We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good meal at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Rectory Inn
Ranked #12 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe9
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A good meal at a reasonable price”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our first impression was that this place looked a little dated, however we received a very warm welcome and there was a very substantial choice of food available. Our meals were well presented and cooked extremely well.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morecambe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    56
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
93
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here just the one night which coincided with the Wednesday Entertainment evening. Local band PureMalt were clearly a big draw with the Restaurant full and provided a full three hours entertainment which we thoroughly enjoyed although it didn't finish until at least 11:30 by the time that people left. To be fair to the hotel we were warned when we booked and considered this a great advantage but others may not. Food and rooms excellent with haggis available for breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaroonCases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Amazing introduction to Scotland. Brilliant setting to stay and explore from, so friendly its like staying with family. Nothing is too much trouble. Lovely food, well worth booking an evening meal or two total value for money and fresh, in portion sizes to expand any waistline. You will be welcomed into the family and community if you want to !!! Rooms are clean, bright and airy, comfortable beds, if I had to suggest one thing possibly more thought to tea tray in room but thats all. Loved loved loved our stay. Tim Amelia kids (young adults) and all staff ( pluss quizz night host ) brill. Want to get back asap

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnWilliams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We ate here while we were self catering. The staff are really friendly and the menu is very varied. Each meal we had was freshly cooked and was excellent. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rathlin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

friendly staff. loads of food, clean room with lots of pillows on the bed.
only disadvantage for me was no desk space for computer work and i couldnt get the internet connection to work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rathlingolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Just got back from another fabulous stay at this very friendly and supeb value guest house. The owners, especially Amelia and Tim cannot be any more welcoming. The rooms are great, very well presented and very clean. The breakfast is unreal, must have put on half a stone in three days. The evening meals are very reasonably priced with especially large portions. The bar is so very friendly, especially on a wednesday when Gordon and Tam (Pure Malt) break out the guitars and entertain so very well, we also hit the quiz this visit, which was also very entertaining. The bar and restaurant is frequented by locals as well as guests, which has to be the sign of a great place. We cannot wait to go back and would very highly recommend this little gem of a guest house/hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMcQ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Enjoyable weekend at this great hotel.Spacious,clean.warm,en-suite bedrooms.Delicious,plentiful food.Cosy,friendly,well stocked bar(probably requires restocking after our visit!!) Many thanks for arranging Karaoke Friday night..much appreciated.
Extremely helpful,friendly,obliging hosts.
Special mention to Amelia...You are Awesome : ))))
Highly recommend this delightful hotel. Will definately return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinoFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 35 in Callander
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 35 in Callander
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 35 in Callander
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Inn

Property: The Old Rectory Inn
Address: The Old Rectory Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Country Inn “Comfortable rooms. Great Food. And a warm welcome” A Family business started 12 years ago saw a building - formally The Church Rectory - go through a much needed transformation and over the years has built up a reputation based on quality. The atmosphere of the inn is informal, as it should be, and friendly with a good core of regular custom both for food and drink. Gray’s Scottish Restaurant at The Old Rectory is named after a past owner” Reverend Alan Gray”, and is brought right up to date by Tim and Jane Warbrick, Tim being The Reverend Grays Grandson. If you are looking for traditional choices using local produce where possible or delicious food, with a modern take on traditional classics then The Old Rectory Inn is just the place for you. One of the most popular pub restaurants in Callander, The Old Rectory Inn has earned itself a reputation for providing good quality food cooked by our very own in house chef. “Our 3 Course Sunday Roast Menu is Legendary” Take a look at our menus; we think you'll find plenty to tempt you. The Old Rectory Inn is a great place to eat, drink and relax with friends and family. Our Pub forms the backbone of The Old Rectory Inn and a warm welcome invites you into our cosy bar area where we have selected beers, lagers and ciders available in bottles and on draught. On warm, sunny days the garden allows for outside dining. We Have Live Contempary Scottish Music here every Wednesday Night the occasional Saturday night and Sunday Afternoons (musicians also sourced locally where possible). We host Quiz night every Tuesday night, our quizzes are good fun and not taken too seriously at all. Our spirit collection is vast, with an array of gins, we also have a hefty whisky collection including local and further afield whiskies. If you're looking to get together with friends, The Old Rectory Inn is one of the best places in the area to swap stories, drink in the atmosphere and savour some great drinks with some great characters. Remember that we host live music in the Whisky Library so before you book, please check with us first if you do not like the sound of people enjoying themselves!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Rectory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Callander
The Old Rectory Inn Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing