We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
carrickfergus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed in Callander last year for a few days and enjoyed some fine food and drink in the Crown hotel (which then was just a public house and restaurant). This year i came back and stayed in the newly refurbished hotel and was delighted. From the moment i arrived i was treated like royalty,the staff were all most helpful and could'nt do enough, the room was superb the food was excellent and made our stay so enjoyable.Cant thank the management and all the staff enough. I was informed i was the first booking the hotel had taken and am delighted to have stayed in this hotel.many thanks to all concerned and will recommend this place to anyone and everyone. hope to return some time in the future and can think of no better place in this location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silbasCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel.
Ishbel, all of the staff and I are privellaged to be of service to such nice people.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you
back in the future.

Haste ye back!

Best regards

Bill & Ishbel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    57
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
136
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

After reading the excellent reviews of The Crown Hotel, we booked a four night stay as a base to explore The Trossachs. Were the staff and owners friendly and welcoming? They were! Was our room beautifully decorated and pristine? It was! Did we enjoythe food? We certainly did! Would you find better value for money in Callander? You wouldn't! Don't waste time wondering about whether or not to stay at The Crown. Just go!

Room Tip: Room 1 is rather small if you have a lot of luggage, as there is little storage. Room 5 is bright an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333JaneT333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
Ishbel and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, you have no idea how much the staff
get a lift from a little bit of praise, thank you so much.
Please do come and stay again, a warm welcome awaits.

Best regards

Bill and Ishbel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stop for food on sat lunch , the food was excellent .
I had beef stroganoff and my partner stew , I have to tell you the taste of the
Food it was unique experience , so good so tasty , clean and simple …we recommend
this little pub for everyone who like food…
Andrew & Clara

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 836AndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, please drop in again and ask for Ishbel or I so we can thank you personally.

Best regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Crown is situated on the main street of Callander. We used it as a base for two nights for walking in the Trossachs/Loch Lomond National Park.

The negatives first.
Our double room was very small. We both had reasonable sized bags for a week in Scotland and there really wasn't enough space in the room for them.
A minor point but even though the door seemed new we had to pull it very hard to close it, resulting in a few loud door bangs!
There is also no on site parking available but we got on street parking across the street very easily both nights.

The room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. We ate both nights in the pub downstairs and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. We were there midweek and the pub was quiet, which suited us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iduap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am sorry that you found the room you were allocated small,
to be fair it was the smallest room of the six doubles we have.
Unfortunatley the room sizes are dictated to where the existing
window openings were when we redeveloped the building as the
planning department regulations would not allow us to move them
(the building goes back to 1740).
That is the main reason we are rated three star and not four.
I must apologise for the problem with the door, it was repaired the
day you left, gladly so as Ishbel and I live right above it!
There is plenty of on street car parking within five mins walk and a
huge council car park just around the corner where overnight parking is free.
If you are looking for accomodation in the area again please call us and we will
do our best to upgrade you to a superior double, which are much bigger than
the room you were in.

Best regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Myself my husband and my 7 month old baby just stayed here for 2 nights and what a lovely time we had. The hotel/pub looks like an old traditional pub from the outside but once inside it's on par with a 4 star modern hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated and modern. We stayed in room 5 which was spotless, ample room for the travel cot and a lovely big cosy bed. The bathroom was modern with lovely tiling and one of the best showers we have ever experienced. The breakfast cooked by Ishbell the owner, was lovely too, plenty of choice and good quality and great coffee. We had dinner both nights downstairs in the restaurant/bar. The first night my husband had the steak and I had the special gammon steak with mustard sauce, both very tasty. The second night Ishbell was back in the kitchen again and I had the macaroni and my husband had the homemade burger which again we couldn't fault. The only problem we had was that we were both too full to try the stick toffee pudding ha ha. Bill and Ishbell run the place like they were looking after their own family, they couldn't do enough. All the staff were very friendly and we were looked after well. We will definitely be back and would not hesitate to recommend this place to anybody. Thanks again Bill and Ishbell and all the staff from Lisa, Sean and baby George x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumming1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.
Looking after such nice people is easy, little George lit up
the whole place with his smile!
A very warm welcome awaits you when you return.

Many thanks and Best regards

Bill And Ishbel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay at the crown. Where do I start this hotel was amazing friendly staff, Ishbel and Bill the owners very friendly frid,sat and sun entertainment was excellent. Room very modern and clean, food was excellent. Will definitely be back and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Firstly, thank you for posting such a kind review.
As I have said many times before It is a pleasure to be of service,
we are overwhelmed at the number of lovely comments posted
on Tripadvisor reviews.
In January the next stage of development takes place when the Lounge bar,
Toilets, Kitchen etc are renovated and an even more comfortable environment will be created.
Please come back and see the finished article!
Thank's again and Best regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Excellent value accommodation in a very good location. Bill and Ishbel have definitely got it right. Good rooms with that little extra attention to detail and spot-on service. Friendly and welcoming atmosphere in the bar with fun weekend entertainment and a freshly cooked Scottish breakfast each morning. Great base for exploring the area. Hope to be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesandJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be of service again in the future.
A warm welcome await's should you decide to come back.

Best Regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 13 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing