We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay View Inn

The Bay View Inn
Ranked #7 of 106 Restaurants in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice whilst staying in Bude, for lunch we both had prawn sandwiches and they were lovely. We booked for dinner in the evening, when we got to our table we were told there would be an hour wait - it was massive pub and it was busy, you people who have complained should chill out, the view is lovely, the cider is cold and you need to get on "Cornwall any time" the food was well worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amylovecornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baybude, Owner at The Bay View Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Amylovecornwall,
Thank you for your review, Cornwall time made us laugh, if only everyone had your perception of relaxed Cornish holidays.
Its nice to hear that you were happy to enjoy the experience, our view and the food in a relaxed holiday manner.

Cheers then, thanks for popping in :-)

Hayley & The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    299
    78
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous pub/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

A great combination of pub and restaurant. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere but great quality food. A fantastic location and one we visit regularly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baybude, Owner at The Bay View Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Cara O,

Thank you for you kind review. We strive to create the exact atmosphere you describe. It lovely to read that we achieved this in your eyes

Kindest Regards

Hayley & The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All round excellent! !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money...had the chicken ceaser salad and it was fab and the caujon chicken burger...verry good portions and lovely staff. well worth the 45min trip to get there.will recomend..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank torieria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baybude, Owner at The Bay View Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Torieria,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are always happy to read to was worth a drive

Kindest Regards

Hayley & The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips were great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very fresh-tasking, flakey white fish, good chips. also had the Moules Mariniere but the sauce was too creamy. Prefer broth-based sauce.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ariane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baybude, Owner at The Bay View Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Ariane L

Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed our Fish and chips. The cider moules may have been a better option for you try next time as this is not a cream based dish :-)

Kindest Regards
Hayley & The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

It used to be nice now I find it over-rated and over-priced. the quality of food really went down. Beautiful views but only if you are dining, if you just want to have a drink you are not allowed to seat in the dining area overlooking amazing sea... we used to go there a lot, now hardly ever..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baybude, Owner at The Bay View Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear shabtique,

We are sorry you feel we did not meet your expectations our suppliers/chefs have been the same for approximately 5 years now so we can not understand the issue with the quality of food. Of course you are welcome to sit and have a drink on any table that is free. As you can imagine its a case of the tables with the best view are reserved first.

Thank you for your comments

Hayley & The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay View Inn also viewed

 
Bude, Bude-Stratton
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to The Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing