We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break over Easter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 49 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently spent 4 days staying here over the Easter break and we had such a great time I felt I would post a review. Oak Lodge is everything a good b&b should be. The building is lovely, the accommodation clean and spacious and the hosts are warm, friendly and helpful. We stayed in the family room which is 2 adjoining rooms and is a perfect solution to travelling with children. My daughter was fascinated by the chickens and Julie was so nice, taking the time to talk to her about them and even letting her collect the eggs on Easter Sunday, a proper Easter egg hunt for her. The breakfasts are delicious and filling with a range of choices. The children have said if we ever stay in Bude again we have to stay in Oak Lodge which I think says it all. Definitely recommend!'

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Sadly only a one night stay .... as this B & B located just outside the town of Bude is superb !! Phill & Julie are warm & friendly and the house is immaculate, modern,light & airy with contemporary decor.Our room was very comfortable & spacious with a beautiful ensuite and overlooked the lovely garden, with views of the valley and church. Breakfast was excellent...my husband had the full English and I had the scrambled egg with smoked salmon which was cooked to perfection. it was nice also to see the chickens out in the garden while we were having breakfast.Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuathalain3255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is the second time we have been to Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast. This time we stayed in the Marsden Room - which has en suite shower and a dressing room complete with range of built in wardrobes.

As previously, we were greeted with a warm welcome from Phill and Julie.

The place is immaculate and our room overlooked the valley and the village.

We highly recommend this place and are sure that you will not be disappointed. The other thing worth noting is that the Bed and Breakfast has wide doorways downstair specifically enabling guests in wheelchairs and there is a bedroom downstairs specifically to cater to disabled clients.

The food is great, the ambience is great and you are really made to feel welcome.

My husband and I have made this Bed and Breakfast our first choice whenever we go to North Devon. It is second to none.

Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColletteHaworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a fabulous b&b, what fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble. We had a fabulous stay, b&b was so stylish and spotlessly clean, bathroom with watson room is amazing. Fantastic choice at breakfast, all food top quality and fresh. Thankyou julie and phil...you are the best!!!
(Farmer's nottingham)

Room Tip: All rooms amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My fiance and I booked in for one night as a stop over on our way to Newquay (from London - so we needed to break up the journey!) We've stayed before last summer and loved it. Nothing has changed! Clean, comfy room with great shower and a lovely bed. And, last and by no means least - friendly, accommodating hosts. We'll be back for a longer stay soon!

Room Tip: The annex room is lovely and private, feels like your own little cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanni82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of August, with my 11 yr old daughter and my disabled parents. My parents stayed in the annexe which had very good disabled facilities, including a disabled en suite, and dad felt very comfortable in being able to stay in the room during the day if he was having an "off" day. Myself and daughter were upstairs and had an en suite room overlooking the garden and Stratton church. Beautiful surroundings, coming from the Cotswolds we thought we were used to countryside views, but this area is lovely.
Phil and Julie greeted us with tea, coffee and biscuits on arrival, decorated the dining room on my dads birthday, provided refreshments constantly (both in the room and in the garden) They also invited us on many evenings to play games or just sit and chat in the peaceful garden with them. Breakfast was lovely, and plentiful, giving you the choice each day to order what you wanted the following morning so that food wasn't wasted (as it is in some b and b's).
The resident hens were hilarious, any children including mine were encouraged to collect eggs each morning from "the girls" and they were often out roaming on the lawn whilst we sat having breakfast. Julie and Phil invite you into their home, which in itself is stunning, but add to his their excellent hospitality and humour, you feel like you have known them years when you leave after only a few days. It was a much needed relaxing break, and we cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CDGomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B for a long weekend, we came due to a Funeral in the villiage of our dear Mum.
When we arrived it was like home from home, Phil and Julie greated us and showed us around.
They have a beautiful home, with lots of lovely views, the rooms we had were excelliant.
On both mornings Julie cooked us a wonderful breakfast.

We will be returning again next year, and will be recommmending it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
1.5 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
673 reviews
1.3 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#10 of 49 in Bude
352 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Edgcumbe
The Edgcumbe
#7 of 49 in Bude
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tree Inn
The Tree Inn
#20 of 49 in Bude
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stratton, Bude EX23 9AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range: $90 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Lodge Bed And Breakfast Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing