had not. Now no jugs of cocktails were available as they had changed the cocktail list and so we had to buy individual cocktails at £6 each
We ordered and then waited ages for the cocktails to arrive.
The staff are friendly, the decor is cosy and the outside seating area is ok but this is not somewhere that we would want to go on a regular basis

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Tina O,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hebasca.

Firstly I would like to respond to your point on the price of our cocktails. £6 for a freshly prepared cocktail is exceptionally great value, and I think if you read your negative review of one of the other great establishments in Bude you will note that we are cheaper than most for our hugely popular cocktails. You also mention that we do not do jugs of cocktails. Unfortunately we are not a “student” bar where we encourage our patrons to drink pitcher upon pitcher of cocktails and then stumble home. We have spent well over £1m on the refurbishment of our hotel and have created a sophisticated drinking and eating environment where we do not serve cocktails by the jug/pitcher, but instead serve them freshly prepared by the glass at a reasonable price. In the trade it is generally accepted that the average wait time for a freshly prepared cocktail is approx. 4 – 5 minutes, and we always try our best to beat this. When we are busy (as we often are for cocktails) we do at times need the 4 – 5 minutes. I am sorry this is not fast enough for you, but once again I would like to point out that all of our cocktails are freshly prepared and are not simply pre-purchased mixture style products. We are not a “fast food” style bar/restaurant and do not claim nor want to be one. So I suppose if you are looking for cheap pre-prepared drinks, served rapidly in pitchers/jugs then Hebasca really is not the type of place for you, nor do we aim to cater for clientele who may want this type of service as there are many pubs/clubs in Bude that already offer this.

We are of course disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I did however notice that on the same day you have written quite a few negative reviews about some of the great eating and drinking venues in Bude, so perhaps your just one of those people who is unlucky with their choices of venue. I am pleased though that you found our staff friendly and our décor cosy as service is key to the Hebasca experience. I am sorry Hebasca is not for you and I genuinely hope you find what you are looking for in some of the other great venues in Bude which may be able to offer a product more suited to your requirements.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews