We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Leny Estate North Wing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leny Estate Self-Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Just returned from a short family (2 adults + 2 kids, 5 and 8) holiday in the North Wing at Leny Estate. The standard of accommodation was first class, very well maintained and spotlessly clean. Internally the house was very well appointed with beautiful furniture and furnishings with lovely ornaments and books which made it feel very homely, which was matched by a warm welcome by the staff and residents of the main house.
The house is set in a fantastic spot, with beautiful views and open space on the estate, about a half mile away from the main road to Callander. We found lots to do and see in the Trossachs area, with Blair Drummond Safari park, a firm favourite with the kids, only 15 minutes drive away. We also enjoyed a boat trip on Loch Lomond and a day in Glasgow which is an hour's drive away. There is a great pub with great real ales (Lade Inn) and a 'woollen mill' souvenir shop with highland cattle a few minutes walk away, plus some good cycling opportunities a bit further in the forest parks and around lochs, especially Katrine. All in all, we'd highly recommend the Leny estate and we're not easily pleased!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 91 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

Just returned from our stay at leny estates ferguson log cabin, which was absolutely immaculate, lovely inside and a wonderfull view from the decking. If you fancy a log cabin break these are the elite. The welcome from staff is excellent and all round service is the best.
So dont book the rest attend the best!!!!

Alan jackosn Carluke Lanarkshire

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacnymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Spent a full weekend in one of the six fully equipped lodges on the estate and was very impressed. Welcomed on site and shown to our lodge. Fully equipped with everything you would need. Two couples in our party but the lodge would comfortably sleep six. Spacious and warm. Beautiful walk into the village from the estate itself and a full list of attractions supplied on arrival. Would definitely recommend for either quiet relaxing break or busy sight seeing holiday...Views were fabulous and awoke to find two beautiful red deer stags grazing at the front door....

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnieNLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed in the North wing of the castle for New Year and had a fabulous time. The self catering accommodation was just perfect in every way; stunning 4 poster bed, traditional victorian style bathroom and a beautiful medieval hall with oak paneling and open log fire. The owners have clearly gone to lengths to make you feel special during your stay at the Leny estate. Our friends stayed in a couple of lodges on the estate and by all accounts they had an equally relaxing and enjoyable stay.

The location is great for outdoor activities such as hillwalking with Ben Ledi a short walk away from the estate. We also managed a couple of trips to the Lade Inn, to sample their locally brewed ales; The Lade Back being my personal favourite.

We always make a point of going away for New Year with the same group of friends and i have to say this is probably our most relaxing and memorable trip to date.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesWright01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

we stayed for a weekend with family and from the moment we drove up the drive we were blown away by the beauty of the lodge and its surroundings. The lodge was amazing and beautifully furnished with all mod cons. it is very peaceful and a great place for relaxing and unwinding but also a great base as there is so much to do in the surrounding area.
I got to preview the north wing and orchard cottage and wow!!!!!
I would highly recommend Leny estate and will definitly be returning early next year

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorna_wallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

....no, definitely is the best in the world! We stayed for 3 days in the newly refurbished 'Orchard Cottage' and were blown away by every aspect. Truly amazing and without doubt the most relaxing break ever had. All elements of the cottage exceeded expectations - very clean, comfortable, spacious, warm (amazing log burner!), high spec equipment/utensils/crockery etc. throughout. Beautiful views around the Leny Estate and so peaceful. If you want peace and quite in 5 Star self catering facilities then this is it. Thoroughly recommend and will absolutely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheTartanTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I booked two lodges with the rest of the family in June. We had a lovely time, the estate itself is really well kept with some huge ancient trees, the kids spent most of the holiday in a 'den' they had made and had an absolute ball.

The decks attached to the lodges are great for barbeques with outdoor seating. The interior of the lodges are welcoming, warm and comfortable. Also as it's walking distance to Callander you get the best of both worlds, the peace of the countryside with the amenities of Callander close at hand. Top Tip: try one of the pies from Mhor bakery in the town, delicious.

Heartily reccommend Leny estate and look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hils79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
1.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 34 in Callander
341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leny Estate Self-Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leny Estate Self-Catering

Address: Leny House, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Callander
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Callander in the heart of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Leny Estate offers luxury 4 star rated self-catering log cabins, Victorian Cottages and a 5 star Castle Suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leny Estate Self-Catering Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing