We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing out of the ordinary” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mhor Tearoom

Mhor Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Callander
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Called for lunch on a rainy day, the bread, cakes and pies in the shop looked delicious more than I can say for the tearooms very disappointing. Extensive menu maybe I made the wrong choice, coffee rather small for the cost will not be revisiting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    78
    33
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The bread, pies and pastries were a big part of our holiday snacking and meals. Great range of homemade bread and similar range of homemade pies. Pies were particularly delicious and well priced. We could have done with a little more input from staff WHILE WE WERE TRYING TO DECIDE WHAT TO BUY AS THE RANGE WAS ENORMOUS. We felt under pressure as we browsed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pies, shame about the staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My family, and I visit Callander regularly and always pop in to Mhor for steak pies, which are delicious. However, the staff are truly awful. Everything seems to be a bother to them. On our last visit, we brought a friend who was visiting from Liverpool. She had asked for a pie and forgot to ask for it hot. She felt so intimidated by the lady serving that she ate it cold outside rather than risk the ire and frosty face of this most unwelcoming person. This reception seems to be a common occurrence and the owners of this otherwise excellent establishment really should start to read reviews and deal with this. The staff in the tearoom are no better. I would imagine that the majority of the income comes from tourists, so time for a wee staff talk! Definitely no 'welcome in the hillside' here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cssmith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nothing special given its background”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here en route to Monachyle Mhor for breakfast roll and a cup of tea.. Also on way back Sunday for coffee and cake.. The attraction of the bakers shop next door is what pulls you in however there is attention to detail missing in cafe I'd say given the calibre and quality of hotel owned by same family.. Bit tired and lacking imagination.. Caters for tartan shortbread brigade am afraid to say and yet it has same potential market as hotel does.. Bought some pies and bread to take home which were lovely.. Please invest more time in cafe...

Helpful?
Thank jacdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice buns ;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely little tearoom, had a little hot chocolate which was awesome (not too sweet like some). Bustling lay busy and lovely atmosphere. Cakes looked amazing and lovely ingredients used.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mhor Tearoom also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Mhor Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing