We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auchenlaich Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2010

stayed here for 4 nights,we had room 5 upstairs. I do agree the location is nice and quiet, but quite a walk, longer if you come back using the road. If you get offered rooms 4 or 5 do not stay, they are not en-suite and the bathrooms are not private. The bathroom we was allocated was not as we had been told right next to the room. there is no heating in the bathroom and after getting out of the shower it is cold. The seperate toilet is shabby and has no hot water and the basin is loose,this to me is a serious health problem having no hot water to clean your hands.
The room although large has nowere to dry your hair and no dressing table. The window frames need a good clean as does the bathroom.
Breakfast, you have to be quick, before you have eaten your cereal or porridge(yes it is nice) your full english breakfast will arrive and left on the table to go cold as you quickly try to finish eating. Breakfast is at a set time that you decide the night before inconvenient if you want to change your plans.
The beds and the floors creak like mad. Could not see any smoke alarms

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoventryTriumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

We booked to stay here because the owners were happy for us to bring our dog with us. He slept in our room and impressed Rita so much - she didn't even know he was there as he was so quiet!

This B&B is set in a lovely farm steading, which at this time of the year has lambs and ducklings and goslings - nature all around! We parked at the B&B and didn't move our car for the whole stay - the town centre of Callander is approx. 15mins walk away.

Our room was large and very comfortable, with bathrobe and hairdryer for me, tea & coffee facilities in the room, a tv and dvd/video player (there is a library of books, DVDs and videos for you to to choose from). Although our room was not en-suite, the bathroom was large and there were plenty of toiltetries and soft, fluffy towels for our use.
All the bedrooms are large and some are ensuite.

There is a good selection for breakfast - from Bill's famous home-made porrige (which my husband enjoyed) to the full Scottish breakfast (which we both enjoyed!). For those with smaller appetites, there was scrambled eggs with various accompaniments if you wanted (smoked salmon, for example), or just a croissant with preserves.
Fresh fruit and cereals are help youself, as is fruit juice and milk; Rita quickly serves you with tea or coffee and lots of toast! The dining room is very comfortable.

There is also a conservatory lounge area - with very comfy sofas and a big TV, which has satellite tv, should you want to watch anything - that's if you can draw your eyes away from the view of the lovely garden and picturesque panorama of forest and Ben Leddy in the background.

We will most definitely return to this hotel - Rita & Bill could not have been more helpful - they have many returning guests, whom they treat like family - and the whole house has a warm inviting feel, which made us happy that this place was ideal for a visit to Callander.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuropeanTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Four of us booked this very last minute for New Year. Was absolutely fabulous! Rita and Bob were the perfect hosts and we enjoyed every minute of it - from the beautiful scenery to the amazing food. Cannot recommend this gem highly enough!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Rita and Bill made use feel very welcomb from the time we arrived. I would recommend this guest house for anyone visiting the Trossachs. Just brilliant and honest people.
Thank you both
From A & G

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Easy to find, excellent location, warm and friendly welcome. We would recommend having an evening meal here - the food was top class. The hosts were very family friendly. Relaxed atmosphere - we would definately recommend this farmhouse and will be returning if visiting this part of Scotland again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aammBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

This was the 5e turn that we by Bill and Rita stayed the night. This turn 3 nights. Bill and Rita its dreadfully hospitable. The rooms are large and foresee of all eases. Shower and toilet are clean, large and nicely. The breakfast and dinner that through Bill is looked after is excellent; a great cook !! Each turn it as if we appears come home. We come certainly back again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paris1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

First class service with very comfortable room set in a great location. Meals were very tasty served in a comfortable dining room with a very nice lounge next door.

Would have preferred the room to be a bit cooler as it was difficult to sleep at night due to the heat.

Overall enjoyed the stay in this guest house which is very central for touring in the trossachs. Some great walks nearby and not too far from Callander for shopping etc.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pettraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
1.7 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#2 of 34 in Callander
339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westcot Bed & Breakfast
Westcot Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 34 in Callander
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 34 in Callander
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
443 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchenlaich Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchenlaich Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: Keltie Bridge, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range: $79 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchenlaich Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are a family friendly traditional guest house with a four star rating from Visit Scotland. We offer free unlimited WiFi and have plenty of private FREE parking for guests.The garden is completly enclosed with play area for children and plenty of walks with spectacular views all around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auchenlaich Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchenlaich Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing