We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in Every Way”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Almardon

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Grey_hair...
Lenham UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at Almardon for 5 days to take in the beauty of the highlands and unwind following the excitement of our daughters wedding in Edinburgh.
The accommodation was ideal, friendly, relaxed, a host that would do anything to make our stay enjoyable and a location that is idyllic. Wonderfully friendly pubs within walking distance and a complete range of shops all within Callander. A first class base to explore the natural beauty of the Highlands and the very rich heritage of the Scottish people and their Kings.
Absolutely first class.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Trossachs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhona C
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and fantastic host”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I took my daughter (14years) to Scotland for the first time and used Almardon as a base for Oban and Fortingall. The house was immaculate and beautifully presented with everything you could possibly want.
The bungalow is huge with more then enough room for a large family if needed.
The owner Margaret is just lovely and her dog Skye is very sweet.
There is great parking at the property and town is a short, level walk away.
There are numerous takeaways and restaurants if you dont fancy cooking, we would recommend the Lade Inn, a short drive out of Callander of the Kilmahog road, you will see the turning on the left.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation to your satisfaction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne C
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Friendly Holiday Home”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I spent a few days with my partner, sister and father at Almardon, along with our 2 border terriers. The object was to take my 88 year old dad back to Scotland where he has had so many happy holidays with my late mother.
The bungalow is spacious and excellently laid out with 3 en suite bedrooms which meant that there was no queuing for bathrooms or loos at any time, and everyone had their own space to retreat to if they wished.
The lounge/diner was spacious and airy, with enough seating for us all. There is a choice of eating at the dining table at one end of the lounge, or at the table in the kitchen. I've rarely seen such a beautifully laid out kitchen. Modern, clean and fully equipped. There is even a dish washer and washing machine.
The garden is beautifully kept and backs onto woodland from where you can go on a number of different walks. It was lovely to be able to just pop out of the back gate and head to the nearby river with the dogs without worrying about roads.
It is just a short walk to Tesco for provisions, and to the rest of Callander which has plenty of eateries and an amazing bread shop!
Margaret, the owner, is a lovely, kind lady who made us feel very welcome, and we loved her dog, Skye, as well.
Many thanks to Margaret and Skye for a really welcoming stay in Scotland, I can heartily recommend Almardon to anyone :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! handy dog walking and such excellent facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
Thank you for your review. We loved having you stay at Almardon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystyna1...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Homely feel”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Margaret the owner very friendly and helpful. The bungalow was lovely and comfortable plenty of space. Kitchen modern with washer dishwasher and good cooker. Will certainly want to revisit. Ideal position for walking to tesco and pubs and hotels and the high street. We'll done Margaret and woof woof Skye the lovely wee dog x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Having no blinds up at bathroom windows just net curtains
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1048iain
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at many holiday cottages over the years, and Almardon is one of the best. The property is spacious, comfortable with excellent beds, well-equipped and spotlessly clean. The wifi worked well. It's a short stroll to the town centre and an even shorter one to the nearest supermarket. We had a friendly and helpful welcome from the owner, who lives in the adjoining house.

Two points of information: all three bedrooms have en-suite toilet and shower, but there is no separate shared bathroom or toilet. The grassy back garden is on a slope, so it might not be suitable for very young children or people with limited mobility.

Five stars all round - recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2015
Thank you for your review of Almardon. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate S
Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I along with kids aged 13, 11 and 5 thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Scotland this year and our stay in Almarden. Margaret was very accomodating and gave us lots of helpful information about the surrounding area. The location of the the house is perfect.. it backs onto parkland with lovely walks and suitable for bikes, and also there is a childrens play area across the park and mini golf which the kids loved, and several pubs and places to eat within very short walking distance. It was lovely when we got back from a days hiking to park the car and just go off and explore the the town (which is a really lovely place). The accomodation was spotless, warm and comfortable, I cannot find any faults with this place. Callander itself is perfect for exploring the Trossachs and also for trips to Glasgow and Edinburgh. We would loved to have explored more of the walks around Callander but we ran out of time! Thank you Margaret, we hope to be back sometime! Kate Chris and the boys x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thank you for your kind review of Almardon, Callander. Glad to head that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing