We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagbury Byre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bagbury Byre
Ranked #21 of 51 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Bagbury Byre and whilst other reviews have said it all, we would like to say a big thank you to Carol for making our stay so enjoyable. Superb accommodation and food, as well as helpful information on walks, places to go etc. Canal side walk into Bude only 10-15 minutes. This B&B is a real find and highly recommended if you intend visiting Bude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy5621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in the Garden Suite with our 2 year old daugther. The room is perfect for a family. Seperate room for the little one (travel cot provided, even those she was quite keen on the bunk beds!) Bathroom very clean and modern, lovely shower and bath. Beds very comfortable, decor lovely, plenty of space for the 3 of us. Nice little touches like the home made cakes and cream tea on arrival, and the little cup left in the room for the little one to use. Really cannot fault this place. Carol is a lovely host and her breakfasts are fantastic, my hubby had a cooked breakfast every morning. High chair (and baby wipes, little cutlery set) provided.

The B&B is set in lovely surrondings, my daughter loved seeing the goats and sheep in the mornings. Very close the cycle path which run straight into Bude town center (15 min walk)

This B&B is perfect for both familes and couples

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were blown away by the tasteful decor along with friendly service and a family atmosphere! The home made food was also a pleasure! Would recomend anyone staying here. We will definately be returning.

Very good for our 8 month old son too with travel cot provided!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Osborne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

A fantastic place to stay when exploring Cornwall. The family room was perfect; clean, well designed and full of thoughtful touches. The owner was very helpful, friendly and had a great way with the kids. However, it was the breakfasts that stole the show - great quality choice and nothing was too much trouble. We could not find a single fault with this B&B, it was a real pleasure and comes (very) highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kendo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wow what a b&b this is, we called it a 5 star hotel. Located in a lovely peaceful setting. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner who showed us to our room, the pictures on the internet didn't do it justice, the room was lovely, couldn't have been more cleaner, even had home made cakes in there for us!
The owner then invited us to the lounge where our homemade cream tea was waiting for us, well it was amazing, we were made to feel very at home!
They recommended a restaurant to us so we booked immediately and again the food was to out of this world. That night we both slept well and woke to have our breakfast, my husband had full English and i had salmon, scrabbled egg on a muffin, again excellent food especially the lovely creamy scrabbled egg!
We would 110% recommend this b&b to anyone, our only regret was we didn't stay longer, but will defiantly be returning! thank you so much for your excellent hospitality and great cooking!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annemarieandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here as the reviews were excellent, and it was. Even being picky I cannot fault this B&B. We were welcomed with cream tea and our room was 5* and spotless. Quiet peaceful location and had a great nights sleep. Breakfast...... The best full English ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wow, what a find! Extremely comfortable, tastefully furnished, idyllic location, immaculately clean, huge, soft, fluffy, bath towels, gorgeous breakfast smoked bacon-lovely and crisp, eggs from own chickens, plenty of extras like fresh fruit, croissants, home made preserves etc. Extremely welcoming, on arrival complimentary cream tea and Carol went out of her way to make us feel at home and advised us in finding a decent restaurant for our evening meal - we chose 'The Falcon Hotel' from three suggestions. I would recommend this place for romantic couples and families. Great for children who can enjoy the freedom of exploring the farm grounds with plenty of space to create imaginary, play areas. Delicious home made cakes in room - step above the biscuits that most provide.

Room Tip: Both rooms beautifully furnished - hard to choose a preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
1.2 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Budehaven Guesthouse
1.0 mi away
The Edgcumbe
The Edgcumbe
#6 of 51 in Bude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#9 of 51 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagbury Byre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagbury Byre

Property: Bagbury Byre
Address: Bagbury, Bude EX23 0LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagbury Byre 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down a quiet country lane overlooking the river Neet and the Bude canal this delightful barn conversion offers stylish and comfortable accommodation. The guests rooms are on the ground floor with the dining room and lounge on the first floor to take full advantage of the views across rolling fields and the river valley. Guests have their own private garden with comfortable seating and the use of gas barbeque. There is secure storage for bikes and surfboards also a drying room is available for coats and walking boots. Bagbury is only ten minutes walk from the centre of Bude with its excellent selection of restaurants and pubs. We are adjacent to the cycleway and have our own private access onto the route which takes you into the centre of Bude. Breakfast is served in the dining room between 8 and 9.30am. The comfortable lounge has a large flat screen digital television with a DVD player and there is a selection of books games and DVDs for guests to borrow. Upon arrival you will be welcomed with a Cornish cream tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bagbury Byre Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing