We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smallest room beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Roslin Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roslin Cottage
Ranked #13 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Smallest room beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked in to stay for one night. We booked the rosilyn because it had a good review on trip advisor. We were due to check in at 3pm but received a text to say we would have to check in at 4pm because the owner had other things to do. We weren't to bothered but it was raining so we just sat and waited in the car. When we got to the Rosilyn there was a strong smell of stale curry. We were taken upstairs to our room and were left speechless at the size and decor. For the money we weren't expecting much but it was the smallest double bed I've seen, I'm 5'11 and my fiancé is a size 8 and only 5'4". There was no room to put our bag, and you could only just walk around the bed. Very old bed, mattress and decor. The en suite was as dated and needed a good clean. We decided to leave there and then. We still had to pay as the contract says we have to, a bit mean considering it was not acceptable as a double room. Some people may be happy with this room but it's seriously too small.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ripcurlgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roslincottage, Owner at Roslin Cottage, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We appreciate when guests take time to leave a review with helpful comments. However in this case some of the comments made are not true. We accept that this is a small room and have always made this clear in our information, in fact we have since added the bed dimensions which is 4 feet wide by 6 feet long.
On this occasion I had contacted the guest by text asking and I quote 'Hello.... Do you know when u will check in today at Roslin Cottage? Can it b aftr 4pm pls as I have to take daughter to get train? Thanx Lucy' The reply was 'Yes that's fine,....'
That day it was particularly wet driving back from Glasgow on the Motorway so it was 4.10 when I arrived home where I met the guests at the door and showed them to their room. The windows had been closed as we had been away all day so there may have been a cooking smell. This is our home too.
The comments on cleanliness of the ensuite, decor and age of the bedroom furniture are simply not acceptable. In our Quality Assurance inspection from 12 June it states ' The wet wall in Cherryview's bathroom is extensive and well fitted. The heated towel rail is sensible and the fact you have other towel and shelf space available are thoughtful touches to steal space in a compact bathroom. Quality shower door and tray and the smaller basin in proportion to the space available. Great to see such bright lighting in all three ensuites.'
'Cleanliness of all bedrooms, bathrooms, dining area and public areas is of an overall exceptional (5 Star) standard'
The report also gave some helpful comments on how we could maximise the space in this room even further which Sid and I will do over the winter months.
Finally it was only by chance that I found the guests had decided not to stay with us when I went upstairs with some milk to find their room door open and the keys in the lock. We were given no opportunity to discuss the issues they have commented upon in their review and try to resolve them between us nor the payment due. They did send a text to say they had decided to keep travelling North but I had left my phone in the car in my rush to meet them on arrival so did not get that text until much later that night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    28
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
90
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were lucky enough to return to Lucy & Sid's cottage. The "home from home" mentality really comes accross here. Still loved the room, quietness, books on the landing & breakfast! Don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed! :-)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HildeJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I only had time to stay for one night at Roslin Cottage at the end of our holiday. Lucy and Sid were very accommodating. Everything you needed was to hand, (including a hairdryer). Breakfast was around a large table with other guests, with plenty of choices, Sid cooked a very tasty breakfast.
Roslin Cottage is within 10-15 mins walking distance from the centre and is along the main road. We had roadworks outside the bedroom window which made it a little noisey.
I would recommend anyone to stay here when in the area.
Thankyou Lucy and Sid for a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We only had time for one night, but everything about this place is lovely. Would happily stay again. The breakfasts were wonderful and met some really interesting guests at brekkie also. One of the nice things of staying in B&Bs.
Thanks Lucy & Syd.
Frank & Linda, Australia

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you take, Callander is a beautiful place and you'll probably be ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fix-it-franky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently stayed for a couple of nights with Lucy and Sid and found a very warm welcome to greet our arrival.
Nothing was too much trouble for them but was provided with the minimum of fuss.
Breakfast was of the utmost quality and plenty of choices to cater for all tastes.
When in the area would definitely use again.

Room Tip: The Kirtle room overlooks the road at the front but has excellent soundproofing and first class en s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Booked for a 4 night stay in Callander, Roslin Cottage proved to be the ideal base for a relaxing stay. Sid and Lucy's welcome was warm and helpful, with a chat about breakfast (wheat and dairy-free no problem) and a little tour of the cottage with hot drink-making facilities up on the bedroom landing. My room, Cherryview was ideal for me, overlooking the beautiful garden, ensuite with shower and heated towel rail. Guests are also able to use the lounge downstairs. Bed very comfortable and I slept very well. Breakfast is comprehensive: my choices incuded porridge, fruit bowl, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, bacon and there were many other delicious possibilities all freshly cooked. I spent the days walking and cycling in and around Callander; it is a great town, plenty to do and see and it was a pleasure to get back to Roslin Cottage to wind down. I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms are not big as this is a cottage but all are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed at Roslin Cottage for three nights in May 12 as part of a wider walking trip to Scotland.

The room we stayed in was very small however is compensated for in other areas. Breakfast was fantastic - full cooked Scottish was one of the best I have had, however there are a wide range of alternatives available (we also had smoked haddock and kedigree, which were both very nice).

The owners are extremely helpful (good knowledge of the area) and friendly, and their whole house is open for guests, including a spacious lounge and a lovely garden.

Little touches like DVD's to watch in the room, a range of books and a wide range of teas and coffees made this a wonderful stay also.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger_bob85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ben A'an House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Cottage

Property: Roslin Cottage
Address: Roslin Cottage Lagrannoch | Stirling Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roslin Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roslin Cottage B&B sits at the east gateway to Callander, a great base for exploring Loch Lomond and the Trossachs, Scotland's first National Park. Our stone walled cottage, built in 1700's, now completely renovated with many original features kept has exposed beams in the lounge with open log fire. Kirtle bedroom too has exposed stone wall and whirlpool bath en-suite. Cherryview our small double room (can be a single) overlooks our tranquil garden. No gardening duties included. Ben Ledi room, can have cot or small bed for 1 child added. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Generous traditional Scottish breakfast cooked by resident chef Sid. Special diets (with notice appreciated). We aim to make our home your home throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Roslin Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roslin Cottage Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing