We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Shore Bude Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An Mor(Bude)
$127
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bude(Bude)(Great Value!)
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hebasca(Bude)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
35
10
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshosteltvfacilitiespubsbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were camping between Boscastle / Bude for a week or so, and on our penultimate day the wind and rain picked up to the point that tents were flying around everywhere. It was pretty horrible.
We decided to try and find somewhere cheap in Bude so we could get another day's surf and Bude Backpackers came to the rescue.

It was such a pleasant surprise to find somewhere so lovely for such a good price.
The facilities were good, kitchen was lovely, everything was clean and the decor is really really pleasant. The staff made it a really welcoming place, and we ended up talking to the owner about surfing until 1 in the morning.

I can't recommend this place highly enough, and will hopefully return soon :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonoShavelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lovely hostel comfy and very welcoming staff. Also have twin and double rooms as well as dorm rooms

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week's holiday surfing and staying at North Shore. It is in a beautiful location (we had a room with a sea view) and is perfect for walking into town. The facilities are excellent and the owners are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. There is a warm, homely atmosphere and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 8 (double ensuite) has a sea view! I can't speak for any of the others.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed at North Shore for two nights in June as part of a trip around Cornwall and would describe it as ideal.
Sean, the owner, greeted us on arrival and gave us a quick tour of the building explaining the facilities etc after which we got on with our surfing. Despite the fact that we did not spend much time in the hostel other than for sleeping, it was evident that it had all the necessary facilities and was clean and well maintained. The building itself is a 10 minuet stroll from town which saves you driving your car around.
The only thing I would mention to be aware of is that there seems to be a particularly stringent policy against food and drink being consumed in the bedrooms, this is completely understandable in that there is a large and fully functioning kitchen and dining area, though the manner by which we were continuously reminded by notices on nearly every door was somewhat strange; for example one note emphasised that nuts and fruit are considered to be food - we found this more humourous than anything else and aren't the type of people to take food into a bedroom anyway, but do not be fooled, from the severity of the reminders there could be grave consequences.
In the main, the place was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Nice hostel in Bude - rooms are functional, but clean and comfortable. Good price too - we paid £40 for a double room private room with en-suite toilet: not bad. Owners are friendly and the facilities are as you might expect at a hostel (large well equipped kitchen, large dining area and a nice lounge).

Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews