We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westerton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2007

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Westerton, where we experienced the Blue Room and the Green Room.

We completely agree with earlier reviews. The Westerton is a great place to stay! The rooms are large, homely and clean, making for a relaxing atmosphere.

Mike and Lesley are very conscientious hosts, and this shows in the attentive manner with which they treat all their guests and also in the way that they have restored the house.

We really do wish that we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petertracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Westerton Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 330 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2007

My husband and I have been living in the UK for the past three months and have stayed in quite a few great bed and breakfasts, and I can tell you that not one even comes close to the Westerton.

To begin, it is a beautiful old home set right on one of the rivers connecting the lochs of the Trossachs National Park in Callander. You walk in and the breakfast room is on your left and it is just lovely. There are three tables draped in white linens, and adorned with full place settings and vases of white calla lillies overlooking the garden and river. As well, there is a lovely big white sofa to sit and have tea by the fire in the afternoons. The breakfast was delicious and I always left a little too full!

We stayed in the "Gold Room" and it was just perfect. It was a very big and spacious room with a REAL king sized bed with a great Victorian bed frame. The linens were beautiful and white with down-like pillows and covered by a beautiful gold, Victorian style comforter. We had a huge window overlooking the garden, two chairs to sit in, a lovely big wardrobe, and a big TV with DVDs and satallite television. As well, the bathroom was very large with a bath and shower. Our big, white, fluffy towels were tied in a gold ribbon and waiting for us on our bed when we arrived. As well, the toiletries were fabulous. I am not one to ever use hotel toiletries or take them home, but I fell in love with the brand they use and want to purchase them for my home. Lastly, the carpet was very clean and freshly vaccumed each day.

The location is amazing. Callander is a really cute town in itself with several great restaurants (we recommend Poppie's and the Lade Inn for a Saturday night of folk music), but it is also only about 15 miles from another cute town called Aberfoyle. There is the most breath-taking drive between Callander and Aberfoyle that is about 17 miles round trip through Loch Venachar, Loch Achray, Loch Drunkie, and Loch Katrine with tons of places to stop and hire a sail boat, a bicyle, take nature walks, or even hike. My husband and I recommend hiking Ben An if you feel energetic. The views at the top are incomprable. Basically, the location is perfect. It is only about a hour from Glasgow and an hour and a half from Edinburgh.

Lastly, one of the best parts about the Westerton is the proprietors, Lesley and Mike. I promise you have never met a more lovely couple who truly go out of their way to make you not ever want to leave. Thank you Lesley and Mike for such a fabulous time!

We could not more highly recommend the Westerton. Try and stay longer than you intend because I assure you that you will wish you had when you have to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lylescovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We have just returned from our stay at Westerton and had to add our thoughts on this fantastic B&B. We regularly use Trip Advisor to plan our holidays and were very impressed with the glowing reviews Westerton received. We booked over the phone for 5 nights and left wishing we'd been able to stay much longer!
We were made to feel at home immediately by Mike and Leslie with help with our bags and tea and shortbread brought to our room. Mike and Leslie are fantastically warm and helpful hosts whose attention to detail is evident throughout their lovely home and in the attentive service they provide. We stayed in the Green room for 2 nights and then the Blue room for 3 nights - we also managed a quick look in the Gold room from the landing! The rooms are beautiful in every respect - very comfortable kingsize beds , tea/coffee, TV/ DVD player with complimentary DVDs, lovely bathrooms - the Blue room bathroom is huge , and very tastefully and stylishly furnished. The rooms also offer useful local information about walks, drives and places to eat - we ate at The Callendar Meadows, Poppies and The Roman Camp all of which were superb with Poppies providing excellent value for money . We have travelled all over the world and have stayed at hotels which boast to be among the best in the world - and some rightly so but we left Westerton feeling that we had never been so well looked after anywhere. Mike and Leslie get everything just right in providing their guests with a wonderful and relaxed experience. We very much hope to be returning to Westerton in the not too distant future. Neil Clayton.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neilpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

My husband and I were fortunate to enjoy a five night stay at the Westerton this September, and we left the driveway talking about how and when we could return! From the very beginning, everything about staying at the Westerton was simply delightful. Mike and Lesley are supremely focused on the needs of their customers, and they pay attention to the details. Booking via the internet was a breeze, and we were provided with good driving directions to assist with our arrival. When we pulled into the driveway, Mike greeted us warmly and assisted with our luggage. Lesley generously made tea for us, and we enjoyed this while relaxing on the patio overlooking their lovely garden.

We stayed in the Gold Room, which is warm, comfortable, and spacious. In fact, all of the three bedrooms at the Westerton are very spacious, which is unusual in many B&B's. The bathroom is enormous and stocked with fluffy white towels and toiletries, and I think it may have the hottest shower in Scotland! This was a wonderful treat at the end of the day. The enormous king size bed was, without question, the most comfortable bed that we had on our 2 1/2 week trip.

Breakfasts at the Westerton are incredible as well. Guests fill out a menu each evening, with choices ranging from a full Scottish breakfast with varying accompaniments to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The dining tables are beautifully set with crisp white linens, silver, and china. It is a lovely way to start the day--a good strong cup of tea or coffee, a great breakfast, and a view of their gorgeous garden leading down to the river.

There is much to do in the Trossachs--we visited the Scottish Antiques Center, Stirling Castle, Doune Castle, Inchmahome Priory, Loch Lomond, and several other Lochs in the area. We also hiked to Bracklinn Falls (well worth it!) and a couple of other places. Mike and Lesley know the area well, and provide amazing resources in each room. A large folder with maps and brochures was impressive enough, but they have gone to the trouble of listing their "favorites" in the area...such as "Favorites for a Rainy Day", etc. Additionally, every restaurant that Mike and Lesley recommended was wonderful! Our favorite, hands-down, was Callander Meadows...just a short stroll into town from the B&B. The chef here is very talented, and you will not be disappointed.

Lastly, I should mention that the B&B has wireless internet service, which is something that most hotels do not even provide as a courtesy anymore. This was a huge plus for us, and we used it with our laptop quite often.

Mike and Lesley have done a superlative job of making Westerton into a model B&B. They have done all of the work on the house themselves, and it is a true testament to their talents, taste, and hospitality. We truly left feeling as if we were leaving friends behind, and hope that we are able to return again soon. After all, we ran out of time to go fishing!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank cassiedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We spent 3 lovely nights in the Blue Room at this Callander B&B. Leslie and Mike (the proprieters) couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. The room and the adjoining bathroom are huge with picture windows out to the river below. The entire house has been restored to its 1860s gradeur. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mytiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed in the enormous and opulent Blue Room for 3 nights this summer. On arriving at Westerton we were met with silver service tea and shortbread. It was everything we hoped it would be, and more. Superb attention to detail and impeccably clean. Lesley and Mike were helpful and attentive hosts and their home is splendid. There was a wide choice for breakfast and it was hearty and plentiful. The view from our room of the garden and surrounding hills was an added bonus. Dinner at Callander Meadows a short walk away was first class and The Wave (a selection of desserts recommended by Lesley) was a real treat. In fact, staying at Westerton was a real treat in itself. Highly recommended. Molly and Tony (UK)

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank MollyandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

I can only agree with everything that's been written; this is a very special place. The house and the rooms are tastefully decorated and the beautiful gardens lead down to the river.

Mike and Lesley are wonderful hosts. They recommended a lovely walk by the river to a pub about a mile away (The Lade Inn) which has a good beer garden.

No doubt there are slightly cheaper B&Bs nearby but if you really want to treat yourself for not that much more than you'd pay for somewhere quite average then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank M Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
21.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
269 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#4 of 34 in Callander
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westerton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westerton Bed and Breakfast

Address: Westerton Leny Road | Westerton, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range: $124 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westerton Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Westerton, a relaxed and friendly country house style Bed & Breakfast set in a large riverbank garden at the west end of Callander.  The picturesque Trossachs town of Callander is just a short drive from the historic sites of Stirling and Doune Castle and is an ideal central location to explore and enjoy the stunning scenery of Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park and the Scottish Highlands beyond. Choose from three beautifully inviting guest bedrooms, all exclusively for adults, a perfect place to relax and unwind . . . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westerton Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westerton Bed And Breakfast Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing