We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strathyre Cabins”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Strathyre Cabins”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just back from two weeks at Forest Holidays in Strathyre.
Our Family, Husband, Two daughters, Three Grandchildren, dogs and me.
We have been here several times in the past three years.
Our cabin was excellent once again. It appears they are re-furbishing.
It was super to see Will and Nicki, who used to be Rangers here. An unexpected visit by them.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The only drawback...........The road to the cabins.........A very large number of HUGE potholes.......Drive very slowly.....Kind of like an assault course..............
Saw from a previous review that they were supposed to be fixed months ago.
We were told that work will start next week.
Coming back in October and hope the work will have been completed!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHL1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review following your family holiday with Forest Holidays at Strathyre. It is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and I am delighted that you had another great holiday with us. Apologies about the road; it should have been fixed by now and it will be very soon. We look forward to seeing you again in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    159
    51
    15
    11
See reviews for
213
235
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Check in was at 4:00pm, our cabin wasn't ready till 4:15pm (not the end of the world, but still we managed to arrive on time). When we got to our cabin all the doors and windows were open, to dry out the still wet floors, but this meant flies and midges were inside.

The Cabin seemed a little beaten up and a bit grubby. Paint was flaked and missing on the walls, there was no handle for the downstairs WC (only two large holes in the door), there was a large hole in the floor of the downstairs shower room which smelt of dampness. There was also a couple of holes in the kitchen counter tops. The upstairs banister was so greasy and dirty it felt sticky (yuk).

Bedding, dishes etc were clean and no problems at all with these. Cabin was well appointed and included dishwasher and outside balcony (we had the basic 'copper' cabin). No hairdryer or iron (take your own). Views were stunning and beds were comfy.

However, without a doubt the biggest and most annoying problem was the drive into the site. The mile long track was full of pot-holes, which meant weaving from side to side at 10mph just to avoid wrecking the car.

We enjoyed our holiday, but felt the cabin we felt they needed a bit of re-decorating and some basic repair.

Overall, our feeling was it didn't provide value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank for your review following your stay at Strathyre. The team at Strathyre work hard to ensure that the cabins are up to standard and that our guests enjoy their stay. On this occasion it seems there were some preventable niggles that were overlooked. We understand how the small details can annoy so please accept our apologies. I have passed your comments onto the team there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just returned home from an amazingly relaxing 4 night stay at forest holidays Strathyre. we had read all the reviews before we booked and was a bit concerned about the negative reviews but the amount of positive ones swayed it for us and we were so glad they did! this is an amazingly peaceful place with very friendly staff and some stunning views of loch Lubnaig and the surrounding hills.
The cabin (28) was a stunning 2 bedroom SIlver Birch sleeping four, pet friendly with hot tub! we all loved the hot tub and being the last cabin in the resort the privacy was perfect! the cabin was very well finished with a new kitchen and living area. The TV also has a USB port which we used to view the photos we took and to watch movies from a portable hard drive!
The road is a bit rubbish but anyone reading this will have read all the other reviews regarding it, the long and short of it is, you have to take your time! The staff assured us this was being repaired in the next three weeks or so.
If you're looking for loads of activities and restaurants on site, look elsewhere.
If you want a relaxing luxurious base from which to explore the surrounding area then this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Avoid cabins next to the reception as they have very little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay at Strathyre. I'm glad you found it to be the luxurious base you needed to explore the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Strathyre soon, or in fact one of our 7 other locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The cabins are clean and well spaced out to provide maximum privacy. They are being refurbished and look better than some of the older photos on trip advisor. All staff are friendly and take time to explain things. We went on the dusk watch walk with the ranger and he pointed out various plants and wildlife along the way. The only trouble with this location in summer is the midges so take plenty of insect repellent.

Room Tip: Cabins higher up the hill get a better view. Only some cabins include a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayview65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Strathyre. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and found the team at Keldy friendly and helpful. I hope you enjoyed the Dusk Watch walk which can be a fascinating insight into the forest and its secret life. Do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked this as a winter week away to relax before the hussle and bussle of Christmas and I can say, we all came away totally relaxed. There isn't a lot to see or do once you are there, the holiday was "what it said on the tin" a Forest Holiday. The Cabins are abolutely lovely and have everything you need so that all you need to take is your clothing and food for your stay. If you enjoy walking there is some lovely scenery and plenty of walking to be done. We had a Hot Tub with our cabin, which was just what we needed after our long walks. Enjoyed it so much we have booked to go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudger0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review following your break with us at Strathyre back in November. It’s difficult to picture the forest in winter at the moment, but November is a great time to take a breather and recharge your batteries ahead of the busy Christmas preparations. I am so pleased you’ve booked again; we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The first thing you notice when you arrive at the cabins is the road, as a country girl it didn't really bother me that it was full of pot holes but what did bother me was that after our evening out in Callander the taxis won't go down it, so in very unsuitable foot wear and a pitch black road with only phone torches to guide our way we made our way down the 1 mile long road to the cabins. I'm surprised I didn't break my ankle. I really hope the owners are planning on fixing the road as it would make a big difference.
Other than that, the cabins were clean and well equipped. The tubs were checked daily and the small shop had a good selection of things you might have forgotten. They also didn't have a curfew for the tubs which was great, as long as you kept the noise down you could stay in all night if you liked. Other places like this I've been to only let you stay in till 11pm and can be quite stick about it so this was great for a girly weekend like we had.
One thing to remember though you are in woods in Scotland near a loch so there will be midges and lots of them so bring lots of skin so soft or other insect repellent, they will bite!
We really did have a brilliant weekend though and I would recommend these cabins to friends and family!

Room Tip: Cabins by the loch side are better if you plan on being up late, 31 was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifitrix007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent break with us at Strathyre. I am delighted that you felt you could relax and enjoy yourselves; it sounds as if the hot tub was an important part of the holiday! Thank you for your comments about the road, you will probably see from previous responses that we have now made arrangements to improve it. I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visitied the Forest Cabins in the Forest of Dean and were so impressed decided to use the cabins at Strathyre for a break with my parents. We'd raved on to them about how superb the site and cabins in the Forest of Dean were, so we were thoroughly embarrassed from the moment we arrived at Strathyre - the mile long road to the cabins took 7/8 minutes to drive to avoid potholes/damage to cars, the first sight of the site looked like a scrapyard with a big heap of old metal roof strutts piled up in a field alongside metal storage containers. We were checked in by a very nice lady. Despite having phoned ahead to ensure there was space to park two cars at the cabin, we were directed to use the parking space of a different cabin (presumably empty) for the second car, not sure what we would have done if there were no empty cabins. We were given keys to our cabin, only to find that the cleaners were still in it and not too cheerful about being disturbed. It was a warm day, but there were strict instructions not to switch the storage heater off - so we boiled, there was a broken glass in the cupboard, the sofa was ripped and worn, the oven was on an odd setting meaning it took ages to get it to function, the lamp above the mirror in one bedroom didn't work, the ensuite shower was tiny by my standards (and I'm tiny too!), there were holes in the wall where the loo roll holder should have been. The shower in the main bathroom didn't drain properly and seemed to be the cause of the foisty smell in the room. All in all we were very disappointed. We went to the Retreat twice to give the feedback in person - on one occasion it had closed early and on the second occasion it hadn't opened on time - reflective really of the mediocre standards on site. In positive terms, the cabins are located in a beautiful part of the world, are quite clean and comfortable - the kitchen looked to be newly refurbished and there were new pots, cutlery and pans, the hot tub was well maintained and the information folders were useful - but not enough really to outweigh the disappointing parts or to justify the cost, not to mention spending valuable holiday time in this way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellingtoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us but I am disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations; particularly as we had set those expectations ourselves, at the Forest of Dean. We take your feedback very seriously and will do all we can to ensure that the issues you mention are dealt with. The road in particular is scheduled for an upgrade shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
3.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
21.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
15.6 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland

Property: Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Address: Forest Holidays Strathyre, Callander, Perthshire, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Callander
Also Known As:
Strathyre Forest Cabins Hotel Strathyre
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland Callander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing