We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right by the beach”
Review of Rosie's Kitchen

Rosie's Kitchen
Ranked #21 of 123 Restaurants in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rosie's Kitchen is a family run bustling beachside café situated a stones throw from Crooklets surfing beach in Bude. Rosie's is positively bursting with atmosphere and we offer a warm welcome to everyone. We are a modern diner with Cornish charm offering delicious beachside food. We have an enclosed sundeck overlooking the amazing waves of the Atlantic Ocean complete with wood burners to keep you toasty on colder days. We know that it's hungry work building sandcastles and scouring rock pools so we have a menu for all the family, and plenty of choices for all diets including gluten free and vegan. Make time for fun in our enclosed outdoor play area where you can keep an eye on your little treasures. Kick back and relax with a delicious fresh coffee, marvellous milkshake or something more refreshing from our bar. At Rosie's, all food is cooked fresh to order using lovely local produce where possible.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Always good food and right by the beach so you can eat and watch the sea. Dogs are welcome and they do a great gluten free fish and chips.

Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you! Bring your dogs and get cozy by the fire... winter is coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 636 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

After visiting numerous times previously and having great food we returned. This time we were served with a dry chicken burger, oily, greasy fish and chilli that was nothing to write home about

Thank Jacob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Owner at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hi There Jacob,
I'm so sorry to hear your visit wasn't up to scratch this time, and do hope you raised it at the time to the manager on duty to sort out for you.
I hope you give us another try as you know thats not the norm at Rosies!
All the best,
The Rosies Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Rosies is great, situated by Crooklets beach with plenty of parking (paid) they have a really good setup, dog and child friendly and very welcoming and friendly. Staff are fun and efficient and food selection wide. We used mainly for breakfast which was yummy and great value. We will definitely be back.

Thank 997kevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

Although Rosie's Cafe is very nice with friendly staff, the gluten free fish and chips is NOT gluten free. I was informed today that the gluten free battered fish is deep fried with the non gluten free fish. This of course is very bad news for people with Coeliac disease. It also raises concerns about cross contamination with their sandwiches etc, do they use the same spread for both Gluten and Non Gluten.
So although it is a very good cafe for most people Coeliac's beware. I had my lunch elsewhere.

Thank Teenyweeny14x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Owner at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi there, I know we've already communicated on this issue privately, but i thought it prudent to reply to this publicly for anyone else who is concerned by your review.

You are correct, that the GF fish is cooked in the same oil as regular fish. It is this very reason that we call them Gluten Free Option, not Gluten Free, and certainly and not Coeliac friendly. This this is also why, when you ordered them you were informed that they are cooked in the same fryer, and aren't suitable for coeliacs or those with severe intolerance. We always make a point of explaining this at the till so there are no nasty surprises and no 'unsuspecting customers'.

We are incredibly aware of allergens, and the dangers associated with contamination and work very hard in our kitchens to be able to offer something for everybody.

The GF fish and chips isn't offered because of ignorance on our part, we do this knowing full well what we are offering. And 99% of the time, those who order the GF fish and chips are happy to have it cooked in the same oil as gluten, because their choice is lifestyle based or their intolerance, in their opinion, doesnt require separate cooking. In our years of doing this, it is very rare that someone has decided against having it because of this reason, but of course there are people that need complete separation and we offer over a dozen menu items for them.

We arent trying to pull the wool over anyones eyes, and arent being reckless with anybodys health. It is not the case that because we use the same fryer for the fish we are clueless, and of course do not use the same implements, spreads, or surfaces to prepare Gluten Free dishes.

I hope that you'll come by again, have a chat with the very knowledgeable staff, and find something to suit your needs from the wide variety of options on our menu.
Thank you,
The Rosies Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

We stopped by with friends who had recommended the venue for a coffee shop. We had hoped to have conversation but the music amplified through speakers neat our table made it impossible. Chairs being dragged over hard floors also added to the general noise levels.
The young lady serving hot drinks used her fingers around the cup rims rather than cup handles to pass us our drinks. 3 of our 5 cups had chips or cracks

Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at Rosie's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear you have so many complaints! After the busy summer we are in the process of replacing all our cups, so i sincerely hope you wont have that problem again. As for the music, each of the 3 speakers has individual controls so in future you are more than welcome to ask the staff to turn them down - we aim for background noise but often a customer might adjust the speakers without us noticing, so please do point it out to us and we'll be happy to assist.

All the best,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosie's Kitchen also viewed

Bude, Bude-Stratton
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 
Bude, Bude-Stratton
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to Rosie's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing