We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grosvenor Guest House
Ranked #5 of 49 Bude B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing superb location”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My family and I have just spent five nights at the Grosvenor Guest House in Bude. The hosts Helen and Will were most welcoming, the breakfast was fantastic and the service was second to none, the location has spectacular views and all amenities are within walking distance. We just parked up and relaxed and chilled, absolutely marvellous, we will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandynapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
48
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night while walking part of the coastal path. Very friendly welcome from Will and Helen with tea on arrival. Nice big room at front with great views over Bude and beach. Very comfortable lounge downstairs with bar area. Excellent breakfast. Only a short walk into Bude. Overall very good value for money. Recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, MA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I spent one night in Bude during a recent driving tour of the North Cornwall/Devon coast. I chose this hotel based on good reviews for location and atmosphere from TripAdvisor. I'd say the good reviews were right. Will and Helen, the owners, are welcoming, friendly, and great with suggestions of walks and places to eat. Because the hotel had few rooms booked for that night, we were upgraded to a room with an additional seating area in a bay window overlooking the town, and it really was a spectacular view. I'm sure the standard room we had booked would have been smaller and may not have had a view. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom offered all you need to find in that room. The hotel is a short walk from the main street, and I had expected to walk there to find dinner, but because it was still the off season there were no places open for dinner on that main street. Helen stood at the bay window and gave us directions to the pub that was open for dinner plus some other directions for good places to walk. Megan the dog has passed on and has been replaced by Fonzie the cat, and Fonzie visited us in the lounge/bar area where we sat to access wifi (and have drinks served by Will if you want). Fonzie loves attention but will be removed upon request! Breakfast was ample and delicious, with a spread of cereal, yogurt, and fruit plus a hot entrée cooked to order. We were able to park right in front of the hotel, and parking is also available on the street. I would recommend this guest house to anyone looking for convenient location to town and beach and welcoming atmosphere at a price that won't bust your budget.

Room Tip: The rooms all vary in terms of amenities and view so think about what you want when making the reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

have stayed here 5 times in 3yrs. a fantastic welcome off helen and will.rooms very clean and the brekfast are the best. the location 2mins to the beach and town. will be back next year. have had made some nice freinds

Room Tip: a room with a veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here at the end of October. Will and Helen were extremely welcoming and made our stay very special. The rooms were spacious, comfy and very clean. The breakfasts were delicious and set us up for our days out. The location was fantastic, near to the beach, with great views from the bedroom. We will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our first guest house on our 3 week tour, and although rooms small and a bit dated we felt very welcome and made to feel at home.Breakfast was better than some of the bigger hotels we stayed at spotlessly clean .We choose this guest house because it is just up the hill from the beach and round the corner from shops and restaurants.
Unfortunatly the weather changed and we did not get to the beach.
Our room had no view so if booking try and get a sea view it is worth it.

Room Tip: Back room we had overlooked a courtyard no view at all Try to get a sea view it worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My niece and I stayed for two nights here at the beginning of August on my first ever trip to Cornwall. The breakfast was delicious and substantial, everywhere was spotlessly clean and the owners were friendly and helpful. The location is great, right near both the town and the sea. I would definitely come again, in fact it was the second time for my niece, who had already been in July for a night with her partner. Their lovely dog Megan is an added bonus!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyLoo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.4 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgcumbe
The Edgcumbe
#9 of 49 in Bude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach at Bude
The Beach at Bude
#7 of 49 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Guest House

Property: The Grosvenor Guest House
Address: 10 Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Guest House Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing