We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Aberfoyle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short Break”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Just enjoyed a dinner bed and breakfast break here in The Poppies. It is a gorgeous hotel full of character with a friendly welcome from the owners.
The bedroom was warm and comfortable with a great king bed. Lots of hot water and smellies for a relaxing bath before dinner.
The restaraunt is nicely set up with an excellent choice from the menu and a good wine list.
There is also an extensive malt whiskey selection to choose from following the beautiful meal.
Breakfast was equally as good with a good choice to set you up for the day.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and restaraunt .

Room Tip: Our room nos 7 at the front with a good size bed and bathroom. There is a pretty view of the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    64
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
179
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
351 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

First night on the road after leaving Edinburgh - this is a super location on the main road, but very nice and not noisy. The managers/owners are delightful and made us feel good about our choice to stay with them. The dinner was also excellent as was the service. It is nice to be able to walk directly into town to stretch one's legs after touring elsewhere. We would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: We thought our room was great and well fitted-out with modern fixtures, en suite, etc.. It apperas t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Sue was heroically unperturbed at our arriving at 1 am after a delayed flight. She and John made us welcome and gave excellent advice on places to visit as October storms lashed the Southern Highlands (and my hopes of a late season round of Munros). Make sure you have a meal in the excellent restaurant, and preferably dine in more than once in order to sample a range of desserts. Then walk next door to the bar and ask John to recommend one of his superlative collection of Single Malts - the Old Pulteney or the Scapa are a couple of good choices!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickDown_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We were taken to Poppies by relatives who use the restaurant on a regular basis. Very nice place, lovely bar with a wonderful selection of whiskies and a warm welcome. Meal was lovely, ambiance in the restaurant very easy, well looked after the whole evening. Hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carojohn139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

John and Susan who run the hotel are a lovely couple. The rooms are very well decorated and have all the amenities you need. The best part of the hotel is the Restaurant. The food is fab and wouldn't be out of place in a swankey London Restaurant.
Definately a place to stay if your in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Unique hotel with very friendly service and excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulusAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in a double room. The hotel is clean and pleasant but our room was very small. The en suite had a sliding door and was tiny. The room itself was clean but far too small. We were in room 5. My parents had room 5 which is more a family room with a double and a single bed and was much bigger. Had I been staying for longer than 1 night I would have looked for alternative accommodation. There are much better value for money good places to stay in Callander. The breakfast was good and evening meals very nice, good early bird budget menu.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macca28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
258 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
128 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing