We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Review of Kings Arms

Kings Arms
Ranked #31 of 108 Restaurants in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: 17Th century Cornish former coaching inn serving many homemade traditional pub classic dishes. We specialise in local real ales and are in the Good Beer guide and cask marque accredited. We guarantee you a great pint!
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

One of the best sunday lunches ive ever eaten outside of the house, its nothing posh its just a good home cooked sunday lunch like your mother would make tastes homemade and its huge and great value for money, my families favourite sunday lunch spot we always make sure to book in when we are in Bude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WooWoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve p, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice report about our Sunday lunches. My wife is the one who deserves the credit for this as she spend hours preparing vegetables and all I do I put the potatoes in the oven for roasting!
Hope to see you again soon.
Steve Peake
Landlord
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    47
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday lunch”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lovely proper pub and a great Sunday lunch. Particularly like the choice of portion sizes. Smaller size (though still plenty) and large. Have been 3 times and will come again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve p, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunches and general atmosphere in the King's. Thanks for taking time to write a report and hope to see you again soon.

Steve Peake
Landford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wednesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Welcome Good Food and Great Hosts”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

we have stayed at the Kings Arms on two or three occasions and always had wonderful holidays.
Steve and Jane always go the extra mile to make it one of the most welcoming pubs in Cornwall
The food is always excellent and no-one goes away feeling hungry.The beer is absolutely top notch.This pub deserves to win the Cornish Pub of The Year.Stayed 2009,2010,2011

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g_clarke516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve p, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for spending the time to write such a nice review of your visits to the 'Kings'.I hope you are all well and hope to see you again soon.
Steve Peake
Landlord
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visted a friend he took us to this pub his local (Wednesdays) we had steak cooked to perfection really enjoyed it , thankyou makes a change to find something cook so well my friend chose well .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T4970ULMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve p, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Pleased you enjoyed your visit to our pub and thank you for taking the time to write a report. Hope you will pay us another visit when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Have the steak and ale pie!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We ate here 3 times during our recent trip to Stratton. The staff are really friendly, the food is fab, just make sure you are hungry!

We had a nice welcome, a really friendly feel, we even stayed for the pub quiz (we came last and won some maltesers!) we had a really good night.

Give it a go if you are in the location, lots of food and ale to choose from and something for everyone - a lovely find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve p, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed your visits to the Kings and had the nerve to enter my quiz as there were only two of you in your team - you have joined the 'elite team' of malteser winners!
The steak kidney and ale pie is really good as you say - made by the wife.
Thanks for taking time to write your review

Steve Peake
Landlord
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Arms also viewed

 
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing