We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely friendly hotel great night had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
montrose
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely friendly hotel great night had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

there were 8 of us on our xmas night out from montrose,
Very friendly staff room lovely and comfortable. Food was great one of the best meals i have had. Wine was really nice to. lovely breakfast served on hot plates which was lovely.

Thanks again for a great stay at ur hotel john and susan will definatly recommend the hotel and will def be back ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    59
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
172
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed for 2 days and wished it was for a week. John and Susan made us feel at home when we arrived and for the whole of our stay, Its a great location for touring Loch Lomond and the Trossachs. Poppies hotel is conveniently close to the high street for leisurely shoppinfg or browsing. Don't miss 'Nutcracker' the Christmas shop - open all year round. The food at Poppies was imaginative with locally sourced ingredients.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

Clean and comfortable room, friendly staff, a well prepared and presented early evening dinner and a hearty breakfast all at a reasonable price. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

Poppies hotel was one of the better hotels during our Scotland journey. Great rooms, they announced bathroom of our room would be renovated, but yet in this state it was a lot better than in some of our previous hotels. Rest of the room was elegantly designed, demonstrating good taste. Beds were of good quality.
Staff in the restaurant was friendly and professional. Food was good. Wine was not so good.
Was raining very hard during our very short stay, so could not judge Callander and surroundings very well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlaming68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

Our party of 13 unanimously voted this the best hotel during our tour of Scotland in classic MG cars. The welcome was excellent. Rooms varied greatly in size and amenties but all were exceptionally clean , comfortable and quiet. The bar and restaurant service was charming and attentive and the standard of cuisine lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dowdyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

Spent 3 nights over the East Weekend in this lovely friendly small hotel. Rooms clean and food excellent. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

My friend and I stayed in Room 9, a twin room, right beside reception. It was very nicely decorated, modern and very clean. Small bathroom but did the job fine! The restaurant is well worth a visit. The food was absolutely delicious and we didn't leave feeling bloated or skint! The owners are lovely and the service is relaxed and unpretentious. very much recommend this hotel, and I'll definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piperpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing