We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and trusting - well impressed with The Palms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palms Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bude
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palms Guest House
Ranked #42 of 51 Bude B&B and Inns
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful and trusting - well impressed with The Palms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

Myself and a mate needed to go over to Bude to collect a second-hand car early the next morning. This meant getting up and departing the B&B before the standard breakfast time to walk the couple of miles to a neighbouring village. The management were very understanding - they put all the breakfast things out the previous night for us. Fantastic. Well impressed with the understanding and courtesy shown.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank blokerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Palms Guest house is a lovely place to stay. Cleanliness is second to none, the service was the same, the breakfasts were excellent with nice attention to detail - we found the little fridge in the room was very useful. The hosts were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The front of the house is very pretty and looks cared for.Our 4 night stay was much too short. We need to go again to see more sites and Palms is a good central location for places to see and do in Cornwall and Devon. Although parking outside the house is limited, we never had any problems. The house has wonderful views over the Golf course and there were even better views on the Downs.
We had no problem finding various food outlets - shops and entertainments were within easy walking distance and the beaches were beautiful. Overall we would give 10 out of 10 to Palms!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackyhall258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

After a very long drive down to Bude on a motorbike, we where urgently looking for somewhere to stay for a night. Had a drive round Bude and found a road with B & B's in and knocked on the door of one we thought looked okay with vacancies. Luckily they had room and where very helpfull ,with allowing us to park the bike at the rear of the property within private parking ,so we had peace of mind bike was secure. Had a lovely double room, with large ensuite, with facilities for making hot drinks. Got up the next day with every intention of moving on, but after a hearty breakfast and a good chat with our host about places to visit,, decided to stay another night. Although ours was only a short stay, we had a very pleasant visit and would look again to stop here if this way.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nanny03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

We spent one night here and would liked to have stayed longer. The rooms were charming and very cozy. It was easy to walk to the village and the waterside. The whole visit was topped off with a delicious breakfast. We would recommend the Palms to anyone in a second! Thanks Christine and Dave.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicemarie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

If your expecting customer service don’t hold your breath, the couple who run it arn’t rude but just done have any personality whatsoever!
The place is clean and tidy and the breakfast is ok, but ask for anything else (even a smile) and they look at you and make you feel stupid for even thinking it was possible.
If you want a late check out on a Sunday morning say, forget it! “This isn’t a hotel” we were told and that sets the tone for this establishment.
If you don’t want any interaction with another living soul then this is your place, but if your human and would like to be greeted with a smile (since your paying them) then you’ll be disappointed, although I got the firm belief from viewing interactions with other guests, that if we were 50-60 + then we may have had more in common!
The place is clean and comfortable and room-wise better than some national chains we’ve staryed with, so don’t let me put you off, it reminded me a little of Faulty Towers..
Enjoy your stay!!!
Would I recommend this place to any friends it asks.. Only those with no personality, I think they'd get on like a house on fire!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chimeara786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Booked the Palms for a family reunion and requested single rooms as we had only met briefly before and my relative said she snored. I was later asked if for a price reduction we would mind moving to room with two seperate rooms with a door between & we accepted. When we arrived in Bude and met our relatives some of whom where also staying in the Palms they informed us that we were not allowed to checkin before 4 which was not made clear and so we had to change our plans around this. When we did check in we had to wait an age for the door to open and when it was finally opened it was by a man in an obvious hurry who just told us to register our names dashed us up the stairs handed us our key and left us too it! We never saw any one from the family again until the morning when we had breakfast which was very OK but again felt very rushed and almost in the way. We had to be out by 10 according to the booking confirmation so we packed and went to pay. This was not the expected £25 but had gone back up. When I questioned this I was told this was on account of the single person suppliment that they had forgot to tell us about on booking. We had no choice but to pay up. I forwarded the email to them later and the money was swiftly refunded but left a nasty taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

myself and my partner visited bude in aug 08 we planned to stay at palms guest house for one night whilst we travelled and visited various parts of devon and cornwall. We found from the start we were made to feel very welcome with nothing was too much trouble. Mr and Mrs simmons were keen to share their local knowledge of good places to eat and to visit. my partner is lactose intolerant and we were very impressed at their willingness to adapt the breakfast menu to suit our needs. The hospitality that we experienced resulted in us extending our stay a further night.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jobeyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.2 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edgcumbe
The Edgcumbe
#5 of 51 in Bude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Jade Guest House
Sea Jade Guest House
#12 of 51 in Bude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Links Side
Links Side
#23 of 51 in Bude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Guest House

Property: Palms Guest House
Address: 17 Burn View, Bude EX23 8BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Palms Guest House Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing