We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good final feast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Urchins

Urchins
Ranked #20 of 107 Restaurants in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restautant is a Bistro, so different types of food there. Very welcoming place, staff grand, Food wonderful
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good final feast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stopped in on the morning of my friends wedding and had a good old fry up everything was nice, clean and fresh the staff were all extremely friendly and had good banter normally I don't bother leaving reviews but they gave the groom a nice bottle of peroni for some Dutch courage and good luck! Like I say it was a good final feast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    139
    44
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“quaint little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were here in September, had a nice light lunch here, calm ambience, good service and food was well presented. We had a couple of hot drinks, pasty with chips and a piece of cake. All was tasty and service was with a smile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HKMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“like the curate's egg - good in parts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a table by the window and more or less in the corner, but the sound level made it difficult for us to hear each other. Whist we waited for our food, the smell of rancid fat was off-putting, but when the food arrived, we thought Wow! It was beautifully presented - fish in a lovely golden batter on a slate with chips in a basket and peas in a bucket. However, the batter wasn't crisp all the way through - I had to scrape raw batter off the last part of my fish - and hubby said that every time he cut into his fish, it oozed fat onto the slate. However, the chips were delicious, certainly the best I'd had for a long time. However, this is one place we won't be revisiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

went to bude for a daytrip out. after floating up the hill browsing the shops we were ready to eat. just around the corner is the usual fair pasty shop fish and chip shops which offered sitting areas as well . however the urchins offered nothing out of the ordinary but somehow is a little bit different .the meal we had was gammon egg and chips for the fella mum asked for chicken nuggets and chips kiddis meal we had a cream tea for dad and a beefburger and chips. nothing different there you say. Mums chicken nuggets were actual chicken peices with a good helping of chips not frozen fries and a fair sized salad. this was a worry to me because the portion was more than i was able to handle and id ordered an adult portion. the burger was absolutly fantastic and i felt awful not being able to do the food justice by finishing the meal.. the ambience the presentation and the taste was very unique and all combined to a wonderful day out and cost no more than a takeaway in a plastic box or a paper bag..they made a rather tasty cuppa tea :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great local cafe/bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a great local place to eat, the staff are very helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble, if you want something that is not on the menu they will always, if they can accomodate you. Sometimes you do have to wait but thats because it is a popular place and the food is cooked fresh, i always eat here when i am in bude, never had a problem or a bad meal , Its very clean, good atmosphere the tea and coffee are fabulous, you can't ask for more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ginge56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urchins also viewed

 

Been to Urchins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing