We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent b & b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagbury Byre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bagbury Byre
Ranked #21 of 51 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ilford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent b & b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at this very comfortable b & b. Our room was well fitted out with good reading lights for once! We were welcomed by Carol with a delicious cream tea in our guest sitting room. The towels were lovely and fluffy and plenty of them. The bed was very comfortable (pocketed sprung) and large. The breakfast was freshly cooked with eggs from their own chickens. Although the driveway leading down to the b & b is extremely narrow and twisty, over the weeked we didn't meet another vehicle coming the other way - thankfully! This also means that the guest house is in a very quiet position but still within minutes of the town. We cut short our stay by one night due to forecasted heavy snow the following day which may have made our return trip home tricky. Although we were happy to pay the original invoice, Carol insisted on adjusting our invoice to take into account that we were not staying the extra night. Free wi-fi, comfortable bed, good lighting, fridge - who could ask for anthing more?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Highly recommend this lovely little cottage, was a charming host...

Room was nicely and tasteful furnished, with nice little homemade cookies ... Mmmm, they where good.

Place is not in centre of Bude, but in the country side (which we loved)... Farm is near Elements Hotel, which also recommend for a fabulous, reasonably priced meal..

Previously stayed in Elements, which is a fab location but can be a bit noisy as a busy restaurant due to it's exceptional food.... But in future it will be staying in this B&B and having best of both worlds..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingInMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I only stayed one night but wish I could have stayed longer! Carol made me very welcome after a long day with cream tea & the log burner fired up. It was a proper home from home experience, I couldn't have asked for anything more. The bed was so comfy, shower was amazing & the breakfast carol cooked was delightful & set me up for the day ahead. Thank you & i look forward to my next visit to Bude.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katyg272016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely family run bed and breakfast, lovely welcome, clean well decorated spacious rooms with some wonderful finishing touches you wouldn't get in your average bed and breakfast.
Fridge in room, slice of cake on arrival, lots of towels varying in size and wifi included for free!

Room Tip: Garden suite was spacious and if you are travelling as a couple or with young children would be idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a four night stay here at Bagbury Byre, and had a lovely time made to feel very welcome, with a peacefull location but still near enough to Bude. Ideal location for touring Cornwall and Devon, would definitely recomend this B & B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Bagbury Byre for four nights in The Garden Room. We booked our stay based on previous five star reviews and were in no way disappointed! When we arrived Carol made us feel really at home and gave us a delicious cream tea in the lovely large guest lounge/breakfast room. The home-made cakes left in our room were also delicious! The room was beautifully decorated and it was great to have the extra little room for putting our suitcases in (this room has bunk-beds so it's ideal if you have children). The bed was really comfortable with nice pillows and bedding. The bathroom was lovely with nice, big soft white towels. The breakfasts were great with lots of choice and freshly cooked local food. They filled us up for hours! The location of the B and B made a great base for exploring Cornwall/North Devon. We'd recommend visiting Clovelly and Boscastle in particular. Also, 'Margaret's Rustic Tea Room' is a must! It's next to Northcott Mouth Beach and is a really magical little place! The walk down by the canal from the B and B to Bude is very pleasant and took us about 15 minutes. A big thank you again to Carol for such a lovely stay! x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed two nights. So lovely and quiet. Wonderful location!! Will definitely stay again and will be recommending Bagbury Byre. Carol was a fantastic host. Breakfast was excellent. Everything about our stay was GREAT!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleydewavrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
1.2 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Budehaven Guesthouse
1.0 mi away
The Edgcumbe
The Edgcumbe
#6 of 51 in Bude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#9 of 51 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagbury Byre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagbury Byre

Property: Bagbury Byre
Address: Bagbury, Bude EX23 0LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagbury Byre 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down a quiet country lane overlooking the river Neet and the Bude canal this delightful barn conversion offers stylish and comfortable accommodation. The guests rooms are on the ground floor with the dining room and lounge on the first floor to take full advantage of the views across rolling fields and the river valley. Guests have their own private garden with comfortable seating and the use of gas barbeque. There is secure storage for bikes and surfboards also a drying room is available for coats and walking boots. Bagbury is only ten minutes walk from the centre of Bude with its excellent selection of restaurants and pubs. We are adjacent to the cycleway and have our own private access onto the route which takes you into the centre of Bude. Breakfast is served in the dining room between 8 and 9.30am. The comfortable lounge has a large flat screen digital television with a DVD player and there is a selection of books games and DVDs for guests to borrow. Upon arrival you will be welcomed with a Cornish cream tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bagbury Byre Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing