We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, wonderful stay, exceptional people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 49 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of August, with my 11 yr old daughter and my disabled parents. My parents stayed in the annexe which had very good disabled facilities, including a disabled en suite, and dad felt very comfortable in being able to stay in the room during the day if he was having an "off" day. Myself and daughter were upstairs and had an en suite room overlooking the garden and Stratton church. Beautiful surroundings, coming from the Cotswolds we thought we were used to countryside views, but this area is lovely.
Phil and Julie greeted us with tea, coffee and biscuits on arrival, decorated the dining room on my dads birthday, provided refreshments constantly (both in the room and in the garden) They also invited us on many evenings to play games or just sit and chat in the peaceful garden with them. Breakfast was lovely, and plentiful, giving you the choice each day to order what you wanted the following morning so that food wasn't wasted (as it is in some b and b's).
The resident hens were hilarious, any children including mine were encouraged to collect eggs each morning from "the girls" and they were often out roaming on the lawn whilst we sat having breakfast. Julie and Phil invite you into their home, which in itself is stunning, but add to his their excellent hospitality and humour, you feel like you have known them years when you leave after only a few days. It was a much needed relaxing break, and we cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CDGomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B for a long weekend, we came due to a Funeral in the villiage of our dear Mum.
When we arrived it was like home from home, Phil and Julie greated us and showed us around.
They have a beautiful home, with lots of lovely views, the rooms we had were excelliant.
On both mornings Julie cooked us a wonderful breakfast.

We will be returning again next year, and will be recommmending it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

well it is september now and we still remember april in north devon, in bude, in the splendid oak lodge. fantastic place to stay, to tour from, to come back to. phil and julie great hosts ,so friendly and welcoming.
what more can anyone want? go for it! we will return!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this B&B, which was much more than a regular B&B!. The couple who run Oak Lodge were ever so welcoming & friendly. The rooms were immaculate & beautifully presented. The breakfast was amazing, everything was sourced locally & they even has their own chickens to lay the eggs!. The locals in the pub we went to in the evening were very friendly & all said goodnight when we left!. Would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunsetLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Oak lodge is eveything a B & B should be and more. A friendly and warm welcome from Phill when we arrived earlier than anticipated and tea and biscuits in the lovely garden.
We stayed in the beautiful Chesbrough room with a lovely ensuite and a wonderful shower.
Everything is beautifully clean and fresh with lovely toiletries and soft thick towels.There were thoghtful extras inc wine glasses and a mini fridge.
Breakfast offered lots of choice with fresh fruit and lovely fresh eggs from their own hens and really set us up for walking the spectacular coast path. ( thank you Julie ! )
Julie & Phill are excellent,friendly hosts who made us feel relaxed and comfortable and we highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We loved the Chesbrough room with lovely views over Stratton and th brilliant shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornwallsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

this is by far the most outstanding hotel i have ever stayed in, i have been here 4 times, Phil & Julie are 2 of the nicest people i have ever met, the rooms are a treat to stay in, clean, spacious, modern,the breakfast is a delight; the view whilst you are eating is wonderful, even staying for a few days you feel like part of the family, i cannot urge you strongly enough than to make this the only place to stay if you are in this part of the Country, there is also a disabled room for people finding stairs a challenge,just try this once and i promise you will understand why i wrote this review

Room Tip: Cheseborough room has en suite, but all rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is the best B&B I have visited.

The place is exceptionally well kept and immaculately clean. Phil and Julie are the perfect hosts and cannot do enough to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one. The rooms a re spacious, clean and very comfortable and disabled people are well catered for with easy parking and ground floor easy access rooms.

Breakfast is just do die for!

I would definitely recommend this place to stay.when in Bude.

Room Tip: Every room is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColletteHaworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
1.5 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 10 in Bude
684 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Budehaven Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#10 of 49 in Bude
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Links Side
Links Side
#17 of 49 in Bude
89 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Beach at Bude
The Beach at Bude
#2 of 49 in Bude
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stratton, Bude EX23 9AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range: $95 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Lodge Bed And Breakfast Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing