We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent base to explore the area”
other travelers have booked this property
French doors lead to fully enclosed rear garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
French doors lead to fully enclosed rear garden
House has two exclusive parking spaces Spacious and airy living space with ample seating for six
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
French doors lead to fully enclosed rear garden
House has two exclusive parking spaces
Spacious and airy living space with ample seating for six
Plenty of space for six diners
Explore the local area
Contemporary and generous king bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite with large shower
Elegant double bedroom
Modern and sunny twin bedroom overlooking rear garden
Family bathroom with shower
Modern and well equipped kitchen
Welcome to Calasraid!
Nearby Loch Venacher
Dramatic Ben Ledi towering over Callander
Ben Venue overlooking Loch Venacher
Hairy Heilan' Coo are plentiful in this area
Bracklin Falls in Callander
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
TheFairLa...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent base to explore the area”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of four adults and stayed at Calasraid for a week. The property itself was roomy, well equipped, comfortable and quiet - and spotlessly clean. The house is about a mile from the centre of Callander and so the restaurants and shops are in easy walking distance - though parking in Callander also wasn't a problem in April. From Callander we visited Stirling, Loch Lomond, Pitlochry and Fort William as well as the Trossachs national park itself - all eminently possible as day trips by car. Edinburgh and Glasgow would also be easy to visit for the day, either driving or by train from Stirling. An excellent house in an excellent base for exploring Scotland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking time to provide a review

Lovely to hear you managed to visit and see so much of the area. The town of Callader does lend itself well to exploring so much of Scotland.

So pleased you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesG588...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Calsraid is located in a very quiet part of Callender, it had everything we needed and more. As soon as we opened the door we felt right at home, there was nothing we could have added to enhance the property, it was lovely. The grandkids, loved going the "back way" to Callender, they thought we were going on a hunt. lol. Thank you very much Wendy for all the effort you have put into making your guests feel right at home, we loved it and hope to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. I really made me smile when I read it. My hope is always that guests enjoy the area and feel relaxed and at home when staying at Calasraid. I am so pleased you loved it and we would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari516...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property, lovely area”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Callander and the surrounding area is well worth exploring at any time of year. This particular property gives great access to many different walks and things to do. The house itself is nicely presented, with modern furnishings and good fixtures/fittings. Everything was provided and a few extras; I would suggest the kitchen is one of the best stocked I've had in any rental property. If I could change anything then the mattress in the main bedroom could be a little more comfortable but thats a personal preference. We had a lovely week away, great communication from the owner and I would recommend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thank you for taking time to provide a lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed the local area. Every season provides a different outlook and it is something I always appreciate.

I am really happy you found the kitchen well stocked. I tried to provide everything I would hope to find.

I really appreciate your comments about the. mattress. It is very difficult to gauge what preference people have.

Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camper679...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High Standard very comfortable well equipped holiday accommodation.”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Calasraid was very easy to find and we were delighted with the very generous welcome pack supplied. The property is very spacious well equipped and maintained to a high standard.

We enjoyed exploring the beautiful surroundings. We strongly reoommend a sail on the Sir Walter Scott which sails on Loch Katrine. The staff were a very happy crew who looked after everyone extremely well.
On our return from our day at Loch Katrine we sat in the garden with a glass of the Prosecco from the welcome pack and watched squirrels in the pine trees .... sheer bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calasraid was so well equipped it felt like home from home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed the welcome pack and especially happy that the squirrals pppped out to say hello as your enjoyed some bubbles.

Also pleasedd to hear you enjoyed the sailing on Loch Katrine. We are very blessed to have such beautiful scenery in the area. I have experienced the friendly staff first hand and you are not the first guest to compliment.


Thanks again and would love to welcome you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHF58
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Fresh Accommodation”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed with a mixed group of family and friends including octogenarians and a 5 year old. The house suited all our needs, was very well equipped and had great parking for at one point 3 cars! It was good to find 'staples' like herbs/spices/condiments/oil in the cupboard and a welcome pack. It is well located for walking into Callander. I do wish I had discovered the scenic path into town to the rear of the houses earlier instead of using the main road. My fault for not reading the welcome guidance pack! There is also a handy SPAR at the nearby petrol station for morning rolls and newspapers. There were DVDs and some games and toys to keep all amused when it rained.

Callander itself is a nice wee tourist town and great base for wider exploration of the Trossachs. We went to Loch Venacher and had a lovely lunch at Venacher Lochside then visited The Lodge at Queen Elizabeth Forest and Aberfoyle. Both the oldies and the 5 year old enjoyed Blair Drummond Safari Park, driving through the reserves with lions, lioncubs and the more intimidating rhinos!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thank you for such a kind review. I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed some of my favourite places. You cannot beat the views of Loch Vennacher from the Lochside. Also lovely to hear that you all enjoyed the safari park. I will never tire of it and you can't beat it on a sunny day.

It would be lovely to see you back.

Thanks Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, spacious accommodation on the edge of town; an easy stroll to the high street.
Simple key collect system allows you to arrive at any time. Very nice an useful welcome pack.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No disappointments
Liked least: We were only staying for a short break
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Hi Ralph,

I really appreciate you taking the time to provide such a kind review. You are too kind.

Hope to see you back in the future.

Warmest Regards

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

An excellent property, ideally situated within walking distance of the town centre of Callander, and plenty of walking and fishing nearby, lovely drives over the Trossachs to Aberfoyle and the Lake of Menteith , the highlands are also only a leisurely drive.
The Property is exceptionally clean and contains everything you require for a comfortable stay, the owner obviously takes pride in contacting you on the day of arrival to see that you have settled in and if you need any further assistance.
I would highly recommend this property no matter what your holiday itinerary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
I am so pleased you enjoyed the house and even happier to hear you appreciated the local scenery.

Thank you for your lovely review and it would be nice to see you back sometime.

Thanks Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing