We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunchtime portions small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Delight

Spice Delight
Ranked #33 of 44 Restaurants in Callander
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Doune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunchtime portions small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a set menu lunch, but found the portions small and a bit bland, although very freshly cooked. The chicken korma tasted only of coconut. Could do better!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunchtime and evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

walked in for a mid week lunch. Had a great meal - tasty and perfect sized portions. mixing and matching the options from the set menu's was no problem and we had a great conversation with the chef who was covering front of house (really great guy) The chapatti's [sp?] were fantastic and home-made (flaky not doughy) and made the meal with the delicious starters and mains we had.

So good we returned the following evening. As recommended previously - the Himiala chicken was wonderful. the other main was a lamb tikka bhuna and was superb. The mixed pakora and the meat samosa's were really tasty.

wished we could have packed up the restaurant and brought it back to the Isle of Man, where there is nowhere as good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Were running late and found this lovely Nepalese restaurant serving past 10pm. Try the Himalan curry. Spicy and gorgeous.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, United Kingdom
1 review
“delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Excellent food and friendly staff. I am vegetarian and a fussy one at that and love tikka masala sauce and although not on the menu they are always happy to make a vege one for me or anything else is easily adapted and no trouble for them. Friendly owners and staff. My local take away and the best one yet.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vegemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh and fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

First of what I'm sure will be many visits. Food so fresh and tasty. Staff extremely courteous. Owner chatty and couldn't do anymore to make out night. Decor fresh and funky. Great value for money too .

Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Delight also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Spice Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing