We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short family beach break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliff Hotel at Bude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Short family beach break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Cliff Hotel with our 2 teenage sons for a short beach break as they love surfing. The hotel more than met our needs. Lovely owners and staff, they really made us feel at home. Booking was easy, and we had easy access to our room from the large car park. We booked the superior double for us and our room was very big with a huge bathroom with a power shower over the bath (always hot and great after all the sea swimming). It was the views from our room that made it a great stay. Picture windows looked over Crooklets beach and it was lovely to wake up to! The boys room was a twin room with pleasant views over the fields- the beds were comfortable and it was very clean. Breakfast is fruit juice cereals and a cooked English breakfast (waitress served- with a lovely smile!). The breakfast satisfied my sons appetites (which is saying something) and we had mackerel and smoked salmon one morning which was lovely (need to pre-order). We also had our evening meal at the hotel and the food was delicious and as good as reviewers have said (and with the lovely beach view as well).

You get a bit more here than other hotels- I thought the pool was great- it was clean and yes, it is not warm but I like a cool pool and it wasn't freezing. The room the indoor pool is in was well heated. The boys enjoyed the pool table and the darts board and we enjoyed the friendly service in the bar while they were kept occupied! The hotel also has tennis courts, bowling and putting green and pet rabbits which the other guests' children who were there loved. We don't have a dog but there was no evidence of dog smells and the owners' dogs were lovely and well behaved (didn't hear them the whole time)

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the beach and had a drying area for the boys wetsuits. Nothing was too much trouble and we will be back- we had a great time. Many thanks!

Room Tip: I would recommend Room 15 at the front of the hotel. It is worth the extra for the power shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oakleyhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
36
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

First I would like to say that Rosalind and John, the owners are very nice, friendly and welcoming people and their staff are very polite, friendly and do a great job. My room was very impressively sized, clean and very comfy and most, if not all, have a Balcony you can walk out onto.

The property is very impressive and the location is nicely situated close to Crooklets Beach and also close to a cliff-side walk. The Car Park is huge which makes things very convenient. It is quite unique regarding it's facilities as it hosts a Tennis Court, Bowling Green and Swimming Pool (Indoor). I never did get to try the Pool so cannot comment.

The breakfasts were plentiful, delicious, Waitress served and hot, very impressed with that. I also had it on good authority that John's Evening Meals were lovely too, I never got around to trying them though, due to my own fault, so I missed out on something good there.

I already knew my room had only a bath (albeit with an attachable overhead shower hose) so that was not an issue, but does lead to a fault I noticed, namely that there was a notable lack of attention in cleaning the bath sides.

I am almost sure my towels were changed and the owners do make sure the Bathroom radiator is on for a time in the morning to dry your towels. The toilet was cleaned regularly too.

The only other thing I noticed was that maybe some parts of the exterior(not the frontage) needed sprucing up a bit and maybe a lick of new paint here and there, although with coastal conditions, it's hard to stay on top of that .

Having said that, the interior in all parts of the Hotel was cosy, tidy and well kept. The pricing of the Hotel is very reasonable too.

I did not notice any Dog smells and I don't have a problem with Dogs in Hotels anyway.

I would recommend this hotel to others for all the good things, which covers 95%. I only mention the slight issues now so Rosalind and John can endeavour to keep the Hotel right at the top of the league.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abitgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginging of July, me and my partner (we are in our mid 30's) with our lovely Springer Lucy. We were given an amazingly warm welcome, all 3 of us, and we enjoyed this lovely friendly atmoshpere for the whole of our trip. we met people who had been visiting the Hotel for years and they were just as friendly as the Owners.The room we had was lovely, large and clean. we had easy access to our room (very handy when going in and out with a dog) and John and Rosalind are both so nice, always time for a chat and recommending places to visit, and made us feel like we had been visiting for years! The food was amazing and they always made sure we had an extra sausage for Lucy, she thoroughly enjoyed her Holiday too! This was the perfect place for us and just what we had been looking for as dog owners (she comes everywhere with us) Bude is a beautiful place and the Hotel was amazing with private grounds where we could sit and watch the sunset. We will deffinitely be returning next year. One of the most relaxed and enjoyable holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights here recently and can reiterate ann805's review. Fantastic position with great walks to crooklets and summerleaze beach, would be perfect for dog owners. Room smelled of dog so we bought air freshener. We helped ourselves to clean towels as they weren't changed daily. Biggest disappointment however was the lack of a shower, just a detachable hose above the bath, once again great for those dirty dogs! Breakfast was a delight and John and Rosalind very amenable hosts. Pool was far too cold for the kids to swim in. Overpriced in my opinion. Had a good look around Bude and found much smarter places for less. Location and breakfast were the 2 pluses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjg127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Hotel is situated in a very nice location over-looking the beach, it also had a good tennis court and bowling green. However, the 'heated' swimming was in fact freezing and a bit dirty around the edges. We found the 'gym,' however the equipment was dated and looked like it hadn't been used for years. The room smelt doggy, however would be suitable for dog-owners. Towels were not changed until we left the hotel. Also the floor above us was very noisy. On a positive note, the breakfast was good. This glorified B+B would suit dog-owners.

Room Tip: Choose a top room to avoid noises from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

To sum it up, this place is a hidden treasure! We recently spent a long weekend at The Cliff Hotel in Bude, we arrived as guests but it felt like we left as friends. The hotel is located on top of the cliff with stunning views over Bude beach. The beach is only 2 mins walk away from the hotel and the town centre is only a short walking distance too. The hotel has several facilities including an indoor swimming pool, tennis court and so many other facilities keeping you occupied. The owners John and Rosalind are not your usual managers - nothing was an effort for them and they are lovely, down to earth people. John does most of the cooking and Rosalind makes sure the restaurant and bar are run as smooth as possible. We stayed for breakfast and dinner and the food was absolutely outstanding. The dinner menu changes on a daily basis, everything is made from fresh ingredients you just have to place your order after breakfast. The rooms were spotless and the staff is the friendliest we have every come across with. As the hotel is dog friendly, for a small suppliment/night we were able to take our dogs with us. There are several paths/beaches where dogs are allowed, and Bude in general seemed very dog friendly. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone not only beacuse it is in a middle of a stunning location but to experience the magic The Cliff Hotel offers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was booked into a "hotel" that turned out to be a spare room in a farm house b+b with plumbing in the "en-suite" that would wake the dead BUT then found The Cliif Hotel at Bude. Aww Rosalind and John you were/are lovely people running a beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting with the sea and sunset. The rooms were spacious, modern with wonderful beds, breakfasts were superb with all the trimmings, and waitresses, parking was ample and nothing was any trouble to you. Thank you for coming to the rescue of us. Oh yea it has a great bar selling Rattler cider(thanks again for the glass) and other alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. All the games you want and space to do it. Only there for two days but it is deffo one WE would recommend to anyone and would stay at again.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are good on the two floors I would say with little balconies on the upper floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.4 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach House B&B
Beach House B&B
#2 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.9 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel at Bude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel at Bude

Property: The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Address: Road Near Crooklets Beach Maer Down, Bude EX23 8NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliff Hotel at Bude 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Cliff Hotel at Bude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Hotel At Bude Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing