We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal in a lovely building”

Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are re-opening for the 2017 season on Friday 24th February at 10am. Our opening hours will be 10-5, every day except Wednesday. Pop in for a lovely bowl of warming soup or Hungarian Goulash for lunch or enjoy a cuppa with some homemade cake. If you prefer to dine in the evening please reserve a table at our newly opened Poppy Seed Restaurant in Poppies Hotel in Callander. Please see our Facebook pages for up to date information.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely meal in a lovely building”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After being on holiday in this area for a week we had driven past this place many times. It does not look much from the outside and we thought that it only served cream teas and coffees. However after spotting a menu we took a look inside. It is a small cosy place so it cannot serve too many people however it also means there are not going to be large rowdy parties. The service was great and they were warm and talkative. The menu is very pleasant and the food tastes lovely. The owners are both Hungarian and so the menu is both Scottish and Hungarian! Great! Really the only improvement that I would make is to expand the dinner menu to account for different tastes. We had not however tried their breakfasts or lunches but the menu looked very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojojojomomo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    75
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Motorcycle tour”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopped there twice on a motorcycle tour of Scotland, very friendly staff, lovely lemon and poppy seed drizzle cake and the bet coffee I've ever had!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k100rs_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Cafe - well worth a visit.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A little gem - great home cooked food and excellent service.
(Wonderful walk from the tea rooms, into and through Brig O Turk, and follow the road right up to a remote reservoir and large dam - very peaceful!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a refreshing stop”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Parked at the community hall and cycled to Loch Katrine for the ferry called in at the tea room on the way back. Excellent choice of drinks food and snacks. Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff. Well worth a visit if you are passing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank veryoldcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on the way to QE Forest park as we knew we could get a cooked breakfast having been a few months prior. The breakfast was excellent and although it took a while to be served we didn't mind as we knew it would be good value and made to order. The black pudding was exceptional, very light and moist and upon enquiring we were told it was Stornoway black pudding. The breakfast was very 'clean' or not too greasy or fatty. It's a cosy tearoom with a nice atmosphere. Very tempted to dine here in the evening given the menus dotted around the walls! We will definitely be back to sample more. Nice sitting outside also but the weather didn't permit on this occasion

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing