We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a lovely place to stay.”

Review of South View

Lounge area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area
View from Al Fresco area Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Lounge area
View from Al Fresco area
Bedroom with king size bed
Garden and countryside views
Kitchen and dining area
South View
Kitchen
French doors leading to Al Fresco area
Bathroom
Bedroom
Crooklets Beach Bude
Barrel Rock Bude
Bude canal, lock gates and Summerleaze Beach Bude
The Tree Inn Stratton
Maer Lake Bude
View of Stratton church
St Andrews church and square Stratton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah L
Risca, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed June 1, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a lovely place to stay. Self contained apartment attached to owners house, parking. Very peaceful, spotless, everything you need, washing machine, bath and shower, sleeps two. Very pleasant owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2018
Thank you for your kind review, much appreciated. Pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiley_sc...
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful week!”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

South View is a beautifully clean and well presented annex. We were initially a little apprehensive about the accommodation being under the owner's house but we needn't have worried - it was very quiet and private and felt like we were on our own in the middle of the countryside! Gill was charming - really friendly and helpful but she gave us all the privacy we needed too. The accommodation was clean, tidy and plenty big enough for 2. It was lovely and warm and so nice to have a bath, as well as a shower, where we could relax after a busy day!
Location is great - 5 mins drive from Bude (with a Morrisons and Aldi en route!) and within 5 mins walking distance of 2 pubs. The Kings Arms is good for a pint and basic pub grub (quiz on Tues night too) but the Tree Inn serves beautiful food and has a little more in the way of character. Lots to see in the area: we recommend Port Isaac, bike rental from Bude Bikes, Tintagel Castle and the day to trip to Lundy island.
We had an amazing holiday at South View: comfortable, clean, great value, lovely owner, super location. What more can we say? No hesitation in recommending this to others. Thanks, Gill, for making our holiday so memorable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review so pleased you enjoyed our accommodation and had such a good time.
We would love to welcome you back to South View again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinjSu...
Newent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Short break”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The accommodation was excellent as other reviewers have reported. Very clean and tidy as the photographs suggest. Gill welcomed us as soon as we arrived and showed us around. She provided a small welcome pack to allow us to make a cuppa which was much needed. We also gained some useful information from her about the local area. The location is very quiet and surrounded by greenery. Access is the only slight issue being down a very narrow lane which fortunately is relatively short. We would definitely return if needing accommodation in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2018
Thank you so much for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at South View. We are extremely lucky to live in such a beautiful location, which we very much enjoy sharing with our guests. Our road is very quiet and we hardly ever meet anyone coming in the opposite direction so it’s never a problem! Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill D
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Escape to the country”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful apartment with stunning views, everything you need and very clean and comfortable .
Gill made us very welcome , Stratton is a lovely village and Bude beach is wonderful with all the surfers. We have rebooked for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Thank you for your review, much appreciated. Pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and Bude and the surrounding area, there is so much to do and see! Look forward to welcomimg you again next June for your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
3amazing
Woodgreen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It would be really difficult to beat this one !!”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We absolutely loved this place. Didn't want to leave. Amazing location, fabulously furnished and equipped, and squeaky clean. The owners were truly friendly without being imposing and it was more than worth our gruelling seven hour journey.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifnat777
Marlow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing stay with our dog in April!”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was amazing and I would recommend it to anyone! It had great views to wake up to in the morning and the patio area was great even in April weather. We drove into bude most days which took around 10 minutes. The apartment was clean, lovely decorated and the bedroom was cozy and comfy! It was a perfect size for me and my boyfriend and my dog loves his stay! The owners were welcoming and we saw them twice, very friendly and left us to it! They had everything there we needed! I am already looking forward to going back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, it's great to know how much you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing