We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rectory Tea Rooms

Rectory Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a lovely lunch of soup, sandwiches and cake at this beautiful tea room. All the food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Surrounded by all the beautiful crockery which was so well displayed, it made for a very cosy lunch for us all. One of our party is lactose/milk intolerant and he was catered for so well too. Thank you very much. Hope we can visit again before too long.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RosieB693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    55
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fab Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Visited this tearoom while we were in the area. Its very out of the way but worth making the effort. We shared a cream tea and some soup for lunch. The lady very kindly divided all the food into two (ie. two bowls of soup etc.) without us asking, which was a really nice touch as it saved us having to swap plates and bowls half way through. The portion sizes are enormous, so very happy that we decided to share. Food all very fresh and homemade and the scones were delicious. We were also allowed to take our dog inside (although I think that perhaps that was only because it was very quiet).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frij104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch after a fantastic walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We parked at the tearooms , then walked to the coast along the path near by . We followed the coast path to Hawkers Hut which has amazing views , and after a circular walk of nearly two hours we were hungry and thirsty for lunch ! My wife has the soup of the day which was leek and potato , and I had the field mushrooms filled with Cornish cheese and wrapped with bacon . Both meals were delicious , and we ordered a pot of Ceylon loose tea which was very good too .They have a large selection of teas , and a famous cream tea which we may have to try another day . This is a great place to come for a walk and a lunch or afternoon tea , we will be back . They are only open at weekends from November to Easter so check opening times

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stop for tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We visited here on the way home and it was worth the slight detour to the parish of Morwenstowe. The tearoom is located in a 13th century building and had a really good selection of teas and jams. I went for a spiced roibosh tea with ginger and apricot jam (it was delicious).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TomBowerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cream Teas to die for (literally!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This wonderful old farmhouse is home to some of the best scones and cream teas you'll ever eat. Only order one between two if you don't want a total coronary. Tea served in china and prices reasonable. Nice looking home made cakes and other savouries so a good stopping/staring point as part of a walk on the great headlands only 800 yards away...Worth finding.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David356_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rectory Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Widemouth Bay, Bude-Stratton
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to Rectory Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing