We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
strathclyde
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Having booked this hotel for a weekend break we then read some reviews, goodness what were we going to, a horror hotel with all sorts of nasties. NO the Dreadnought Hotel was a nice surprise clean rooms, fresh towels every day, fantastic food and lots of it, friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connorstrathclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    103
    102
    95
    141
See reviews for
63
228
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Staff were very helpful but hotel very tired and needing of an overhall. Would choose a travelodge over this hotel every time. Main problem for me was the absence of a shower. I've never come across that in a hotel before. I was supplied with a shower attachment on request but that didn't work.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonderwoman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2009
I was disappointed to learn that the shower attachment did not work, however was delighted to read that you found our staff very helpful. I am confident that had you reported this matter to the staff at the time of need this could have been quickly rectified for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Callander hotels

scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

after reading some reviews i was filled with dread at what id find but apart from the building and some of the fixtures being a little on the tatty side everything was clean enough and in place with friendly staff and good filling food remember this is only a two star hotel so you wont find the same standards as the dakota or hilton chain we enjoyed the hotel and will definately go back

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venusinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

After reading past reviews I was a bit worried . However when we arrived there was staff there to greet us, the food and choices were excellent, the service in the dining room was faultless. Our room was clean ,and cleaned everyday. Yes the carpets were a bit threadbare on the stairs !!My husband and I both really enjoyed our stay thank you .

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathystoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

Arrived at the hotel, No one at the reception desk, Got the keys for our room, When we walked in, We couldn't believe the state of room, The walls were dirty, The bed looked disgusting, Especially the brown fleece blankets! The toilet pan was covered in urine, There was no ceiling above the cubicle. When we went down to complain, We were confronted by a rude man behind the desk, Who was not interested in helping us. The smell in the whole hotel was terrible. We went down for breakfast, The guy who took our order had really dirty finger nails, Which put us off our breakfast before we even seen it. When the full Scottish breakfast came, We were shocked, The sausage was half cooked, The bacon looked as though it was taken out the packet and just sat on the plates.Potato scones were soggy, And the egg was disgusting. Really annoyed that we had to pay for total rubbish, They should have paid us for staying there!!!!!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sherbitdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2009
Please be assured that we do take your comments most seriously and I have now discussed your experiencess' with our Duty Manager, Housekeeper and Head Chef. Thankyou for taking the time to give us your constructive comments as these will help us with our staff training and continued improvements. I am sorry on this occasion that we were unable to meet your expectations' as this would certainly not be our intention. Once again, thankyou for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

We had read trip advisor reviews on this hotel after we had booked & were prepared to be horrified; BUT we were pleasantly surprised! On arrival at the hotel, parking was a bit of a squeak & might be problematic in peak periods. The hotel itself looks quite grand (in a traditional manner) & appeared very clean from the moment we stepped through the door. The duty manager greeted us & informed us of the dining arrangements (we had booked dinner plus B&B). To our surprise there was also "big" bands booked for the two nights we were staying.

Our room was incredibly spacious & had a view out on to the high street & the river beyond. Everything was clean & tidy & well furnished. Our mattress was a bit soft & elderly, but I did get a good night's sleep despite this. My only complaint about the room is that there was no shower in the bathroom which made it quite difficult to wash my hair!

A good choice of food was on offer in the evening with a three-course meal available. Yes, some things had a surcharge (steak, for instance) but this was clearly mentioned on the menu. I found the food quality perfectly adequate for what we had paid & would describe it as traditional Scottish fare.

Our fellow guests were mainly elderly, but this made for a warm & friendly atmosphere during the evening's entertainment (a select trio from the Frank Curran "Big Band"). The staff were perfectly agreeable & always seemed happy to help.

Breakfast was simple (again traditional Scottish fare) & my partner found the Scottish cooked breakfast filling & delicious (I had toast & cereal).

The second night provided a four course menu for dinner, accompanied by the full strength Frank Curran "Big Band" this time. Space was made for dancing & I think everybody had a good time.

Overall, I think you have to read some of the more negative reviews with a pinch of salt. If you want carbon copy rooms with predictable facilities, go & stay at a Travelodge (or better still stay at home & leave the rest of us to enjoy life). I found very little to fault at the Dreadnought hotel for the price & star rating. Give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plantyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

This could be a lovely hotel but needs much spent on it. Granted we stumbled upon the hotel late on a Friday night and were allocated a "double" room on the first floor, the room was tiny, a portable sized TV in the top corner of the room (bearning in mind the cealings are so high we could hardly see it), the room was tiny to say the least and the bathroom, well the shower worked just about and you were unable to turn around in the bathroom. How much does it take to do general cleaning? The whole place needs a complete overhaul and the oxford Hotel chain must spend money on this establishment quickly, I couldnt believe how run down and dirty this place was. We didnt use the breakfast room so I cant comment on the breakfast content or service.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank abz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Property: Dreadnought Hotel
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing