We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surfing is something I never thought my son would be able to achieve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandymouth Surf School

Sandymouth Surf School
Ranked #8 of 14 Tours in Bude
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sandymouth Surf School operates safe and fun surfing lessons on one of Cornwall's best surfing beaches. Whatever the weather, group size, age or ability Sandymouth Surf School will provide you with the tuition and equipment that you need to get surfing the waves.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Surfing is something I never thought my son would be able to achieve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I was recommended to Sandymouth Surf School by a friend after a conversation about activities for my disabled son. Surfing was something I never thought he would be able to achieve due to his disabilities, but Robin talked through everything with me and soon put me at ease. He arranged parking for me, and had lifeguards ready and waiting to stretch my son down to the sea as he is unable to walk. Ryan had two-to-one support at all times whilst he enjoyed sitting on the surfboard and riding the waves, just touching the sea is something he is not normally able to do. Both my son and I found it an amazing and emotional experience, and is something that is talked about in our house all the time! It’s extremely hard to get my son to take off his Sandymouth Surf School hoodie as he wants to be like Robin! I am extremely grateful to Sandymouth Surf School for making this possible, and we are both looking forward to doing it again next year.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin R, Owner at Sandymouth Surf School, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for getting in contact. We strive to make Surfing available for everybody what ever their level of needs are. We were so pleased to get him in the water and give him an experience that we hope he will never forget. Thanks again for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than just surfing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

An excellent school. James and Anna really enjoyed their time learning to surf and can't wait to get back next year! Not only did they enjoy it but we were happy in the knowledge that Robin was keeping them safe, allowing us to relax. Robin showed great patience and humour - at times he needed both! The location was second to none - great beach and great waves. We wouldn't consider going to another school, even if we were in a different part of Cornwall. All in all a great time for all the family

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin R, Owner at Sandymouth Surf School, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely kind words about your experience with us at Sandymouth Surf School. I am very touched and motivated by your comments. Look forward to seeing you all in the surf at Sandymouth beach some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Surf School Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Adrian and the 2 boys Will (9) and Matthew (7) had a number of lessons with Robin whilst on holiday in July. Unlike previous lessons they have had elsewhere we found Robin's groups to be small and intimate, focused on the needs of each individual irrespective of age. Robin has a great personality, is kind, attentive and encouraged both the boys and Adrian to achieve their potential..............launching them off waves that dwarfed them all......needless to say they loved every moment of it and commented that Robin was just the 'Coolest Ever Surf Instructor'. The best surf lessons we have encountered, we would definitely recommend the school!!!! If the boys had their way they would be back down there every holidays and can't wait to get back!!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin R, Owner at Sandymouth Surf School, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad that the boys all enjoyed themselves especially on the dawn patrol sessions! Look forward to seeing you all in the water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best surf school ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

I came to Sandymouth surf school in early october with friends and had the best time. I've been to other surf schools before but this one really is unique. The location is unbeatable, we were really lucky with the weather and the instructor - what a guy!! His tuition (and patience) is top class! Can't recommend sandymouth surf school enough!! Emma, exeter

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank emma_2681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin R, Owner at Sandymouth Surf School, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Hi Emma.

Thank-you so much for your lovely comments.

I'm glad that you, Dave and Caroline had a wonderful time. I was especially impressed at how well you all progressed through the session and very pleased when you all got up and riding on the same wave!

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to surf in cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We came to bude for some surf lessons this summer and found 'sandymouth surf school'. The surf instructor robin ross was wicked, had all new equipment, surf boards with 3 fins so it felt better than the normal swell boards we have used in the past, was a great day.

Will 100% return next year,

MJ

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin R, Owner at Sandymouth Surf School, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Hi Marcus.

Thank you for your lovely comments and i am really glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

The equipment that we use is chosen for its performance over its longevity. This helps you to progress quicker and learn more skills during your session.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandymouth Surf School also viewed

 

Been to Sandymouth Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing