We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came to my rescue at very short notice”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Came to my rescue at very short notice”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Dreadnought's staff were great when I was let down by another accommodation supplier in Callender. At very short notice they managed to accommodate my 15 clients (and their cycles) while we were on a bicycle tour of the Trossachs. The hotel itself is a wonderful old building and has seen better days, it certainly needs a lot of money spent on it, but our rooms were fine, clean and just what we needed. I'd have no hesitation in taking a group there again.

Room Tip: My clients advised me that rooms at the front of the hotel were a bit noisier due to road traffic, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    103
    102
    95
    141
See reviews for
63
228
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel I do not know were the other guests stayed as we stayed here after my wedding 3 of us are contract cleaning managers for a national company and we could not find anything wrong with our beautiful rooms even skirting boards were clean. Yes it does need updating but when you book it clearly tells u that the hotel is under new management this will take time to do and if you do not understand this then u should not have gone we found everyone very friendly accommodating cheery our wedding glasses and champagne was chilled and set up in our rooms they could not have done enough to make sure our stay was enjoyable the bed was just right not everyone likes a soft mattress our one was perfect we had a bay window which looked out onto the road and our side one looked onto the hills beautiful our guests room looked onto the national park beautiful breakfast was cereal them a Scottish breakfast with as much tea coffee toast you wished we will be back and recommend as we enjoyed our stay and our evening meal was stunning receptionist jenavie was so lovely and the head house keeper was brilliant nothing was a bother to them they have plans for the hotel but like most things it takes time we enjoyed our stay all of us a big thank you to everyone who works thier.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckydishington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

In corridor where our room was there was a very bad smell of dampness and wet paint aswell as the room inside. The shower roof was hanging of. The cups that were left were covered in old tea stains. Wallpaper hanging of roof. Bed brick hard. Bed broken. Broken up tablets under bed just filthy. Bed cushions were covered in small white hairs. Just generally disgusting went to complain and staff were very rude and were trying to insinuate that we were the ones in the wrong because we wanted a refund they had the cheek to go and check the room when we were only in 5 mins and got charged 10 pound for sitting on the bed and apparently using a towel. They were very rude talking about us in the room behind reception saying it was terrible we were down complaining already. This was ridiculous would never recommend it also the bar staff in pub next door were very blunt and rude aswell.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Scodge87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Callander hotels

northumberland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Dreadnought is past it's best, there is no other way of saying this. The staff are great and incredibly helpful, but the hotel is weary and the lift is a miracle of 1940's engineering. It's worth staying for the staff and it's decent value for money and the breakfasts are Ok too, but the hotel is in dire need of some (a lot) updating.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel... No really, stay somewhere else but have a drink at the bar here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Tired hotel in need of renovation, dinner food portions meager, room size good but cleanliness poor; carpet had sticky lump on it. One person on reception, possibly not a receptionist, was very abrupt and rude; when my wife requested shower and shampoo gel the receptionist said the small bottles were expected to last all week and after my wife insisted on some they were given to her, when my wife was walking away the receptionist said " this is not the Hilton".
The hotel has a 3 star rating but after staying at a 4 star hotel recently I would class the Dreadnought as barely 2 star.

Room Tip: Room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Dreadnought because it was booked for us by the groom of the wedding we were attending. We phoned to ask about early check-in as the wedding started at 2pm and their normal check-in is 3pm we wanted to just drop off our bags and go to the ceremony. We were told this was fine we could check-in at 12 noon but we would be charged £10.

On arriving at the hotel I was not impressed, and my opinion did not improve as we entered to find another 6 guests (who had also phoned about early check-in because of the 2pm wedding) all of whom were being told no rooms were ready!

The staff are rude and obnoxious and honestly I don't think this hotel should even be in business!
We had to leave our bags in the dinning room and were promised they would be moved to our respective rooms before we returned that evening. They weren't!

The hotel is disgusting and completely falling apart it stinks of damp and wet paint where they have tried and failed to cover the damp.

When we finally got a room key I admit I was impressed by the size of the room, until I tried to sleep...the bed was so hard I'd have been better on the floor and the pillows were even harder. It was like sleeping with my head on a rock...although perhaps a rock would have been more comfortable!

The walls are also so thin I could hear the neighbouring rooms using their bathroom facilities - not pleasant!

Then breakfast was cold and under cooked! absolutely the worst hotel I have ever ever stayed at!

Honestly for the price I didn't expect much but having stayed at other hotels of a similar price I can safely say we over paid!

People leaving positive reviews - I don't know where you stayed but I do not for one second believe it was the same Dreadnought Hotel we stayed at!

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Find somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We arrived at the dreadnought as we wanted to go walking in the local area, initailly enetring the lobby we thought the hotel looked a bit tired and could do with a bit of a make over.
We entered the bedroom, it was a good size and very clean, there were very little products in the bathroom but I had my own and would rather use these than pay execssive room rates anyway. Happy there was a bath, having walked all day.
Staff could not have been more helpful or friendly and the music and entertainment in McNabs was very good.
Have already booked to return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 34 in Callander
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Property: Dreadnought Hotel
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing