We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bude Jazz Festival 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Budehaven Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 49 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very friendly owners and extremely clean room. As we were staying for the Bude Jazz festival they offered to provide an earlier start for the meal we had in the in-hotel evening restaurant which was most accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 202 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

My Finance and I stayed in this hotel for August bank holiday weekend and found it to be a delight. The rooms were clean and the hotel was in a great location for the beach and the shops. Distance to both walking 5 - 10 minutes depending on speed.
The staff were lovely and polite and were very helpful. It was nice to see there was complimentary wifi and hot drinks in the rooms.
Parking was not an issue at all outside the B&B. All in all a great stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minipetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights at the Bude Haven as part of a five night break to North Cornwall. Bude Haven is in a good location as you are close to all the amenities in Bude including the beach, plus there is plenty of parking either in their own very small car park or on the street.

The entrance to Bude Haven does not inspire confidence. My boyfriend and I had difficulties opening the outer door which was very stiff and did not open fully. This meant we struggled to carry our bags into the hallway. The hallway was cluttered and reception was dark because of it being under the stairs.

We were both rather disappointed with our room. We stayed in Room 5 which is at the side of the house and does not have much of a view. The room is rather small as far as double rooms go. The decor in this room is somewhat dated and clearly has not yet been refurbished. The room was however clean. This room does have an ensuite bathroom containing a bath and a shower. The shower was a let down as it dribbled water and was clearly not up to the job. We resorted to having baths due to the poor quality of the shower.

The breakfast was fine. This was cooked to order and there was plenty of toast, tea and coffee. The breakfast room is painted a very cold blue and needs to be redecorated. The dining room and bar area also needs to be redecorated.

John and Sue, the owners of the Bude Haven, offer guests the use of their hot tub situated in the garden. We did not avail ourselves of this as we were not tempted by this due to the bad weather we enjoyed during our stay. They were willing to lend guests towels if they wanted to go on the beach. Again, we did not avail ourselves of this service as it was too cold and wet to sit on the beach.

We were impressed with the confirmation email we received from John and Sue, as we have both booked hotels and not received any email confirmation of our booking. They also sent us a further email a day or two before our stay.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front of Bude Haven as these rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We got the room on KGB Deals and to be frank £59 for a 2 night stay was a great price - I have read other review and (as with the 1 star reviewer) wonder how people can rate it as 5 stars and the AA as 4 (albeit as Guest Accommodation).

The entrance and reception (or space under the stairs) is cluttered and messy - the picture of Basil Fawlty and Manuel does not helt to alleviate matters.

We ahd booked two rooms BUT there was a mix up and there was only onle available - for four of us! Granted John got us a (better!) alternatitve BUt we had wanted to stay under the same roof... but Bude was full and could not accommodate this.

As it was the bedroom wes modern, chic and comfortable BUT I assume that downstairs is a work in progress... or at the very least it should be!

We would return... if KGB offered it again... but don't think it is worth the full asking price as a B&B...

John was great - and went the extra mile to sort out their error.

Room Tip: No rooms have views as the hotel is quite a long way from the front - They say a five minute walk bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week and Bude Haven is a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay with Sue and John being very friendly hosts.
The reception, bar and dining room is very homely and friendly and our room (no 2) was large, bright and clean with a huge comfotable bed, kettle, tea and coffee, 2 easy chairs and a coffee table. Also there was plenty of hanging and shelf space.
Breakfasts are delicious and set you up for the day. If you try the American pancakes, which you need to order the night before, you will be in heaven.
If you've been out and about in the day you will find a lovely evening meal there....(Steak and Ale Pudding which took me back to my childhood, except the Ale part.) After that you can wobble to the bar and flop on the big squishy settees.
Bude Haven's quiet position is ideal for the 10 minute walk into Bude or visiting the surrounding areas. Parking isn't a problem as even if the small car park is full there is plenty of parking outside the hotel.
A hotel we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RioSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

There is a saying "Don't judge a book by it's cover!" Well, nothing could be a more apt description of this hotel. Don't be put off by the approach to the front door and the explosion in the hall that is also the reception. The owners, John and Susan, have made their home a very welcome place for all their guests supplying adequate facilities in the bedrooms with very comfortable beds and a good menu in the bar/dining room. We stayed in Room 1 for 4 nights. The hotel is situated away from, but within reach of, the centre of Bude. There is plenty to do in the area although we rather ignored Bude's attractions!

Room Tip: Room 1 is fine with a limited sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed at the Bude Haven with my dad recently after purchasing a deal on kgb or similar website. Upon arrival I thought the b&b was really well located with plenty of parking on road & a few spaces next to building. The entrace is a little cluttered & doesnt give a great first impression but the owners have created a nice homely feel & the rabbit in a cage outside would be nice for children. The owners John & Sue make you feel really at home and welcomed & the building itslef is very nice, although the rooms seem to have been recently refurbished & the beds were very comfortable, the rest of the b&b is in need of a little love to update & refresh. We were given a lovely room with a view to the sea, despite buying a deal which some hotels put you in the worst rooms, very comfortable, the only thing I would say is the door to the bathroom was sliding with a gap which didnt give you a lot of privacy. Although I think Bude itself is a little tired, it has lovely beaches & its a fantastic location to explore the surrounding area, I would recommend visiting Padstow & Boscastle. The breakfast was lovely & made super quick, we enjoyed the fresh fruit salad. We really enjoyed our stay & would like to go back, I think its good value for money if you are able to get a deal but I dont know how competitive it is as I dont stay in b&b's very often.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.3 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#2 of 9 in Bude
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
0.7 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
578 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#10 of 49 in Bude
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Budehaven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Budehaven Guesthouse

Address: 7 Flexbury Avenue, Bude EX23 8NS, England (Formerly Bude Haven)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range: $101 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Budehaven Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brian & Hilary welcome you to enjoy the homely comforts of our highly rated guest accommodation. All our rooms are en suite with either bath/showers or just showers and 19-32inch Smart Freeview flat screen TV's. The Bude Haven is only 5 minutes walk from the sandy beaches of Bude, and is near to the Bude Golf Course. The town centre is within easy reach. There are many attractions and activities in the surrounding area. We are located in a quiet location. Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Budehaven Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bude Haven Hotel Bude
The Budehaven Guesthouse Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing