We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect pet-friendly holiday home”

Review of Faraway

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The wonderful view!
Summerleaze Beach and sea pool
The Wharf
Summerleaze Downs looking towards the breakwater
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
noni57201...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect pet-friendly holiday home”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our second visit to the house having had such a great experience when we stayed last year. It provided a great home for our two energetic dogs whilst also being very child friendly for the toddler in our party. On both occasions the owner has provided everything that we required for a comfortable stay and we felt very at home.
It was a great base for dog walking without the need to take the car out every time and is within easy walking distance of the beaches for sand castle days. We hope to be returning again in the future for another stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBear92...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous home, wonderful owners”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a truly marvelous home, beautifully appointed and the friendly owners have made sure that you want for nothing during your stay.
As previous owners of a holiday home ourselves we understand the effort that goes into presenting a property of this standard and the owners do a fabulous job.
The home itself is very spacious with beautiful outside areas including an elevated decked seating area and barbecue area.
The setting for the home is lovely and an easy walk into Bude or the beach and with a Morrisons supermarket and other stores no more than a 2 minute drive away.
It is also handily placed for drives out to Newquay, Port Isaac, Padstow, Tintagel, Boscastle and others.
This was a first holiday with our 8 month old first grandson and everyone had a fabulous time in a tremendous setting.
Thankyou very much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased your enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleSta...
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantasic Dog Friendly Home”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

From the minute we opened the garden gate we knew it would be a lovely holiday home. The garden is completely safe for dogs which, to us, is a priority, but also very good for us human types! The house is an amazing holiday home. So light and spacious. We had great fun on the Table Football. Cheryl the owner was delightful and had a few lovely treats for us but I wont ruin the surprise! I would happily return to Faraway and recommend it to my family and friends.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plrdgoodw...
2 reviews
“All round Fabulous”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a wonderful holiday we had, house spotless and so lovely, very spacious , wonderful countryside views from 3 of the bedrooms, lovely open plan downstairs, garden Lovely with plenty seating/ sun bathing area with handy outside shower.
Ideal location for a lovely 15 walk to bude via canal. Plenty of shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants . Summer leaze beach is fabulous with lovely cafe/bistro( life's a beach- sandwiches are lovely), pretty beach huts and a great sea pool with is safe for children to swim in. Dogs are also allowed on beach( on leads) which was a big plus for us. A very clean beach.
Would recommend to others
Very friendly owners and a welcome pack of scones,jam,cream, flowers, coffee , washing up , hand soaps etc was such a lovely touch.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time at 'Faraway'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone170...
1 review
“Beyond expectations, great house and location”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Although we had seen the photos arriving at the house it was far more than we expected, clean,modern, spacious, homely,we couldn't have asked for anything more (although our husbands thought a hot tub would be perfect to finish it off ) Great location for taking a short walk into Bude. The travel company and owner were very friendly and helpful, even one hour after check out they called to inform us the cleaners had found our camera, luckily other family members who had stayed local were able to collect it for us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Thank you for your review of Faraway - we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownhill...
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing house within walking distance to Bude”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A really wonderful house equipped with everything you could need and more. Comfy beds, plenty of comfortable garden furniture and only a short walk to Bude. Loads of space for 2 adults and 5 teenagers (who made full use of the games cupboard!) A warm welcome from the owner and the thoughtful welcome gifts made it the perfect place to stay. Would thoroughly recommend.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juneybug1...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stunning property. Stunning location.”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Absolutely stunning property in a beautiful location. Large, spacious and with all amenities. Could possibly do with a few more large dinner plates to avoid having the dishwasher on twice a day........a necessity when there are 7 people in the house (4 adults, 3 children). Lovely garden with plenty of space for the kids and dog to run about, as well as for the adults to relax. The bedrooms were spacious and the beds were really comfortable, with top quality furnishings throughout. Cannot fault the interior at all and the local artwork in all areas of the house was just lovely. It was a nice touch to have a couple of bottles of wine, a cream tea, milk, tea and coffee all there for our arrival........as well as the provision of dishwasher tablets and soap in all shower rooms. A short walk into the town was an added bonus, with plenty on offer from shops, bars, restaurants etc. A visit to The Brendon Arms is a must. As for the beach, it was so nice. Kids loved the sea pool and now have an added interest in body boarding. Loads of places to visit that are just a short drive away, but, quite honestly, 2weeks just wasn't long enough.
All in all, can't wait to go back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing