We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bears and Boxes
Nearby Hotels
An Mor(Bude)
$129
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bude(Bude)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hebasca(Bude)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
9
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 9 of 9 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I genuinely struggle to find the words to express how wonderful an experience staying here was. Upon arrival we were greeted like old friends and offered tea and home made cake. Our dog had his own bed with treats waiting for him. Set in the middle of the country along the north Cornish coast the views from here are breathtaking.

Breakfast each morning was sumptuous, cooked breakfast (the selection is astounding) for hubby and I, and sausage made for the dog! By the third morning (we only stayed three nights, mores the pitty) our dog was waiting in the kitchen for his morning feast!

When we got back after walking in the afternoon more tea and cake was provided and the building itself is lovely. I don't know what to say except this has to be the best place to stay in the area. The owners recommended places to eat and each time they were spot on. I don't think I've eaten so well in ages!

It is a great spot to explore the local countryside/sights. I really can't recommend Bears and Boxes enough.

Room Tip: Gorgeous room, beamed ceilings and fantastic views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stay here at least once a year, and it gets better every time.
If you are a walker doing the coastal path, Bears & Boxes is ideally positioned. If you are a couple wanting a quiet get away, then this is the place to be.
Fresh cake and tea (or coffee) greets you on arrival, and then just enjoy the peace. All the rooms are comfortable furnished and thanks to digital boxes there is good reception on the tv if you can stay awake long enough to watch it. All the rooms have powerful showers with ample hot water, and the shower gel etc is supplied by the local herb centre at St Kitts.
There is a large tv in the lounge, where a log fire waits for you on the colder summer evenings. Forgetting a book isn't a problem as there is an ample supply of books in each room and downstairs in the reading area, plus a vast selection of reference books and maps.
In the morning fresh milk is supplied with the refreshments tray in your room (no having to struggle with those nasty little plastic pots when you are half a sleep). Then it's down to breakfast, where the aroma of the fresh bread greets. If it's a cooked breakfast you want, then you name it and it's normally available, and if it isn't and you are staying a second night, then it often is the next morning.
Fran will cook evening meals if they are prebooked. But be warned, if you've had Fran's breakfast and then are having an evening meal, don't have a large lunch - you'll need the space for the evening meal.

Not only are the little things you may have forgotten available, like cotton buds, and shoe cleaning. But there is normally a selection of body boards, buckets and spades available too.

Fran and Robert are the perfect host and hostess, and Bears & Boxes is the perfect place to visit for peace and quiet and to return to again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaydeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

What a lovely overnight stay at Bears and Boxes.
Superb friendly welcome; nice, clean accommodation and totally pet-friendly.
My labrador had a bed made ready for him in our room with welcome Bonio biscuits and a towel for muddy paws. Then for breakfast he had sausages cooked specially for him - labrador heaven!!
The breakfast for humans was lovely and very filling too and the view from our window was breathtaking.
I would definitely recomment this delightful B&B particularly to travellers with canine companions.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebandMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

! am pleased, and surprised, to be the first person to review Bears and Boxes. We stayed there for one night when we were walking the South West Cost Path and it was a complete delight.

The cottage is run by Fran and her husband Robert and is situated in quiet countryside not far from Crackington Haven and, as we did not have a car, Robert kindly picked us up from Crackington at the end of our walk (and dropped us back there the following morning). The owners are so friendly that we soon discovered that you do not so much stay at the cottage as move in! Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. The accommodation is very comfortable, informal and cosy, but the best feature is Fran's cooking.

Fran is an expert cook and she produced a dinner that was simply delicious, and did so with the minimum of fuss . Everything, including the fish, was locally sourced and cooked to perfection. Breakfast was also excellent.

This is a high quality B&B but their prices are very modest. The charge for the superb three course dinner, for example, was just £15 a head. I feel they could charge more, but as they are off the beaten track perhaps they feel that they have to compete with more accessible places.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnkayKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews