We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best cottage we've stayed in”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tumbles Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janda43
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best cottage we've stayed in”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is spotlessly clean and the kitchen is very well equipped. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable. It was lovely to have a heated swimming pool on site - we didn't have any children with us but I would think it would be a real bonus for families with children. The large garden is as well-kept as the house. Hope that we'll be able to go back some day.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant base for a large group to socialise together and relax alone”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantasitic holiday at Tumbles Lodge. The accommodation is so spacious and well laid-out, it was perfect for our party of six adults and five children.

At the centre of the house is the huge open-plan kitchen and dining room, with the indoor pool next door to it through patio doors. This allows adults who don't want to swim to supervise children in the pool while cooking or socialising.

There's a small sitting room alongside this with TV, Xbox and football table and upstairs there's a huge living room with large TV, DVD player and Sky.

Bedrooms are located in three distinct areas, off the kitchen, sitting room and main living room. This means that anyone who wants a lie-in or an early night can remain undisturbed. Everyone gets a dedicated bathroom too.

The garden is huge, with a large patio area complete with a barbecue.

There's a washing machine and tumble dryer, so no need to bring a ton of washing home with you, and a very good sauna.

Tumbles Lodge is a fantastic cottage in a beautiful part of Cornwall with lovely beaches are only a few minutes drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, well equipped to cater for a large group
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare M
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Tumble Lodge in July 2014 and had an excellent time. The kids loved the pool and the house was perfect for the 3 families and had everything we needed. Would defiantly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: The curtains needed blackout linning and new tracks in some bedrooms.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and sauna
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DawnGreen...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect spacious, clean, well equipped cottage for a large family holiday”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I booked through trip advisor, email responses from John the owner were prompt, he was very accommodating and flexible. On arrival we were greeted by Ray the caretaker, he was very welcoming and friendly and gave us a guided tour. Ingredients for a cuppa were provided along with fresh milk in the fridge. The lodge is situated about 10 minutes drive from Bude and 5 minutes from the picturesque old village of Stratton with 2 local pubs and a handy village shop which was well stocked and open every day.
The house was very well equipped with all mod cons. The bedrooms were spread out so we did not feel we were on top of each other, most having an en suite or direct access to a bathroom. The large dining kitchen was great for family meals, the dining table easily seats 12.
The indoor heated swimming pool was a wonderful bonus with many hours of fun spent in there. The sauna was also a very enjoyable feature. A large sun filled garden with patio and furniture along with a BBQ was a great attraction for us in the evening.
I can't really fault Tumbles Lodge, if I was being picky I would say the decor could be updated a little but this isn't important. The house was very clean and welcoming for all ages. Our party consisted of all age ranges between 4 months and late forties and the holiday was very much enjoyed by us all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The indoor pool and the large family kitchen
Liked least: Internet access variable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
777yol
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beyond expectations”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I had arranged a special holiday for my husbands sixtieth and Tumbles fitted the bill completely. It was a home from home and big enough for everyone to loose themselves for quiter moments if needed. We had an age range of 6 months to 65 ! Ray was so helpful with our special requirements, I could not have asked for anything more. The children were in heaven with the pool and so safe at all times.

The dining table was just wonderful because everyone gathered around it and we just talk and had the odd glass of wine !!! The house was very clean and standards high.

Thank you "Tumbles" you ticked all the boxes. And thank you Ray and staff for such high standards.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing