We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Nearby Hotels
$170
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Camp Hotel(Callander)
$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
$146
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
$83
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
$668
$533
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveler rating
396
180
58
14
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
396
180
58
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgolden oaksilver birch cabinlog burneraccess roadthese cabinsloch lubnaigentertainment packagelovely cabintv packagemid week breakchecked dailyhired bikeson site shopfew nigglesgreat holidaydishwasher tablets
Filter
Updating list...
660 - 664 of 664 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Strathyre is a lovely place and forest holidays cabins are amazing. We booked a cabin with hot tub and lakeside view and it was soooo worth the extra money. We had the last cabin of about 6 alongside the lake, it had 2 bedrooms, living area with kitchen and lovely log burning fire and 2 bathrooms. The hot tub was on the balcony and yes it was cold as it was february but once in the hot tub it was perfect, even in the snow. We awoke after our first night to a full blanket of snow, it made the view spectacular! we went on one of the colour coded walks behind the cabins which was lovely. The town wasnt far in the car if you need provisions and there are some shops, pubs and restaurants. Overall we had an amazing time and would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mango1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

this is a great place to stay if you want to go self catering, it has all the things you would need the cabins are spotless, great if you like the out doors. the only problem about the site is there is not any shops if you run out of anything, you have to get into the car and drive a few miles down to callender, all and all its a great place if you want to excape the world
.
ive put some pictures up as i felt there was not many for people to have a look at.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eastlothianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

What a fantastic place! We stayed in cabin 31 which was known as the VIP. It had a wonderful position with uninterrupted views over the loch and overlooked by noone! It was amazing. The staff at the site are really helpful and do their best to make sure you have a comfortable stay. The cabins are well equipped and have everything there that you would need. We ate in most of the time but ate out on saturday night at the local restaurant bar. There was a celidh band on _ The Haggen Dashers I think!! Brilliant, although I think that we provided a little of the entertainment too - Lynn! Rab! So a bit dancin, a bit jiggin and a bit spoon playing later and we shuttled back to the cabin in relays as there was only one taxi!! The boys fished in the loch and us dutiful women made the dinner!!

Next visit is girls only and we cant wait! To date, 229 sleeps!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank theduffys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Strathyre forest cabins just outside Callander in April/May 2007 for a week.

This was our first time in Scotland and the weather was perfect, it was sunny everyday which we were surprised about.

We stayed in a VIP cabin which had probably the best Loch view of all of the cabins on site.

The cabin was very modernly decorated and clean, the cabin was open plan with a large veranda. The hot tub was fantastic especially at night when it's gets dark and chilly. The cabins are fully equipt with all you need for a relaxing break.
We did some the walks around the area, The Stark Glen, Ben Ledi. We travelled all around the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National parks.

The cabins are located in a quiet area so you will need a car or cycle to reach any other villages and towns.
There is a supermarket in Callander which has basic items.

All in all we had a great time in Scotland and would definately return to cabins again.

5  Thank Moontooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews