We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely time but noisy neighbours” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
238 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Lovely time but noisy neighbours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have been here before and like it enough to keep coming back.

This time we were in a 2 bedroomed silver birch - all well appointed and in honesty not hugely different from the Golden Oaks although standard double bed rather than king size.

I agree with the comments about the drive - it seems to have got worse since Easter when we were last there.

We had a problem this visit was noisy neighbours. It was a gloriously hot weekend so as the cabins can get very stuffy we had the windows open and the neighbours were out in the hot tub the first night past 11 oclock swearing away and making loads of noise. We called the emergency number and the head warden came along to talk to them which subdued them for a little bit, but soon started again. They made loads of noise all through the day, blaring music and swearing, then the next night were talking on their balcony until 4 am. Unfortunately due to the proximity of the cabins, the noise carries right through.

On the third day the warden very kindly gave us keys for another cabin so we cold get a good nights sleep.

One of the reasons i love Forest holidays is because they are fairly relaxed about number of people in the cabin, times you can use your hot tub etc but this weekend I saw the downside of this as this cabin spoilt a number of peoples holidays but as they weren't breaking any of the rules - apparently they can only be evicted if they play loud music after 11pm - then they got to stay.

Next time I'd ask sooner about moving. However other than that it was still wonderful and a great location to enjoy the hot weather.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joaniebinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    151
    49
    15
    11
See reviews for
206
229
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just back from a long weekend in cabin 2 (Golden Oak). We had a really nice weekend but was disappointed by the level of cleanliness on arrival - cooker was dirty, greasy stains on floor and a few cobwebs. Would have been good to have had salt and pepper provided too. Also, agree with other reviewers who mentioned the drabness of the decor, and the lack of seating space for six people in the living room which made it quite uncomfortable in the evenings.

However, that apart, the location is great and the staff are friendly. We enjoyed watching the birds on the feeder and even saw a pine martin on the balcony! The shop is fairly well stocked and, although there are a lot of potholes on the approach road, it wasn't that bad if you take it slowly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoneywifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We booked this as a long weekend in a Silver Birch 2 bedroom cabin (with hot tub). It was a fairly last minute decison but definitely one of the best trips we have had.

The site is at the end of a single track road on the the side of Loch Lubnaig - the main road is on the other side. We had cabin no 7 which was near reception but up a small path towards the back of the site with a view across to the hills on the other side of Loch Lubnaig. We were in a pet friendly one as that was all that was left when we booked it the month before. I was nervous that there might be pet smells but was delighted that there wasn't.

The cabin is over 2 floors with the master bedroom upstairs (with en suite) and there is another bedroom (twin) on the ground floor with separate shower room and toilet. There was more than enough space for us. The kitchen area had all we needed including a dishwasher to encourage our laziness - well it is a holiday! even though it was bitterly cold at the start of January, the cabin was cosy and relaxing. There is a TV and DVD player - we had taken some DVDs with us but there is a small "library" that guests can borrow from. We were too early when we arrived so had a coffee in the wee cafe and had time to browse the literature in reception.

The hot tub was pure bliss - we spent a lot of time in it. As other guests have noted, the cabin has plastic tumblers/glasses that you can use while enjoying the bubbles in the hot tub. It gets dark early in January but it was bliss to sit in the tub and look at the clear night skies - no light pollution to get in the way. It was freezing outside but lovely in the tub.

The surroundings are lovely too - walking up the side of the loch (part of the Rob Roy Way) was an gentle stroll. Lovely reflections on the loch.

We enjoyed this trip so much that we've just booked to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkfootpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed in cabin number 11 for 3 nights in April which was a Silver Birch grade. We were given a "dog friendly" cabin which suited us fine as we then planned to bring our 1 year old golden retriever with us. As a dog owner myself I was expecting the "dog" smell as soon as we entered the cabin. but no! the cabin was immaculate! and very modern. (we were told that our cabin had recently been upgraded).

The cabin was very spacious and homely, but did get very hot during the night (we ended up turning the heating off on the last night). Loads of crockery and even plastic wine glasses which were perfect in the hot tub!! adequate cookware and utensils for the budding cooks out there! LOVED the hot tub which got inspected daily by the staff, spent every minute possible in it even in the pouring rain as it was covered by the roof! All the Staff, but Stephen in particular, were very helpful and friendly and full of information about the area, they really couldnt have been nicer! Perfect for couples/ groups/ and families with young children as theres loads for the kids to do!

only negative is the road leading up to the site as it had huge potholes and if it has been raining you dont see how deep they are!!

Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Take dishwasher tablets/ washing up liquid and dont forget basics like salt/ butter sugar etc ( alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melissa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here as a party of four adults, in cabin 25, over the Easter weekend.

The cabin was plenty big enough for four adults and even had an unexpected extra toilet and shower (we had been looking forward to drawing lots for first bath). The furnishings were fine, a bit bashed around the edges as others have said, but nothing to detract from the overall experience. The cabin was clean, with no obvious dust balls kicking around.

The kitchen area was reasonably well equipped, but we had a problem with the cooker, as the markings were completely obliterated. My mum and I spent ages working it out, only to find that someone had left a handy drawing to inform future chefs about which knob was for which ring. Be sure to check if you go there, it'll be in the guest folder.

We felt warm enough, but you do need to put the fan on after a while as the heat rises and makes the top bedroom rather warm. But, when it's chucking it down outside, you'll be glad of the warmth. The floors were rather scuffed as some have said, but again, it wasn't a huge problem. The beds were comfortable, but the two pillows provided are rather flat, so if you need more propping up at night, then think about taking your own. The showers were suitably powerful and we never had any problems with the hot water.

We didn't miss the hot tub.

The road isn't that bad. We'd anticipated dreadful things after reading the reviews, but apart from a few bumps and potholes, it's fine. I'm really not sure why people think it's so bad. It's like driving on any gravel or non-tarmac road, not off-road as I think some people would imagine after reading earlier reviews.

The best thing in some ways was spending 40p on a bag of bird food and settling down to watch the birds at the side of the cabin. It was tremendously good fun. We didn't use any other facilities there, but did walk down to the lochside in the evening to ponder on the magnificence of it all. The scenery is great and to be honest, you can overlook any amount of scuffs when you look out over the loch.

So, it's worth going for, maybe not the flashest log cabins you'll ever see, but certainly cozy and great for cheerful break.

Room Tip: Away from reception and the access road, try the ones at the back, 25 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIncardine on Forth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was told when I visited the site to select cabins that the 2 I choose (from what was available) hadn't had the floors done yet. Should have been prepared but was still surprised at the tiredness of the decor, both cabins need totally redecorated inside, the floors desperately needed sanding and resealing, the oven door seal was broken and the door didn't close properly and then hot tub was too small for four adults to be at one time.

Arrived a little early as did several people, reception/cafe/shop closed with a sign saying it will open at 4pm for check in and to call a number if you had paid for early check in. Missing a trick here we (8adults) had intended to have coffee (snack) in the cafe while we waited for check in to open as I am sure other would have. Staff we met were all very nice and very helpful.

All this aside they are roomy, well equipped cabins and everyone thought the beds were great. Kitchen had everything from champagne flutes to a garlic crusher.

We had a great weekend celebrating some significant family events and the location of the cabins is ideal for touring, walking, finishing, golf and there are some nice eating places tucked away up there.

I would definitely go again (to selected cabins) but would ask if they have been refurbished.

Room Tip: Look at site map and pay the extra £15 to select the cabin of you choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just back. We were a family party of 8 on a mini break and celebrating a 60th birthday ,2 silver birch cabins with hot tubs and log burners, cabins 34 and 35 front row nobody over looking you,couldn't fault them ,warm cozy clean and as i understand it cabins are being refurbished a few at a time right now,the ones we were in were in need of updating but were spotless and staff are always on the go tidying around outside and checking hot tubs,i find it hard to believe cabins are dirty as another review said ,i am sure all you would have to do is call a member of staff in to see it and it would have been rectified the staff were very approachable and helpful, some cabins are in need of upgrade yes, dirty no,i do think cabins awaiting upgrade should be cheaper hence my marking value with a 3. Beautiful scenery quiet and peaceful, friendly helpful staff. Would definately go back.

Room Tip: Use site map to choose you cabin type and size and ask for that number when booking ,be aware 3 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xLizx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
17.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
15.7 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
15.9 mi away
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Loch Lomond Waterfront
#1 of 5 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland

Property: Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Address: Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Callander
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Strathyre Forest Cabins Hotel Strathyre
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland Callander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing