We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant

Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British, Scottish, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are now CLOSED for the season, but we look forward to welcoming you back in early spring 2017. Please keep up to date with events via our website or Facebook page.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
893 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is a real pleasant surprise as you drive through the Lochs area. We called in for a late lunch and the place was quite busy, never the less there service was very prompt and helpful and the meal we had was great, recommend.

The signs leading up to the turn off and very close to the turn off, so you need to be prepared for a quick stop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    67
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Quirky tearoom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The building looks like a cross between a village hall and a shed. Nice environment inside. Surprise there weren't many cakes left to choose from at 3.30 although the beetroot cake and lemon meringue cake were very good. They also serve dinner up until 9.30 pm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food - unique location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is far more than a tearoom. In the evening it serves delicious, contemporary food, sometimes with a "quirky" European twist (the Hungarian goulash in a Scottish village!). The owners and staff took great pride in their food, service and historic building.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice tea room and a nice area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

During our stay in Aberfoyle, we took a trip over to Brig o' Turk to have a look at the "Bicycle Tree" which is a tree that has "eaten" a bicycle that was propped against it by a soldier who failed to return from the first world war - this is well worth a look, around half a mile up from the tea room.

After seeing the tree, we went to the tea room for coffee and a cake. The coffee was very good and the cake was excellent. We had the Dobos Torte which is a Hungarian layer cake and highly recommended if it is available during your visit - the chef is from Hungary. The tea room itself has a nice atmosphere with its wood panelling and old photos and artifacts.

The tea room is also a fully licensed restaurant and had some very tempting things on the menu which we didn't have the opportunity to try on this occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank f1alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very friendly and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stopped for a quick beer after a long walk. No problem sir, we'll bring it out to you. Just sit down and rest outside! Great service and recommended by many people locally

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing