We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really excellent small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We received a very warm welcome and everything possible was done to ensure our comfort. Our superior rooms were very spacious with seating areas and good-quality bathrooms. The location on the main road means that there is a little traffic noise, but not sufficient to disturb our sleep at all.

The restaurant is outstanding. The "Early Bird" menu was included in our Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate and although we could have paid a supplement for dishes from the a la carte menu, we did not need to as there was plenty of choice. The dishes were really imaginative and beautifully presented, and worthy of any gourmet restaurant with much higher prices.

The newly-wood-floored bar and restaurant, and the beautiful local oak woodwork of the new bar, are very smart - and John's collection of malt whiskies made us wish we could have stayed laonger!

All the staff we encountered were superb. We shall definitely hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneinCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 297 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Poppies for two nights and wished it could have been a longer stay. We received a very warm welcome. Both John and Susan (the owners) and their staff were all very helpful and were always available to offer assistance if required. Our room was very light, airy and spacious. The newly refurbished bar area has been beautifully decorated with a lot of attention to detail. It is a warm place to relax for a drink after a day out sightseeing or for an apperitif before dinner. We only ate in the restaurant for one of our nights but wish we had eaten there for both evenings. The menu offers a good choice of food which is beautifully presented and tastes delicious. We were delighted to have found this little gem and hope to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackinjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

After reading the reviews, we were very excited about staying at Poppies Hotel. However, when we arrived at London Heathrow, after flying overnight from Chicago, we were told the Scottish airspace was closed due to volcano ash. We spent several hours at the airport trying to find another way to travel to Scotland. British Air said they had arranged a motor coach, so we waited in line for about an hour and no bus arrived. Then we looked into taking a train, but that didn't work out. So, at around 3:00 P.M. we decided to rent a car and drive to Scotland. We called Poppies at that time and told them what were were doing and that we would still try to get there that night. They said that was fine and to let them know before 6:00 P.M. if we thought we would be unable to get there.
After finding our way out of London and traveling for a while, we were just exhausted from being up for over 36 hours. The trip was taking longer than we anticipated, so we decided to stop somewhere in England and resume our drive the next day in the daylight. Being unfamiliar with the roads, we didn't want to attempt driving in the dark. We called Poppies at 4:30 P.M. and told them we would not be able to make it there. They said they understood and would not charge us. We were very pleased with that and said we would hope to visit them on another trip.
However, when we arrived back home in Illinois, and reviewing our VISA bill, Poppies charged us for the night anyway. After several emails back and forth, Poppies said they thought is was possible for us to make the journey, and would not remove the charge on our VISA. We are very unhappy about what happened and do not think they acted in a professional manner.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank zzephyrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We had a 2 night stay in Poppies for my mums 75th birhday. What a beautiful chilled out weekend! The management and staff were a delight!. My mum and dad both had a marvellous time and loved their spacious, extremely comfy bedroom. The food was delicious; both the lovely choice at breakfast and our dinner in the resaurant.
I would like to thank the the management for their incredible hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

My husband wanted to treat me to a night out and chose Poppies from a web search. We have often gone past it and thought how picturesque it looked. And we were not disappointed, From the moment we stepped into the lounge we were given a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. A three course meal that was worthy of a fine dining meal cost us only £16.00 each. Delicious food and lovely coffee to round it off. The dining room itself was spotlessly clean and well decorated and the staff attentive but not intrusive. Just what you need on a romantic night out. We will definately be going again and have booked for Sunday lunch. We can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkinwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Spent 3 nights and had a great stay. Room was spacious and clean. Bar area has recently been refurbished in light oak and gives a bright airy feeling. Food in restaurant is fresh and great value with a breakfast that will keep you going for most of the day. This is the second year we have stayed here and would not hesitate to return. Worth stopping to have a meal even if not staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesmahagow_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We booked the holiday via telephone in advance and had to struggle to get the reduced price for 4 or more nights as advertised on their own website. It seemed that the staff was not aware of their own tarif. However, eventually we got the room for the advertised price. Not the best start to be honest - please be aware. On arrival we were shown the room which was clean but still showed the sad towelholder allready mentioned in a review from one year ago in February 2009. The previous review writer wrote >> Our superior room,was a bit stuck in the 1960's and there was a sad looking stainless steel towel holder in the bathroom,that had seen much better days. << We totally have agree with comment but in the meantime it's not just sad looking but also full of rost and basically unusable. Hard to believe that the hotel is not prepared to replace such an item, which is worse hardly anything.
The bar provides a reasonable amount of alcoholic and non alcoholic drincs but please be aware, should you wish a cool drought pint after a long drive, you will need to go elsewhere. The bar provides you only with tinned or bottled beer, which you might as well buy at any local supermarket.
Inside the bar, the landlord's daughter occupied constantly the only reasonably useful table with her paperwork spread out and doing some sort of work on her computer. This is not really the ambiente for holiday makers and I am not sure why she was not able to use their private rooms for her work. If we wanted to make holiday in an office , we clearly wouldn't needed to come to the Poppies!
However the worst was the attitude, ignorance and rudeness of the landlady. We requested access to the wifi as advertised. We were given the wrong access code, which by no means can happen. We requested to be given a code which will work and were basically told that this would be the code and if doesn't work their is nothing what can be done. It was only when we challenged the Landlady, that she came up to our room and provided us with the correct access. Apologee ?? No, the Landlady did not even managed that.
Please be aware that the 'hotel' is on the Main Road, just in case you have a light sleep.
In summary, yes the hotel is clean, in a good position but sadly rather unfriendly and in the need of urgent updating. Would I recommend it, propably not. We ourself found a lovely place nearby and would defenitely never return to the Poppies.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UkTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
269 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
133 reviews
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range: $108 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing