We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dalgair House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Airdrie. Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay.”
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for Valetine's weekend 2006. We are a young couple in our 20s. We went fri-sun and was only £100 including breakfast.
The hotel was fantastic and very central to everything, there was hotel parking around the back of the hotel which was safe enough especially when you want the car to be ok. There was loads of places you could travel to aswell. The staff were great and really nice and friendly. When we booked into the hotel and was given the key we went to the room and there was heart shaped chocs waiting for us on arrival and the room was lovely and warm. After being in the room for around 10mins there was a knock on the door and the staff brung up a fresh rose with horns on it as part of the weekend. That was nice. Our room had 1 double and 1 single bed and looked out onto the path into the pub. We went to the pub a few times over the weekend, but also tried other ones through Callander. The people were nice and the karaoke that was on was really goood fun aswell. We have stayed in a number of hotels throughout Scotland and other countries and this hotel would defanetly be in our top 3. The only noise we heard was when the pub was closing and everyoine was going home, other than that we heard nothing. It was a peaceful and really romantic weekend.

Will defanetly be going back to the hotel.

  • Liked — Mainly everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vicky_alan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    17
    28
    24
See reviews for
26
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Myself and my partner stayed for 3 nights over the New Year period. This was the third time we have stayed in this hotel. We paid £300 for the 3 nights including dinner and breakfast which we felt was great value considering what some other hotels were charging over New Year.

We have both travelled to many places all over the world and have stayed in some beautiful hotels and both would thoroughly reccomend this hotel. Whilst the decor may not be fantastic, the room was clean, warm and had everything we needed.There was lots of hot water (there`s a lever to change the temperature of the water) and the shower powerful.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff, we found them to be really friendly and very obliging and even shared a few drinks with some of them. We didnt feel just like a number and the service was very personal. The manager/owner, we found to be very friendly too and even cooked us something which wasnt on the menu any more when we mentioned we had had it on a previous visit and enjoyed it. The food was suberb and the portions huge, so much so we had real trouble in even remotely finishing the main courses never mind dessert!
We had a fantastic New Year and shall definetely be returning!

  • Liked — The staff and the food
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk - Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

my partner and i booked the hotel for 2 nights (dec 31 - 2nd jan). we got quoted £100 for the 2 nights for the two of us on the phone the night before so we went ahead and booked up. when we got to the hotel the manager (who was not nice at all) then told us it was £200. when we got our room key from the bar we walked upstair to our room. it was smelly and the decor was terrible. we got into the room and it smelt so musty. the bedding didnt even match in the twin room we got and the bathroom curtains didnt even meet!! the hotel room was dirty and horrible. we sat in the room for half an hour. we could hear everything the people were saying next door and it was VERY noisey. i couldent stay at that hotel any longer so we went and spoke to the manager. he told us if we stay or not we were getting charged the £200. (that was not the price we got quoted) we tryed telling the manager this but he was having none of it. so we left the hotel and returned home. it was a waste of time and petrol.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rekkie, Owner at Dalgair House Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
The client stated a family member was ill and had to leave yet she was within our cancellation policy. All was fully and politely explained and the client just didn't want to pay, the rest is fabrication due to the client not getting their own way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Callander hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

This hotel was a chav palace....I'll keep my review short. Dont stay here, on my first visit to the bar toilet I was greeted by a wannabe casual wearing a fake stone island top and cap! He proceeded to chant "COME AND HAVE A GO WITH THE CALLANDER AGGRO"....now I had to stop myself from laughing as there was about another 5 of his cronies in the bar, but as I was with my girlfriend thought it was out of order. There are plenty of nice places in Callander, unfortunately this isn't one!

  • Liked — The Exit
  • Disliked — Local chavs at bar area
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Toastrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We ( myself 27 & fiance 30 ) stayed her for one night in February of this year for a one-night break to get away from it all.

On arriving at the hotel, there is no parking ( or if there was, it was not sign-posted & no staff advised otherwise ) and if anyone is familiar with Callander, you'll know that the very narrow main road is packed with cars. Eventually, after driving up and down for about 20 minutes, we managed to get parked about 200 yards from the hotel.

You enter the hotel into what is the bar area. Asked a member of staff for the reception area ( as we thought we had walked into the wrong area for checking in ) and we were directed a cupboard which holds mops, cleaning products etc !! This is the Dalgair's reception !

Member of staff gave us the key to the room and told us it was upstairs, so off we went to locate our room. You exit a door in the bar and go up a narrow set of stairs to the rooms. Looks like the inside of someone's home.

The room in itself was nice enough, looked clean and modern but was absolutely FREEZING !! Scotland in February is not exactly the Bahama's ! No gas central heating in room. Went back downstairs to bar/reception/dining area to ask about heating, 30 minutes later we were given a plug-in electric heater. Suppose it's too much to ask that a hotel heats a room on a freezing cold wintery day prior to their guests arriving ?

As said previously, the room itself was clean, modern and nicely decorated. Wooden-flooring, 2 beds ( 1 double & 1 single ) which were comfortable enough. Colour TV and tea/coffee making facilities included. The small en-suite bathroom was lovely, clean, fresh and modern. Again though, absolutely freezing!

The room is also right above the main bar area so even in the middle of the afternoon the noise was really loud, music from the jukebox etc. We went down to the bar for a drink to discover it was crowded with locals. Now of course, I appreciate this is par for the course. However, when so said locals are all obviously underage chavs wearing tracksuits and caps, hogging the pool table & being loud & obnoxious, then for some I'm sure this could be quite initimidating.

We gave up and ended up going elsewhere in Callander for dinner and tried several other lovely looking hotels along the main drag for drinks during the evening. As the night wore on, I started to dread returning to our hotel ! Unfortunately though, we did have to return eventually where the chav quota seemed to have quadrupled !! Don't expect to have a nice peaceful, romantic time with your loved one here, karaoke and music pounded to well after 2am. Please don't think I'm old before my time, myself and the other half LOVE to party, but when you're expecting some quality time with your partner and some peace away from everyday life for one precious night, and you get nothing remotely like that, then it does get kinda disappointing !

So, next morning, we decided we'd get up, have a shower and head to breakfast in the bar/reception/dining area. There seems to be a recurring them at this hotel - freezing coldness ! Absolutely NO hot water from the shower ( btw, no bath - only a shower ) and we let it run for 10 - 15 minutes. So that was that! Had enough & decided to go home for a hot shower and a decent breakfast, didn't fancy sampling the delights when saw the member of staff who would be cooking it !! lol

I would NOT recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a peaceful break away from it all. However, if you're looking to mix with the local chav population, then this is for you !!!

  • Liked — The room was nicely decorated
  • Disliked — FREEZING !!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank UkScottishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

Went here for a few days break with my husband, and would NEVER go back. There was no reception, staff were scruffy and not neat dressed. The place was in DESPERATE need of redecorating. The whole hotel looked as if it was stuck in a 1980's timewarp. There was a "musty" smell throughout the whole place. Went down for breakfast the first morning we were there and my husband thought the fried egg was a joke egg!!! It looked, felt and tasted like rubber.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honey40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
15.5 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalgair House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalgair House Hotel

Property: Dalgair House Hotel
Address: 113-115 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FKI7 8BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dalgair House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Dalgair House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalgair Hotel Callander
Dalgair House Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing