We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break at The Knowe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Knowe

The Knowe
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Knowe
Ranked #17 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great break at The Knowe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

Me & my boyfriend, my parents, & my brother stayed at The Knowe for 4 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend whilst in town for a wedding, and we had a lovely time!
The B&B is quite small, but very well presented with lovely modern rooms, 3 doubles and 1 twin. We took 3 out of 4 rooms up, but I didn't get a good look at the twin room. The rooms are a very good size, all with new carpets, wardrobe, dressing table, sofa, ensuite bathroom, fridge, tea & coffee stuff, & wall-mounted tv with full Sky package. And wi-fi in the rooms too, although they only guarantee it in the resident's lounge downstairs, as bad weather can affect it!
The B&B is just 5mins walk down to the main street which has all the usual town amenities you could need, nice restaurants & pubs etc. The walk back is up a small hill, so not ideal for those with walking difficulties, but is on a nice quiet street, we never heard a peep out of the neighbours (although apparantly a local screech owl has been heard by some guests!).
The hosts are absolutely lovely: friendly, accomodating, & unintrusive. They serve up an excellent breakfast (I can highly recommend the full scottish with haggis!), with plenty of choice, between 8.30 & 9am, though they pushed it back an hour for us the day after the wedding as we were the only guests! They were very helpful wih recommending local attractions, and there is a good selection of leaflets & menu's in the residents lounge to help with decision making. Oh, and they have a very sweet german shepherd dog! : )
Callander is a real wedding hotspot, and I really can't recommend the Knowe highly enough for a stop-over or for a longer break. We've had a lovely time, and I'd like to think we'll be back!

  • Liked — The room & the breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank philevil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk - Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

My partner and i stayed at the knowe guest house in callander for 1 night. It was excellent. The large house was decorated nice and modern. We stayed in the WOODLANDS room. It was lovely. There was a LCD TV on the wall with a dvd player built in. The room was spotless!! Breakfast in the morning was great aswell. We really enjoyed our stay here at the knowe and will be returning in the future.

  • Liked — The lovely modern room
  • Disliked — nothing - i liked everything
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

Having just returned from our stay at The Knowe I had to write to let everyone know what a pleasant and lovely stay we had.
We stayed in Greenwood, the room was very spacious and the bathroom had a great shower.
Views from the room included the crag (from the bedroom) and out over the town (if you poked your head out of the bathroom window).
The place really has a lovely, warm and friendly atmosphere and our hosts, sorry cannot remember their names, were very helpful, non intrusive and lovely to chat to at breakfast.
Writing of breakfast the porridge was lovely, creamy and filling, and the cooked breakfast was what the doctor ordered for my other half after our night at a wedding held locally. There is great breakfast choice plus cereals, fruit etc ...
The house, which is only a few minutes walk from the town centre, is also home to a wonderful, friendly and affectionate, german sheperd dog who was totally adorable. I wanted to take her home with me!
All in all our stay in The Knowe was great and is a really good base to explore the surrounding area.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

The sixth+last place my wife and I stayed in Scotland+what a lovely way to end our fantastic holiday. Callander is a lovely little town and The Knowe is a beautiful house on the hill above with superb views.The bedrooms are spacious+beautifully decorated.There are also LCD tv's with the full Sky package.The owners(whose names escape me,sorry guys)couldn't be nicer+don't be afraid if you pull up outside +see a big Alsation.Her name's Amy and she's a big softie(interesting how we remember the dog's name)!! I've never seen a more laden down breakfast table + the haggis was wonderful.Stay here.You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz330ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

What a lovely little guesthouse this is! Set just off Callander's main street, this is such a find that I almost didn't write a review on it for fear of others finding this gem!

The Knowe is a small guesthouse with just 5 rooms, but each one of them is scrupulously clean, spcaious, wonderfully and tastefully decorated, with great views over the hills and the town itself. Each bedroom has Sky digital TV (a very nice touch!) and a small fridge if you fancy bringing a bottle back to your room after an evening stroll! Bathrooms are immaculate also, with a fantastic power shower. Breakfasts are superb, some of the best we've ever had. I'm just sorry that by that stage on our trip, we'd had more than our fair share of cooked breakfasts so didn't try it but it looked delicious!

Our hosts, Ashleigh and Rae, were welcoming and friendly, as was their lovely dog! Rae keeps up the patter at breakfast time and certainly has the gift of the gab!

I would recommend The Knowe to anyone, it's a lovely place to stay and we'll definitely be back!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Telboy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#2 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glengarry Guest House
Glengarry Guest House
#6 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knowe

Property: The Knowe
Address: The Knowe Ancaster Road | Perth, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knowe 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Knowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knowe Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing